Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 28, 2012, 03:30 AM   #1
Santiago17a
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Avid's Pro Tools X and Retina Macbook Pro

Has anybody tried using Pro Tools 10 with the new Retina Macbook Pro?
I don't think I can wait for the new Mac Pro or iMacs to be released, but I know the Retina Macbook Pro is not within the system requirements for Avid's Pro Tools.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 07:44 AM   #2
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
what deficiencies are you seeing with the mac pro for running PT10?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 10:44 AM   #3
Santiago17a
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
what deficiencies are you seeing with the mac pro for running PT10?
Well, as it is very new, the Retina Macbook Pro is not tested or listed as a Avid-qualifed Apple computer. Plus, Avid says that SSD's are not officially supported for system or audio recording/playback. Firewire drives are supported but a thunderbolt to firewire adaptor should be used with R-MBP's and it is not available yet. Usb drives for Mac are not recommeded by Avid (yet).
So I was wondering if someone has already used Pro Tools 10 with a Retina MacBook pro as it is and what the experience is like. Also, if somebody has, what audio interface are they using it.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 10:59 AM   #4
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
i mean the mac pro, not the retina macbook pro.

seems you're okay with a desktop, so why not the mac pro?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 11:23 AM   #5
Santiago17a
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
i mean the mac pro, not the retina macbook pro.

seems you're okay with a desktop, so why not the mac pro?
Yes, I am not talking about the Mac Pro, but about the Retina Macbook Pro.
I am not saying it doesn't work, I am saying it is not a recommeded nor qualified computer by Avid yet. So I am asking people who are using this new computer and have actually tried Pro Tools 10 with it and can tell how the experience is like.
I am particularly interested in knowing what type of drive they're using for playback/record, maybe they have only tried with the same system SSD. I also would like to know what audio interface they are using and what the experience is like with sound libraries with PT10 and the R-MBP.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 11:55 AM   #6
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
i will clarify.

yes, you are right. the MBPro retina does not look like a good machine for PT10, given the SSD system drive, the machine itself has not been approved by Avid yet, and using a TB->FW adapter is unproven. it will probably work fine, but you're right to be concerned and do research.

earlier, you said you don't want to wait for a mac pro. to me, that sounds like you're okay with a desktop machine. all the mac pro's will work great with PT10.

so my question is: why have you ruled out a mac pro?
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 05:12 AM   #7
Santiago17a
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
i will clarify.

yes, you are right. the MBPro retina does not look like a good machine for PT10, given the SSD system drive, the machine itself has not been approved by Avid yet, and using a TB->FW adapter is unproven. it will probably work fine, but you're right to be concerned and do research.

earlier, you said you don't want to wait for a mac pro. to me, that sounds like you're okay with a desktop machine. all the mac pro's will work great with PT10.

so my question is: why have you ruled out a mac pro?
Oh, ok.
Yes, I'd love to get a Mac Pro instead. But if I make such a big investment in money, it would have to be with a real updated Mac Pro and not the one that is available now.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 08:59 AM   #8
zimv20
macrumors 601
 
zimv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Santiago17a View Post
Oh, ok.
Yes, I'd love to get a Mac Pro instead. But if I make such a big investment in money, it would have to be with a real updated Mac Pro and not the one that is available now.
i'm just wondering what's wrong with it. the 6-core is the fastest audio machine apple makes, and they just dropped it $700. you can put 32 gig RAM in it for < $400. it is approved by avid. it is praised by audio engineers.
__________________
Oct 2011: check out my band's first album @ boxsetauthentic.com
zimv20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2012, 04:38 PM   #9
Santiago17a
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimv20 View Post
i'm just wondering what's wrong with it. the 6-core is the fastest audio machine apple makes, and they just dropped it $700. you can put 32 gig RAM in it for < $400. it is approved by avid. it is praised by audio engineers.
Yes, I don't want to buy it unless there's a real update in the Mac Pro. In the meantime I'm looking for another option, that's why I'm asking if somebody has tried Pro Tools 10 with the Retina Macbook Pro.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2012, 10:05 AM   #10
Skidbro
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I'm in the same boat.. I do a lot of design and photo/ video work in addition to recording. I take my laptop with me everywhere So the lightness and the retina display are so enticing. I feel like someone out there has to have tried the retina with their recording setup by now. I'd love you forever! Share
Skidbro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2012, 11:33 AM   #11
fastlanephil
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Santiago17a View Post
Yes, I don't want to buy it unless there's a real update in the Mac Pro. In the meantime I'm looking for another option, that's why I'm asking if somebody has tried Pro Tools 10 with the Retina Macbook Pro.
What's wrong with a 2011 iMac i5. You can get a refurb 27" 2.7 for $1419 at the Apple Store. Add a couple of external FW 800 HDs for $400 more and your good to go.
fastlanephil is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2012, 12:15 PM   #12
Santiago17a
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlanephil View Post
What's wrong with a 2011 iMac i5. You can get a refurb 27" 2.7 for $1419 at the Apple Store. Add a couple of external FW 800 HDs for $400 more and your good to go.
It sounds good, but where I live Apple doesn't sell refurb computers. But, anyway, I don't want an iMac unless is a new version. That's why I want to hear about people using the new MacBook Pros.
Santiago17a is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Tags
audio, avid, pro tools, pro tools 10, recording

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Media Composer 7 and Pro Tools 11 Now Available MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 72 Jul 12, 2013 03:55 PM
Avid Announces Media Composer 7 and Pro Tools 11, iOS Compatible Recording Hardware MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 29 Apr 9, 2013 10:13 AM
Avid Pro Tools now has a native Thunderbolt interface mjn298 MacBook Pro 2 Sep 12, 2012 07:47 AM
avid on the new macbook pro retina frozi Digital Video 29 Jul 22, 2012 11:43 PM
avid with macbook pro retina frozi Digital Video 4 Jun 18, 2012 01:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC