Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:35 PM   #1
sc20k1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Home button too sensitive?

Hi everyone, just came back from my Virgin Mobile store where I got my iPhone 5 32GB. I played a bit with it on my way back home and noticed that Siri kept popping up and that apps closed randomly. I was not even touching the home button.

After a little test I found that when I press gently on the bottom of the iPhone 5, it act as if I had pressed the home button. Is this normal? Can I get a new one a an Apple Store? It's pretty annoying since only a light weight on the corner wake the iPhone, close an app or activate Siri.

Here's a video:

http://youtu.be/vYneY5iJD00
sc20k1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:35 PM   #2
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
I think you mean sensitive?

Edit: Can't get mine to do the same. Seems defective. I'd take it back.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:38 PM   #3
LFSimon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geckotek View Post
I think you mean sensitive?...
Hey - all the past iPhone users here are well acquainted with the quirks of iPhone spell check. We knew what he meant.
LFSimon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:39 PM   #4
sc20k1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Do I need to take it back to an Apple Store or a Virgin Mobile store?
sc20k1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:40 PM   #5
phr0ze
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Columbia, MD
My home button is solid. Real audible click. More so than my 4s.
__________________
2012 11" MBA i7/8/256
2011 Mac Mini
Black iPad Air 64GB Verizon
Black iPhone 5S 32GB ATT
phr0ze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:41 PM   #6
sc20k1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by LFSimon View Post
Hey - all the past iPhone users here are well acquainted with the quirks of iPhone spell check. We knew what he meant.
Sorry, I made the correction. It's a new phone and the spell check was still ON.
sc20k1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:57 PM   #7
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by LFSimon View Post
Hey - all the past iPhone users here are well acquainted with the quirks of iPhone spell check. We knew what he meant.
So I'm going to assume he posted this on his iPhone? I wasn't being a smart ass, just a gentle correction/question so step off. And the fact that I answered his question is proof my intent was not to be a jerk.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:58 PM   #8
BuckDot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
You must have gotten the phone with that rectangular "touch" home button. Consider yourself lucky!

J/K mine has been fine...
BuckDot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:58 PM   #9
Geckotek
macrumors G3
 
Geckotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc20k1 View Post
Do I need to take it back to an Apple Store or a Virgin Mobile store?
Whichever you think has stock.
__________________
Gecko Art | Facebook | flickr
Geckotek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 02:14 AM   #10
JaneDoe966
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I am having the exact same problem. It's become a real issue because I'm a student, and in the middle of class siri will pop up or start playing music. It's definitely not just your iphone. If there's any way to fix this, I'd love to know.
JaneDoe966 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:22 AM   #11
stonyboys
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc20k1 View Post
Hi everyone, just came back from my Virgin Mobile store where I got my iPhone 5 32GB. I played a bit with it on my way back home and noticed that Siri kept popping up and that apps closed randomly. I was not even touching the home button.

After a little test I found that when I press gently on the bottom of the iPhone 5, it act as if I had pressed the home button. Is this normal? Can I get a new one a an Apple Store? It's pretty annoying since only a light weight on the corner wake the iPhone, close an app or activate Siri.

Here's a video:

http://youtu.be/vYneY5iJD00
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaneDoe966 View Post
I am having the exact same problem. It's become a real issue because I'm a student, and in the middle of class siri will pop up or start playing music. It's definitely not just your iphone. If there's any way to fix this, I'd love to know.
Are you guys serious? How the **** would you guys come to the conclusion that siri popping up by itself and apps closing themselves is NORMAL?? Obviously a hardware fault, book a genius appointment and take it to the apple store.

Don't bother going to virgin, they'll tell you to go to Apple store because they handle the warranty.
stonyboys is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:55 AM   #12
aphexacid
macrumors 6502a
 
aphexacid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
No problems here. Best home button on an iPhone so far.
aphexacid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:57 AM   #13
anonymous guy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Book a Genius appointment with Apple for a replacement. Virgin will likely refer you to apple for warranty issues.
anonymous guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 04:39 PM   #14
K-Rob
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I just got back from the Apple store were they replaced mine for the same exact issue. "Supposedly" they'd never seen that before and didn't give me any problems offering a replacement.
K-Rob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:35 PM   #15
Rocko1
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by K-Rob View Post
I just got back from the Apple store were they replaced mine for the same exact issue. "Supposedly" they'd never seen that before and didn't give me any problems offering a replacement.
If I had a nickel for every time I heard 'we have never head of this issue' I would have personally paid for Steve Jobs yacht to be released.
Rocko1 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:44 PM   #16
aPple nErd
macrumors 68020
 
aPple nErd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
Ya take it back. My iPad 3rd gen and iPhone 5 both make th "click" sound when I tap them.
__________________
iPhone 6 space grey, iPhone 5 White/Silver, iPod Tough 5 Blue, iPad 3 White, iPod Touch 4 White -- All Jailbroken
iMac Mid 2011 21.5"
aPple nErd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All iPads: One feature I wish existed on iPad: [touch-sensitive Home button] samiznaetekto iPad 20 Nov 25, 2013 06:17 PM
Home Button Too Sensitive u2jrmw iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Nov 14, 2013 02:46 PM
iphone4 home button super sensitive gpduffy iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Aug 17, 2013 06:51 PM
Barely Sensitive Home Button on iPhone 5 youradhere4222 iPhone 3 Jan 28, 2013 07:52 PM
Temperature Sensitive Home Button apunkrockmonk iPhone 2 Jan 21, 2013 05:18 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC