Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2012, 02:50 PM   #1
Doju
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Why does Open With show so many duplicate applications when I don't have them?

Looking at my Applications folder, I have no duplicate applications, yet when I right click files the Open With dialog often has a massive list of applications full of duplicates.



Why is this?

(OS X 10.8.2)
__________________
MacBook Pro 13", 2.53 GHz, 4GB RAM -- 24" Cinema Display -- 16GB iPhone 4 -- 500GB Time Capsule -- 2.26GHz Mac mini - 64GB Wi-Fi iPad

Last edited by SandboxGeneral; Oct 13, 2012 at 02:53 PM. Reason: IMG tags
Doju is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 01:25 AM   #2
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
A cache file has been corrupted. You can reset the cache file with a simple /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and at the first Terminal prompt put in the Terminal code (after you quit all Applications):

Code:
/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user
After you let the Terminal program run and know it reset the cache you will know it is finished when you get another Terminal prompt. Then you can close Terminal and the right click for applications will work correctly again. Good Luck.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 09:45 AM   #3
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by satcomer View Post
A cache file has been corrupted. You can reset the cache file with a simple /Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and at the first Terminal prompt put in the Terminal code (after you quit all Applications):

Code:
/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user
After you let the Terminal program run and know it reset the cache you will know it is finished when you get another Terminal prompt. Then you can close Terminal and the right click for applications will work correctly again. Good Luck.
Thanks! This works fine.
old-wiz is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:55 PM   #4
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Interestingly enough, while the cache file can be reset successfully, it becomes corrupt again after days or weeks of usage. Even more strange, it only becomes corrupt again on a 13" MBP running 10.8.2 but not on a 24" iMac running the same software.
old-wiz is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:37 PM   #5
wrldwzrd89
macrumors G4
 
wrldwzrd89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Solon, OH
The Terminal fix worked for me on a 27" 2011 iMac. It's worth noting that even the Finder must be relaunched for the change to take full effect - you really DO have to quit everything.
__________________
iMac Intel (Rev H, 27"), 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, 10.8.4
wrldwzrd89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:24 AM   #6
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrldwzrd89 View Post
The Terminal fix worked for me on a 27" 2011 iMac. It's worth noting that even the Finder must be relaunched for the change to take full effect - you really DO have to quit everything.
I rebooted after doing the terminal fix...problem keeps coming back after a day or so.
old-wiz is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core applications donít work AcesHigh87 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Nov 1, 2013 10:54 AM
New Dock doesn't show open applications? saleemyas3 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 15 Jun 13, 2013 09:02 AM
Facebook, don't show me stories from pages I don't like chrf097 Community Discussion 11 Apr 11, 2013 02:04 PM
Duplicate applications/icons imanidiot Mac Basics and Help 4 Feb 10, 2013 08:33 AM
Applications/Duplicate Icons lost4nao OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 29, 2012 01:23 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC