Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:48 PM   #1
timberg
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
New Mac Mini w Fusion shows only 13G available? Help

New Mac Mini arrived today, I've been setting up, and have only added one or two apps (MS Office, etc). I tried transferring my iPhoto library and it said insufficient memory. The finder only shows about 13 G as available.

Any idea what's happening? Its the mid model, i7 w/ the new Fusion Drive. Should be way more space available. Is it a setting or something?

Thanks!
timberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:13 PM   #2
CyAnMan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
How large is your iPhoto library? Do a "get info" on it, <cmd+i>.
CyAnMan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:15 PM   #3
StevenT42
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by timberg View Post
New Mac Mini arrived today, I've been setting up, and have only added one or two apps (MS Office, etc). I tried transferring my iPhoto library and it said insufficient memory. The finder only shows about 13 G as available.

Any idea what's happening? Its the mid model, i7 w/ the new Fusion Drive. Should be way more space available. Is it a setting or something?

Thanks!
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1485080
__________________
2012 Mac mini, 2.6GHz i7, 16GB, 1TB Fusion ; 2011 13" MacBook Air, 1.7GHz i5, 4GB, 256 GB Samsung SSD ; iPad mini retina 128GB WiFi+LTE ; iPhone 5S Gold 64GB ; iPod Classic
StevenT42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:16 PM   #4
Snowcake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Take a look how big your "fusion harddisk drive" is and take a look at what for sort of files are taking al the space up.

I think your hdd is "broken" somehow.
Snowcake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:34 PM   #5
timberg
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
90 mins on phone with Apple. Attempted to repair, rebuild, partition. They pronounced it DOA so off to exchange tomorrow.
timberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:36 PM   #6
msans
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Hmmm...after well over 90 minutes with two separate 2nd level technical support staff, my same issue was kicked to engineering - which takes a while as you don't get to talk with them directly and they don't work weekends. I was told that engineering had to pronounce it DOA before I could exchange.

Did you have to jump through that hoop?
msans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 03:12 PM   #7
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
so at least 2 fusion failures.

52 blackout screens. I am one

failed cpu test . thats me

possible fail in prime95 test. also me


so these mid model and server model minis are not so good so far.


but to be fair a site like this will gather complaints.

this is not as bad as the yellow 27 inch iMac screens were in 2009
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 08:18 PM   #8
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
so at least 2 fusion failures.

52 blackout screens. I am one

failed cpu test . thats me

possible fail in prime95 test. also me


so these mid model and server model minis are not so good so far.


but to be fair a site like this will gather complaints.

this is not as bad as the yellow 27 inch iMac screens were in 2009
What error do you get in prime?
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 09:30 PM   #9
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
What error do you get in prime?
rounding. on 3 of 8 cores and then on 4 of 8 cores
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 03:55 AM   #10
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
rounding. on 3 of 8 cores and then on 4 of 8 cores
Temps over normal? Is the RAM being testes too? How long did it take to show errors?
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:56 AM   #11
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
Temps over normal? Is the RAM being testes too? How long did it take to show errors?
no I had the mini on its side with fans temps around 199 as a max look at the time on the first screen it is 1:53 max temp is 199 F that is about 20 F under max temp.

on the second shot look at the core 7 error it came at the 1:22 mark or in military time 13:22.

the error came in 25 minutes.

i did a second test with the stock 4gb ram results were worse 4 bad cores. in under 20 minutes. 2 new test today one with 8 cores second with 2 cores . both fail in minutes = cpu is bad


one last test with 1 worker = instant error.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-10 at 1.53.48 PM.png
Views:	35
Size:	1.00 MB
ID:	376514   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-10 at 3.15.55 PM.png
Views:	26
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	376515   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-11 at 8.01.41 AM.png
Views:	20
Size:	1.34 MB
ID:	376516  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-11 at 8.03.47 AM.png
Views:	19
Size:	2.09 MB
ID:	376517  

Last edited by philipma1957; Nov 11, 2012 at 07:11 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 07:39 AM   #12
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
cpu is bad
Indeed it is.

I wonder how has one to address this with Apple. Do they accept Prime95 as a prove? Will you call them on monday or something?
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 08:22 AM   #13
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dasx View Post
Indeed it is.

I wonder how has one to address this with Apple. Do they accept Prime95 as a prove? Will you call them on monday or something?
I am bringing it to the apple store I have an appointment . I am a bit annoyed as this was purchased from jr.com not apple so getting a swap may be hard to do.

just for comparison here is a day long test with my 2010 2.4 c2d mini no errors 20 hours long and not hot cpus both at 100%
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2012-11-11 at 9.25.00 AM.png
Views:	16
Size:	402.3 KB
ID:	376521  

Last edited by philipma1957; Nov 11, 2012 at 08:28 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 08:45 AM   #14
dasx
macrumors 65816
 
dasx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Barcelona
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
I am bringing it to the apple store I have an appointment . I am a bit annoyed as this was purchased from jr.com not apple so getting a swap may be hard to do.
Good luck man. And keep us posted!
__________________
Grey computer which does complicated stuff.
Cell phone that can talk to me. (Seriously).
"Fancy quote from dead guy"
dasx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:23 PM   #15
Snowcake
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
I am bringing it to the apple store I have an appointment . I am a bit annoyed as this was purchased from jr.com not apple so getting a swap may be hard to do.

just for comparison here is a day long test with my 2010 2.4 c2d mini no errors 20 hours long and not hot cpus both at 100%
Well, are it always the same cores who are failing?

Maybe you have one defective ram slot. You could test it with one ram slot and the other empty. Then swap then and test again. Since you didn't use memtest86+ You have not tested about 2GB.

And your 2010 Mac Mini also run a lot cooler.
Snowcake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:48 PM   #16
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowcake View Post
Well, are it always the same cores who are failing?

Maybe you have one defective ram slot. You could test it with one ram slot and the other empty. Then swap then and test again. Since you didn't use memtest86+ You have not tested about 2GB.

And your 2010 Mac Mini also run a lot cooler.
finally got memtest86+ to run on the quad. thank you for pushing it.

here is an eight hour test on the stock ram with the quad

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1488392

the stock ram passes. so both slots and both sticks are good.


when I ran prime95 with this ram and this cpu 4 of the 8 cores got rounding errors.

so Most likely the cpu or mobo are bad.

I rma'd it and I am awaiting a return.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 or i5 Mac Mini - VMware Fusion peterpando Mac mini 15 Aug 10, 2013 07:14 AM
Mac Mini i7 Fusion Drive or Not lizard23 Buying Tips and Advice 7 Jul 10, 2013 12:08 PM
Mac mini no Fusion Drive - Help conexion Mac mini 10 Jun 24, 2013 10:17 AM
Fusion Drive For Mac Mini? Mac... nificent Mac mini 9 Mar 24, 2013 02:59 PM
DIY Fusion Drive, does it shows in about this Mac? djrod iMac 2 Jan 26, 2013 02:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC