Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:33 PM   #1
tjmoore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Final Cut - Canvas doesn't show full video

Hey all,

I'm working with some .mov files that are in a native encoding setting for Final Cut. When I preview the footage everything looks fine, but when I put it in the timeline and view it in the canvas, everything is shrunken to the top left corner. Yes, I have "Fit To All" checked for this view. When I play it, the clip plays but the area that is black (see below) flickers green.

Please help!

tjmoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:37 PM   #2
daybreak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Have you got it in Widescreen setting?
daybreak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:45 PM   #3
LethalWolfe
macrumors Demi-God
 
LethalWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Could be corrupt media. I'd either try ingesting the footage again or transcoding it.
__________________
Looking For Lenny - documentary about comedian Lenny Bruce's timeless impact on stand-up comedy & Free Speech.
Netflix, iTunes, Amazon
LethalWolfe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:54 PM   #4
MrPlayer66
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Project Settings.

Did you get check your timeline settings match the footage you're using?
MrPlayer66 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:59 PM   #5
WRP
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boston
They're totally different. Your viewer is at 66% with the same open space as your canvas at 44%. Plus, either your video is stretched in your viewer or squished in your canvas, which leads me to believe you is squara and the other is rectangular pixels. Create a new timeline, drag a clip in and when it asks you to conform the timeline to the clips settings select yes.

If it doesn't give you that option, go into your user prefs and in the editing tab, bottom right change the "auto conform sequence" dropdown to "ask"

And fit all has nothing to do with the size of your video going into your timeline, it is filling all your media into the window space you have available to your canvas. If you had an image in there that was way bigger than your timeline size it would reduce the display so you could see the boundaries of all the clips.

Last edited by WRP; Nov 13, 2012 at 05:04 PM.
WRP is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC