Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:47 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display




Microsoft has updated Skype to version 6, adding Retina display support as well as the ability to sign into Skype using a Facebook account. This eliminates the need to sign up for a separate Skype account. Last year, Skype added the ability to make Facebook chat and video calls to its app.
Quote:
Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration
Sign up and sign-in is easier than ever. You can now sign into Skype using your Microsoft or Facebook account - there's no need to create a new Skype account. This makes it even easier to connect with friends on Skype without having to set up another account.

IM friends on Messenger
Now you can instant message your Windows Live Messenger, Hotmail and Outlook.com contacts via Skype all in one place. If you use a Microsoft account today, merging your accounts is easy - just sign in to Skype with your Microsoft account.

Calling with Messenger friends is coming soon
We're working on polishing a feature which will enable audio and video calls to Windows Live Messenger customers using Skype desktop clients. The feature will be available in coming weeks.

Open Chats in Multiple Windows
We hear your feedback! With this release we've added support to open chats in multiple windows.

Retina Display Support
We also added another feature you've asked for - support Retina display. Now you can take full advantage of improved usability and of higher resolution screens.
Skype for Mac is a free download from Skype.com.

Article Link: Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:52 PM   #2
DaDalle
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
How about Notification Center support?
DaDalle is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 01:57 PM   #3
miniroll32
macrumors 6502a
 
miniroll32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
When are they going to release the update that fixes crappiness?
miniroll32 is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:03 PM   #4
waqas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minneapolis
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaDalle View Post
How about Notification Center support?
I installed it. Notification Center support's included.
waqas is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:04 PM   #5
Dias
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
So, how do I start a conversation in a separate window?
Dias is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:11 PM   #6
nikomakhos
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dias View Post
So, how do I start a conversation in a separate window?
Go to 'Preferences' -> 'General' -> 'Open conversation in new window when double-clicked in the sidebar'.
nikomakhos is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:20 PM   #7
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
Chats in a another window. Thank you!
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:21 PM   #8
byke
macrumors 6502a
 
byke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN.
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.
__________________
Loved jobs era Apple, very sceptical of Jonny era apple.
byke is offline   11 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:28 PM   #9
poobear
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by byke View Post
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.
Yep. Don't see any difference in the GUI
poobear is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:32 PM   #10
AeroUK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
When you place the Skype Test Call on the Macbook Pro is it normal for the voice that is played back to only come from the right speaker or should it come from both speakers?

Please let me know!
AeroUK is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:37 PM   #11
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroUK View Post
When you place the Skype Test Call on the Macbook Pro is it normal for the voice that is played back to only come from the right speaker or should it come from both speakers?

Please let me know!
It should come from both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waqas View Post
I installed it. Notification Center support's included.
I don't see it. My options are built-in or Growl, same as before, and it doesn't appear in NC preferences.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nikomakhos View Post
Go to 'Preferences' -> 'General' -> 'Open conversation in new window when double-clicked in the sidebar'.
It's really weird that you can enable/disable that. It's not like double clicking will do anything else there.
Cougarcat is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:51 PM   #12
ThunderSkunk
macrumors 68000
 
ThunderSkunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Durango, Co
If the interface wasn't designed as backward and unfriendly as possible, Skype wouldn't have the unique distinction of being the ONLY app that I use the tiny pixelated iPod Touch version of on this huge retina displayed iPad 3.

But it is, so I do.

For gods sakes, hire someone, anyone to put some, any, thought into your UI already. It's awful, and has been for longer than you could possibly come up with a good excuse for.
ThunderSkunk is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:54 PM   #13
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by miniroll32 View Post
When are they going to release the update that fixes crappiness?
The best news is: you can resize their window a little better. Skype is THE crap of the crap for UI...amazing.
50548 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:56 PM   #14
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
How much RAM does this version use? Version 2.8 used 50mb. Version 5 needs 120 -150mb.
gumblecosby is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 02:59 PM   #15
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumblecosby View Post
How much RAM does this version use? Version 2.8 used 50mb. Version 5 needs 120 -150mb.
Without doing anything (just being open), 163MB here.
50548 is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:03 PM   #16
davids8477
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by poobear View Post
Yep. Don't see any difference in the GUI
I'll stick to my reliable 2.8.X then
davids8477 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:05 PM   #17
MasterHowl
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North of England
Send a message via Skype™ to MasterHowl
Installed.

UI is just as awful as before, but notification centre integration is quite nice.

Icon has changed slightly too.
MasterHowl is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:10 PM   #18
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRLawyer View Post
Without doing anything (just being open), 163MB here.
Thanks.

If I run Skype 2.8 and Adium for MSN I use 95mb of RAM in total. I was hoping Microsoft might slim down Skype.
gumblecosby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:14 PM   #19
KALLT
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
I don't see it. My options are built-in or Growl, same as before, and it doesn't appear in NC preferences.
Same here.
KALLT is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:14 PM   #20
zeemeerman2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
That icon!
Also, the menu bar icon is now black instead of coloured (e.g. green as online).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Naamloos.png
Views:	44
Size:	34.3 KB
ID:	371954  
Attached Images
 
zeemeerman2 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:21 PM   #21
xriderx11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
how about they optimize the iphone 5 while they are at it too.
__________________
Iphone 5 black slate, Ipod touch 4G, Macbook pro late 2011 2.4ghz quad core i7
xriderx11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:24 PM   #22
george-brooks
macrumors 6502a
 
george-brooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Just realized yesterday I was using version 2.x and updated to 5. Bad timing!!! haha.

I rarely use skype. iChat/Messages is so much better and I don't have to add a whole extra set of contacts (though I guess now skype integrates with contacts)
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1: 6 Core 3.5 GHz|32GB|D700|1TB
MacBook Pro 8,2: 2.5 GHz i7|16GB|750GB+240GB SSD
iPhone 5s, iPad 4, iPad Mini Retina, 12" Powerbook G4
george-brooks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:33 PM   #23
frexer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I get this error after updating
https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA1...irstPage=false
frexer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:37 PM   #24
foobarbaz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
30 seconds and I've already run into three bugs. My advice: Wait for for the first patches.
foobarbaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:42 PM   #25
wikus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Planet earth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by byke View Post
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.
THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.
wikus is offline   5 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skype keeps signing me out of Facebook -BigMac- Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 12, 2014 06:00 AM
AutoCAD for Mac 2013 and Retina display dspsbl Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 2, 2013 09:35 AM
External display for Retina Display Mac Book Pro himoundary Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 1, 2013 12:59 AM
Facebook Messenger Now Supports Voice Calling for U.S. Accounts MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 137 Jan 22, 2013 01:11 AM
How many displays the Non-retina supports? maxfischersweet MacBook Pro 0 Jun 22, 2012 12:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC