Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 10, 2012, 05:49 AM   #1
acd30
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Installing lion over leopard

I have OS X version 10.5.8 and since it isn't being supported by most companies anymore (ex. Blizzard) I wanted to upgrade to Lion. I then got a Lion USB because I read that I could download from 10.5.8 directly to Lion. However when I inserted the USB, my computer told me I couldn't download it on this version of OS X. I meet all of Lion's system requirements (excepting having snow leopard installed). So why can't I install it? Can someone give me step by step help?
acd30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 06:31 AM   #2
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
I'm thinking you need SL to go to lion as an upgrade you may have to clean install lion
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 07:04 AM   #3
acd30
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I did some more research on this matter and I found that I need my installation disk (to wipe the hard drive and install Lion), however over the course of 5 years I've lost it =|

I tried inserting a Leopard installation disk so I but I get the message... "The application 'Install Mac OS X' cannot be used from this volume. To install Mac OS X, please use the application provided on the Mac OS X installation disc."
acd30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 07:14 AM   #4
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Quote:
Originally Posted by acd30 View Post
I did some more research on this matter and I found that I need my installation disk (to wipe the hard drive and install Lion), however over the course of 5 years I've lost it =|

I tried inserting a Leopard installation disk so I but I get the message... "The application 'Install Mac OS X' cannot be used from this volume. To install Mac OS X, please use the application provided on the Mac OS X installation disc."
You need the discs that originally shipped with your Mac I'm afraid...Apple will sell them to you if you call with make , exact model and SN.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2012, 07:19 AM   #5
acd30
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
You need the discs that originally shipped with your Mac I'm afraid...Apple will sell them to you if you call with make , exact model and SN.
thanks for the advice =D

I guess I'll just search some more before I end up ordering a new one
acd30 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help re-installing Lion with only Snow Leopard Disk on new HDD Dakbala iMac 2 Oct 18, 2013 12:08 PM
Installing snow leopard on mountain lion using vmware fusion 6 gauravsc83 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Oct 13, 2013 01:10 PM
Re-installing Snow Leopard or Lion Advice! jessnichole85 MacBook 2 Nov 14, 2012 08:05 PM
Installing snow leopard with lion went wrong MaryMarie OS X 7 Aug 27, 2012 11:37 PM
Upgrading 2008 MB Software (Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion) emacna1 MacBook 1 Jun 11, 2012 10:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC