Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:19 PM   #1
numberforty1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
4s vs. 5 (NO SERVICE)

here's the skinny:

i had a 4s & it worked great in the mall food court, near where i work.
(meaning i got a good 3G signal & could use my phone)

now i have the 5...and while in the same food court...i get NO SERVICE....none...zip..zilch...nada. No LTE, no 3G, no edge..nothing.

i asked the rogers people that work in the same mall and they said, yeah LTE is new & spotty , and we haven't got service there ever. kind of hard to believe when my 4s worked there for over a year. and my 3gs worked fine before that.

i talked to others that work in the mall and their phones are fine.


....thoughts???
numberforty1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:29 PM   #2
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by numberforty1 View Post
here's the skinny:

i had a 4s & it worked great in the mall food court, near where i work.
(meaning i got a good 3G signal & could use my phone)

now i have the 5...and while in the same food court...i get NO SERVICE....none...zip..zilch...nada. No LTE, no 3G, no edge..nothing.

i asked the rogers people that work in the same mall and they said, yeah LTE is new & spotty , and we haven't got service there ever. kind of hard to believe when my 4s worked there for over a year. and my 3gs worked fine before that.

i talked to others that work in the mall and their phones are fine.


....thoughts???
Have you manually tried switching to 3G? Settings, general, turn enable LTE off? Have you tried general, reset, reset network settings?
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:30 PM   #3
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by numberforty1 View Post
here's the skinny:

i had a 4s & it worked great in the mall food court, near where i work.
(meaning i got a good 3G signal & could use my phone)

now i have the 5...and while in the same food court...i get NO SERVICE....none...zip..zilch...nada. No LTE, no 3G, no edge..nothing.

i asked the rogers people that work in the same mall and they said, yeah LTE is new & spotty , and we haven't got service there ever. kind of hard to believe when my 4s worked there for over a year. and my 3gs worked fine before that.

i talked to others that work in the mall and their phones are fine.


....thoughts???
Something is wrong with your phone. If you were getting 3G before you should be getting it now. If not, your phone is the problem.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:39 PM   #4
ixodes
macrumors 601
 
ixodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pacific Coast, USA
It's the phone. My first iPhone 5 had connectivity problems both in & outside of strong LTE areas. The replacement I was given was just fine.
__________________
An Ultra Fast Mac Is...My Favorite
ixodes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 10:42 PM   #5
numberforty1
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by darster View Post
Have you manually tried switching to 3G? Settings, general, turn enable LTE off? Have you tried general, reset, reset network settings?
I have tried the manual switch from LTE to 3G.

I'll try to rest the network settings, thanks!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixodes View Post
It's the phone. My first iPhone 5 had connectivity problems both in & outside of strong LTE areas. The replacement I was given was just fine.
I have a genius appointment made. Really hope I dont have to swap it out cause this would be my second swap.

*SIGH*

I never had issues like this with any other iPhone.

Thanks for your feedback !
numberforty1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 07:39 AM   #6
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
(nm)
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone says no service even when I re-enter a service area. Any fix for this? BrandonZ iOS 6 7 Mar 27, 2013 10:59 AM
iPhone 4 service + 3G signal fluctuating (full bars - no service) WherEmEweeD iPhone 1 Mar 4, 2013 04:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC