Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 05:03 AM   #1
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
About the roaming on verizon iphone 5

It's currently set to voice only, I know all the new iPhone 5's come with it turned on automatically, is it ok to turn on data and international cdma? does it affect anything if I stay inside the US? Like will it connect to more towers or something? Don't want the bill to come and it's $500 because I turned the switch on.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:38 AM   #2
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by tymaster50 View Post
It's currently set to voice only, I know all the new iPhone 5's come with it turned on automatically, is it ok to turn on data and international cdma? does it affect anything if I stay inside the US? Like will it connect to more towers or something? Don't want the bill to come and it's $500 because I turned the switch on.
you'll be good in the USA.


just turn it off over seas.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 07:51 AM   #3
tymaster50
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFizzzle View Post
you'll be good in the USA.


just turn it off over seas.
so it has no effect whatsoever in the US?
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:04 AM   #4
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
None at all.

Verizon and Sprint load all of their phones, including the iPhone with a Preferred Roaming List (PRL). This tells your phone which networks it can roam off of, and which it shouldn't. That's the list it will go by while you're in the US.

Turning off international roaming just tells the phone that anything outside of the US is off-limits.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:14 AM   #5
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaredpoet View Post
None at all.

Verizon and Sprint load all of their phones, including the iPhone with a Preferred Roaming List (PRL). This tells your phone which networks it can roam off of, and which it shouldn't. That's the list it will go by while you're in the US.

Turning off international roaming just tells the phone that anything outside of the US is off-limits.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tymaster50 View Post
so it has no effect whatsoever in the US?
yes it has PRL.. and yes it will have effect in the us. It has a list of accepetable towers (prl) if only voice is enabled..then only voice will roam etc. (places where you dont have service) it will show the "extended" in the top. Has only happen a few times and is slow..im sure its roaming on sprint the majority of the time.

@scaredpoet.. its not an just international roaming switch.. its roaming in general..
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:18 AM   #6
tymaster50
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFizzzle View Post
yes it has PRL.. and yes it will have effect in the us. It has a list of accepetable towers (prl) if only voice is enabled..then only voice will roam etc. (places where you dont have service) it will show the "extended" in the top. Has only happen a few times and is slow..im sure its roaming on sprint the majority of the time.

@scaredpoet.. its not an just international roaming switch.. its roaming in general..
will this raise my bill? Can't afford to pay any extra, hell I'm about to pay an overage since im at 1.9 gb out of 2.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:30 AM   #7
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by tymaster50 View Post
will this raise my bill? Can't afford to pay any extra, hell I'm about to pay an overage since im at 1.9 gb out of 2.
nah roaming in the US is covered. odds are you wont ever need to roam in NJ.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier: 3G/LTE roaming is not working on my new Iphone 5s. Help please. Jacoblee23 iPhone 1 Sep 21, 2013 10:08 AM
Roaming from Verizon iPhone on GSM network Brettka7 iPhone 2 Oct 16, 2012 10:32 PM
Find my iPhone with no data roaming Welshblue iPhone 2 Oct 2, 2012 06:56 AM
Verizon roaming in Canada LapsangSouchong iPhone 10 Sep 28, 2012 10:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC