Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:25 AM   #1
emkay88
macrumors newbie

Unhappy Verizon iPhone 5 No Contract - How to get T-Mobile Prepaid to work?

Okay, this might sound strange but I have a confusing problem.

Since I'm new in the USA, I couldn't get AT&T or Verizon to give me a contract.
Being an Apple fan and wanting to get my hands on the iPhone 5 the first day, I decided to buy the phone for $749 - On Verizon but no contract - not activated.

The rep asked me to try getting a Verizon prepaid and getting it activated on the phone. I already have a T-Mobile prepaid that works on a Samsung Galaxy phone. I'm trying to see if I can get the T-Mobile sim (not nano) to work on the iPhone, hearing all the "unlocked" stories.

If not, what's the best possible way out?

- Can I get a Verizon prepaid (without buying a new phone, just the SIM) and get it activated on the new phone?
- Should I return the iPhone and wait for unlocked ones to be out?
- Should I sell off the phone to someone else out side US may be?

(
emkay88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:27 AM   #2
Frasern1
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by emkay88 View Post

Being an Apple fan and wanting to get my hands on the iPhone 5 the first day, I decided to buy the phone for $749 - On Verizon but no contract - not activated.

The rep asked me to try getting a Verizon prepaid and getting it activated on the phone. I already have a T-Mobile prepaid that works on a Samsung Galaxy phone. I'm trying to see if I can get the T-Mobile sim (not nano) to work on the iPhone, hearing all the "unlocked" stories.

- Can I get a Verizon prepaid (without buying a new phone, just the SIM) and get it activated on the new phone?

(
You can attempt to cut down the SIM there have been some reports of it working. I think tmobile is suppose to get in nano sims sometime next month.
Frasern1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2012, 02:46 AM   #3
imeth