Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pepita

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 8, 2004
eu
If that sounds like a newbie question, it's because I am - at least to DVD burning. So please be patient :)

I just got one of the newest iBooks with Superdrive and iDVD software and I have never used either before. I have this video of a set from this year's Glastonbury that I downloaded from a torrent and it's already in DVD format, I can view it very nicely in DVD Player. The whole VIDEO_TS folder is 833 MB. How do I burn it to DVD? Is it possible with the software I already have, or some free utilities? (I'd rather not have to pay for other software, if that's the only alternative I'll keep the file on a hard drive).

I've searched and read some tips on how to convert the single VOB files to QuickTime format to import them in iDVD but I'm not sure that's what I need. I want to keep the DVD format with chapters as they are already. Is it possible?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions

DeSnousa

macrumors 68000
Jan 20, 2005
Brisbane, Australia
I believe you don't need to use iDvd at all. You have the movie in its dvd format, just burn that folder using the finder and it should work, well im 90% sure :)

You do this by going finder-->file-->new burn folder. Then drag the video_ts folder to it and then burn.

devilot

Moderator emeritus
May 1, 2005
I know that search can be unweildy sometimes... I did a search in Mac OS X Applications for "dvd, burn" and found lengthy thread, as well as [URL=https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/137054/[/URL] thread. Essentially, a lot of people recommend [URL=http://handbrake.m0k.org/]Handbrake, which is also what I use. I use MactheRipper first to get the files you have already listed... then Handbrake to compress them. Hope this relates to your question.