Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 5, 2012, 12:55 PM   #1
vladobizik
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Slovakia
Perian on a clean Mountain Lion

After I upgraded from Lion to ML when it came out, Perian just continued working without any problems, making QuickTime Player (X) play pretty much whatever I threw at it.

However, I recently performed a clean reinstall of ML on both my computers and now Perian doesn't work for me at all.

I came across some articles that Perian does indeed have issues under ML, especially with clean OS installs. I read that I should install QuickTime Player 7 to make Perian work again. Does that make sense? Willl this make Perian work with QT X as well or will this work only in QT7 now? I never ever had QT7 installed on any computer before, just the default X.
I play most files in VLC now, and I don't mind it too much, VLC is great and multiplatform, but I just prefer QT for its speed, simplicity, Mac-like-ness and hardware acceleration.

Thanks for enlightening me, I'm really confused...
vladobizik is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 12:58 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Perian - The swiss-army knife of QuickTimeŽ components
Quote:
Perian will be retired soon.

We will soon release the final version of Perian, including all the fixes we've worked on since the last release. It may -- or may not -- work on 10.8.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 12:59 PM   #3
vladobizik
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Slovakia
Thanks, I knew that - but so far it works fine. Unless it doesn't, like in my case.
vladobizik is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2012, 04:33 PM   #4
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
I installed it on a fresh install of ML and it works fine for me?.....
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 09:02 AM   #5
vladobizik
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Slovakia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ifti View Post
I installed it on a fresh install of ML and it works fine for me?.....
Really? Just like that? You didn't have to install old versions of QT, it just worked for all your files? Good for you. I'll try that again, maybe I did something wrong.
vladobizik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 12:45 PM   #6
Ifti
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladobizik View Post
Really? Just like that? You didn't have to install old versions of QT, it just worked for all your files? Good for you. I'll try that again, maybe I did something wrong.
Yeh, I didnt even realise I could have problems! Just stuck my SSD in, booted off of a ML USB and then installed Perien - no issues at all.
__________________
See my YouTube Channel for reviews & tech tips!
2012 Mac Mini Server / 2.6GHz Quad i7/8GB/2x1TB HDD
2013 MBA11 1.7GHz Dual i7/8/256 - 2013 rMBP15 2.6GHz Quad i7/16/1TB/750m
TC / iPhone5 / Drobo 5D
Ifti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2012, 04:38 PM   #7
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Perian works fine under ML if you manually(!!!) update its AC3 module.

Last edited by OllyW; Sep 17, 2012 at 06:36 PM. Reason: self-promotion
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 12:38 PM   #8
XStylus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menneisyys2 View Post
Perian works fine under ML if you manually(!!!) update its AC3 module.
Could you please give a quick instruction on how that is done?

Edit: Nevermind, I think I found out how: http://www.techisky.com/answers/does...ow-to-fix.html

Last edited by XStylus; Nov 5, 2012 at 12:45 PM.
XStylus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 01:57 PM   #9
Menneisyys2
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by XStylus View Post
Could you please give a quick instruction on how that is done?

Edit: Nevermind, I think I found out how: http://www.techisky.com/answers/does...ow-to-fix.html
BTW, #16 at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1478588 is a far more verbose tutorial also discussing co-existing DTS converters, deactivating the AC3 converter etc.

Note that the posts at http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1481913 , starting with #4, also discuss (and quickly summarize) this tutorial.
Menneisyys2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perian Alternative for Mountain Lion TheRainKing OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 22 Jun 9, 2013 01:54 AM
Resolved: How to do a Clean install of Mountain Lion on Mountain Lion phr33k OS X 12 Feb 6, 2013 10:15 AM
Resolved: Help - How to do a clean install of Mountain Lion on Mountain Lion phr33k Mac Basics and Help 7 Nov 25, 2012 07:13 AM
perian alternative for mountain lion? UKBeast OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Aug 16, 2012 09:12 AM
Problem clean installing Mountain Lion over Mountain Lion! datsmabowl OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 6 Aug 15, 2012 10:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC