Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:31 AM   #1
fins831
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
iPhone 5: Slide to unlock -> Apple Logo?

This has happened twice in the last day....

I slide to unlock, and the screen goes dark, Apple logo shows up for 5 secs, then I see my normal homescreen?

Is it a bug in 6.0? Is it my phone? Never seen this before til yesterday/today....
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32 gig
2012 MacBook Pro 16 Gig 256 SSD
iPad 3
fins831 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:32 AM   #2
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
I had it once, but nothing actually happened besides the Apple Logo and bumping me back to the lockscreen. Could be a bug.
ProudLoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:33 AM   #3
stonyboys
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Same thing as post #2 here
stonyboys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:34 AM   #4
cababah
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fins831 View Post
This has happened twice in the last day....

I slide to unlock, and the screen goes dark, Apple logo shows up for 5 secs, then I see my normal homescreen?

Is it a bug in 6.0? Is it my phone? Never seen this before til yesterday/today....
Ehhh sounds like a major glitch. I have not heard of this happening. Check your diagnostic log files for anything suspicious. Make sure to save them if you see anything weird to show a Genius. I would try a full restore and see if that works, if not then a visit to the Apple store would be the next plan of attack. Unless you are cool with it. There is an updated version of iOS 6 coming out in the next week or two so it might be worth waiting for that to see if that fixes your issue.

Sometimes Apple Geniuses won't replace phones that are experiencing software glitches if there is a software update looming on the horizon.
cababah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:34 AM   #5
spblat
macrumors 6502a
 
spblat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
There's an invisible app called "Springboard" that presents your home screen. This experience means springboard has crashed and restarted. Probably a bug. Apple will tell you to erase and restore before they consider whether it's a hardware fault.
__________________
spblat on twitter | spblat on youtube
spblat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:37 AM   #6
fins831
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I checked diagnostic and it says springboard crash. Its funny....I started fresh install. So maybe a software bug? With 6.01 around the corner, I won't go nuts over it, if 6.01 comes and it still does it, then I will make an appointment.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32 gig
2012 MacBook Pro 16 Gig 256 SSD
iPad 3
fins831 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:43 PM   #7
cababah
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Funny you posted about this, I just had it happen too today! So weird.
cababah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:42 PM   #8
Johnnyiphone5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
First time for me today too. Thought I was going nuts.
Johnnyiphone5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:06 PM   #9
tucker3434
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Happened to me today as well. I also get a weird line of flashing pixels whenever I'm asked to enter me apple password. Hopefully it's just a software glitch.
tucker3434 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:14 PM   #10
Abandapart82
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Send a message via AIM to Abandapart82
Quote:
Originally Posted by fins831 View Post
I checked diagnostic and it says springboard crash. Its funny....I started fresh install. So maybe a software bug? With 6.01 around the corner, I won't go nuts over it, if 6.01 comes and it still does it, then I will make an appointment.
How did you check diagnostic?
__________________
20" Aluminum iMac, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, 16 GB iPhone 4
Abandapart82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:24 PM   #11
i1280
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Got mines coming tomorrow!! Can't wait...hopefully it's a minor glitch...
i1280 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 10:45 PM   #12
SnowDX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Great White North
This has happened to my daughter at least twice. Phone was setup as backup from iCloud from her iPhone 4. Not sure she'd be happy setting up as new and losing all her settings and app data. Would restoring from her now iPhone 5 backup be worth a shot? Or because the 5 backup was originally from a 4, it won't do any good?
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB White iPad 64GB, WiFi + 3G
SnowDX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 11:19 PM   #13
fins831
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowDX View Post
This has happened to my daughter at least twice. Phone was setup as backup from iCloud from her iPhone 4. Not sure she'd be happy setting up as new and losing all her settings and app data. Would restoring from her now iPhone 5 backup be worth a shot? Or because the 5 backup was originally from a 4, it won't do any good?
My iphone was fresh, I started new and it still did it. I think its iOS6 glitch and my friend who works at apple in chicago told me that I should patiently wait for 6.01 and if it happens after, I should go get a replacement. I am fine waiting, it seems to be software, hasn't happened since.

Also, diagnostic list is settings, general, about, diagnostics at bottom, and click to see the reports, crashes, etc.
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 32 gig
2012 MacBook Pro 16 Gig 256 SSD
iPad 3
fins831 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:16 PM   #14
thadoggfather
macrumors 68030
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Mine did that too as soon as I got it as I was taking a picture from slide up lock screen straight out of the box set up as new, then I did a dfu restore and restored from backup I had on a previous white iphone 5 and 12 days later did it accessing photos or something possibly with camera slide up taking a photo can't remember.

Glad I'm not the only one its happening to

My screen is so perfect I hope/want to think because its occurring it might be a bug.

Jailbreak bugs cause springboard to act weird in certain circumstances too

For people who are having the apple logo (respring) what are you doing on the phone up until that point?

Last edited by thadoggfather; Oct 31, 2012 at 11:39 PM.
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 01:07 AM   #15
SatManager
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas
I have been getting random lockups with my iPhone 5 and have to reboot the phone holding down the power button and the home button. My friend who has an iPhone 4S with iOS 6 has been having the same problem since the phone was upgraded to iOS 6. I am hoping that the version upgrade coming soon solves the problem. Anyone else having this problem?
SatManager is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 10:25 AM   #16
thadoggfather
macrumors 68030
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SatManager View Post
I have been getting random lockups with my iPhone 5 and have to reboot the phone holding down the power button and the home button. My friend who has an iPhone 4S with iOS 6 has been having the same problem since the phone was upgraded to iOS 6. I am hoping that the version upgrade coming soon solves the problem. Anyone else having this problem?
Can you elaborate on this?

At what point does it lock up?

I really really hope whatever is going on with other peoples phones is similar to mine and just a glitch, I don't want to do the swap game anymore!
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 10:51 AM   #17
dfinecy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Happened to me last night...the second time since I've had my 5...hope it gets fixed with the next ios update
__________________
1.7GHz Intel i5 13" Aluminum Macbook Air (mid 2011), 16GB White iPad Mini, 16GB White iPhone 5 (iOS 7.0 b1), tv3
dfinecy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 10:56 AM   #18
thadoggfather
macrumors 68030
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfinecy View Post
Happened to me last night...the second time since I've had my 5...hope it gets fixed with the next ios update

Yeah me too. What happened right before you saw this happen?
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:00 PM   #19
dfinecy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by thadoggfather View Post
Yeah me too. What happened right before you saw this happen?
Nothing really...I was watching tv and went to check my phone, hit the home button and swiped to unlock it and it went to the apple logo screen. Hasn't happened since last night though.
__________________
1.7GHz Intel i5 13" Aluminum Macbook Air (mid 2011), 16GB White iPad Mini, 16GB White iPhone 5 (iOS 7.0 b1), tv3
dfinecy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:32 PM   #20
thadoggfather
macrumors 68030
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Hmmm 6.0.1 doesn't say anything about fixing this :/
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:45 PM   #21
jman240
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by thadoggfather View Post
Hmmm 6.0.1 doesn't say anything about fixing this :/
They usually don't list all the bug fixes in the notes, just the most notable ones.

I've had the Springboard crash issue happen to me a few times now. Seems to happen when free memory is getting low but I haven't really pinned down a cause. Maye the update will help.
jman240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 01:06 PM   #22
thadoggfather
macrumors 68030
 
thadoggfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jman240 View Post
They usually don't list all the bug fixes in the notes, just the most notable ones.
Good point. I hope it does fix it
thadoggfather is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 01:20 PM   #23
SatManager
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Quote:
Originally Posted by thadoggfather View Post
Can you elaborate on this?

At what point does it lock up?

I really really hope whatever is going on with other peoples phones is similar to mine and just a glitch, I don't want to do the swap game anymore!
My problem may be related to the description of the others. It seems to occur on a random basis, and after it has been inactive (the screen has timed out and locked the phone). It does seem like it occurs more often if I have loaded multiple programs without manually shutting the program down in the task manager window. I am upgrading to version 6.0.1 right now and hope that it may have solved the problem.

My friends phone (iPhone 4S) which was my old phone never had this problem until it was upgraded to iOS 6.0. He is seeing the same issues with the phone locking up and needing to be reset.

I have turned on diagnostics on my phone with them to be automatically sent to Apple to let them see (hopefully) the problem.

Someone mentioned about a memory problem. It seems to be logical that it may be an issue. Not bad memory, just how the iOS uses the memory.

Hope this helps.
SatManager is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 01:22 PM   #24
msaftw
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
happened a lot on my iPhone 4 on iOS 6, but hasn't happened with my 5 once.
msaftw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 01:32 PM   #25
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by spblat View Post
There's an invisible app called "Springboard" that presents your home screen. This experience means springboard has crashed and restarted. Probably a bug. Apple will tell you to erase and restore before they consider whether it's a hardware fault.
not exactly invisible
its the homescreen[s]/Gui.


op check you crash log.. it will usually tell you why its crashing.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iPhone 5S iOS7.0.6 Crash when slide to unlock MajesticNJ Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 May 6, 2014 12:36 PM
iPhone: Bypass slide to unlock iPhone 2g proxify Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 11, 2014 10:53 AM
iPhone: Change slide to unlock text iPhone 5 jamesapp Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Feb 8, 2013 07:51 PM
Iphone 4 Keeps looping from Logo to slide tonysg7uk iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Dec 23, 2012 11:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC