Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:28 PM   #1
deraj090
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
iPad 4 - 5ghz WiFi issues

Just purchased the 4th gen 16GB WiFi only. I'm trying to connect to my 5GhZ band of my Belkin N600 router -- it isnt showing up as an option.

Any fixes for this?

Thanks!
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:34 PM   #2
saving107
macrumors 603
 
saving107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Jose, Ca
The 5GHz network has a higher throughput but a weaker range. How far away are you from the router?
saving107 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:47 PM   #3
D.T.
macrumors 68030
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by saving107 View Post
The 5GHz network has a higher throughput but a weaker range. How far away are you from the router?
Yep. I get about 2 bars on 5Ghz vs. full on 2.4 downstairs in the main TV room (the router from there is the opposite corner, upstairs). The 2.4Ghz is even strong out in the driveway where the 5GHz disappears.
D.T. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:49 PM   #4
deraj090
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I'm sitting right next to the router. My iPhone 5 is picking it up ... Could it be a hardware issue?
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:52 PM   #5
doboy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Try resetting both router and the iPad. Your SSID is not hidden, right?
__________________
iPhone 2G, 3GS, 4 | 15" MB Pro & 13" MBA | Apple TV2 | iPad 1, 2, 3, Air (kept), & rMini (returned) | GSIII, Note II, & LG G2

Thank you Steve for
doboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:53 PM   #6
D.T.
macrumors 68030
 
D.T.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by deraj090 View Post
I'm sitting right next to the router. My iPhone 5 is picking it up ... Could it be a hardware issue?
Weird. And you're broadcasting the SSID, etc.? I'm running a Asus RT-56U, definitely seeing the 5Ghz channel on my 4th gen iPad. AFAIK, there's no mystery settings in the iPad, if Wifi is on, it should see any/all networks.
D.T. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 12:54 PM   #7
deraj090
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Yes (broadcasting the SSID). No reason why it isn't picking up the 5Ghz channel...
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:23 PM   #8
deraj090
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Just tested my roommate's iPad 3. Works fine with the 5Ghz channel. This is so strange.
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:28 PM   #9
KenAFSPC
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by deraj090 View Post
Just tested my roommate's iPad 3. Works fine with the 5Ghz channel. This is so strange.
Make sure you don't have MAC filtering enabled.
KenAFSPC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:31 PM   #10
deraj090
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
MAC Filtering isn't enabled.
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:47 PM   #11
deraj090
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Never mind -- router reset worked. Thanks!
deraj090 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:48 PM   #12
doboy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by deraj090 View Post
Never mind -- router reset worked. Thanks!
Told you. That's the easiest thing to try EVERYTIME!
__________________
iPhone 2G, 3GS, 4 | 15" MB Pro & 13" MBA | Apple TV2 | iPad 1, 2, 3, Air (kept), & rMini (returned) | GSIII, Note II, & LG G2

Thank you Steve for
doboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:49 PM   #13
EnderTW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by doboy View Post
Told you. That's the easiest thing to try EVERYTIME!
Did you turn it off and on again? Turn it off and on again!!! /IT show
EnderTW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:50 PM   #14
OSMac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by deraj090 View Post
Just purchased the 4th gen 16GB WiFi only. I'm trying to connect to my 5GhZ band of my Belkin N600 router -- it isnt showing up as an option.

Any fixes for this?

Thanks!
IPad 4 here... 150mbs connection 5GHz so it can work using a e4200
OSMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:51 PM   #15
doboy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnderTW View Post
Did you turn it off and on again? Turn it off and on again!!! /IT show
__________________
iPhone 2G, 3GS, 4 | 15" MB Pro & 13" MBA | Apple TV2 | iPad 1, 2, 3, Air (kept), & rMini (returned) | GSIII, Note II, & LG G2

Thank you Steve for
doboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 03:36 PM   #16
Kashsystems
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I had the same issues on my mini but after updating to 6.0.1 things seem to have improved. If you have not done so yet, give that a try.
Kashsystems is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Does iPad 4 still have wifi issues ? narutoninjakid iPad 7 Feb 20, 2013 06:19 AM
iPad: iPad 4 Wifi Issues JayJamesWaller iPad 5 Dec 3, 2012 07:07 PM
iPad: iPad 4 Wifi issues anyone? Jades iPad 2 Dec 2, 2012 01:47 AM
iphone 5 wifi 5ghz band issues ssahnan iPhone 16 Oct 4, 2012 03:36 PM
iPad 2 5.1.1 Wifi Issues RWil85 iPad 7 Jul 11, 2012 02:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC