Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:58 PM   #1
LetNightExplode
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Pro 1,1 won't boot. Need help troubleshooting.

Mac Pro 1,1
OS X 10.6

I tried to turn on the computer again - white power light came on but it didn't boot from the drive.
It does not appear to be accessing the hard drives at all. I have removed all external USB sources and I still get nothing. i have tried removing all but the first(system) bay and it stll won't boot.

No chime, no screen, no dark grey screen. I hear what sounds/feels like the two fans going full power but nothing that sounds like HDD access. This continues until I cut the power again.

I removed the graphics card - all the drives and but one set of DIMM's with no difference. Fans still stay on full power until I cut power. It does show the white power light on the front though.

I have reseated all the memory as well - cleaning off as much as I could witha 12oz can of compressed air. Still no difference

I guess there is no way to run the Hardware Test in this stage.

The logic boards Diagnostic LED's show "trickle power" That led me, and other apple "experts" to suggest a power supply problem. I bought a new one off ebay but after connecting it nothing changed

Any ideas?
LetNightExplode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:21 AM   #2
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Sounds like it could be the logic board, I would take it to an Apple store or authorized repair center, not much else you can do at this point.
__________________
Iphone 5s 32GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:25 AM   #3
Macman45
macrumors G5
 
Macman45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Since you have replaced the PSU, then the LB must be the next in line. I would let Apple take a look at it before you buy another one though. Just ask then for a diagnostic check, if the board proves to be at fault, which it pretty much sounds nailed on, then you can source one from a cheaper outlet.
__________________
Thats Not All Folks
Macman45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 10:49 AM   #4
tomorrowtools
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: far N Canada
[QUOTE=LetNightExplode;16285092]
Mac Pro 1,1
OS X 10.6
"I guess there is no way to run the Hardware Test in this stage."


DID you run hardware test? Nowhere do you say you tried booting from system disk. It's worth it to find a system disk and see if it runs. When you follow instructions re Hardware Test, it will take a LOT of time...just wait.

Tomorrowtools
Mac Pro 1.1, OS10.6.8 w/ SSD 'fusion'
tomorrowtools is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 03:05 PM   #5
LetNightExplode
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman45 View Post
Since you have replaced the PSU, then the LB must be the next in line. I would let Apple take a look at it before you buy another one though. Just ask then for a diagnostic check, if the board proves to be at fault, which it pretty much sounds nailed on, then you can source one from a cheaper outlet.
Is the diagnostic check something I could perform at home? Apple is way way too expensive and I don't want to spend any more money on a computer that is 6 years old :/

[QUOTE=tomorrowtools;16287667]
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetNightExplode View Post
Mac Pro 1,1
OS X 10.6
"I guess there is no way to run the Hardware Test in this stage."


DID you run hardware test? Nowhere do you say you tried booting from system disk. It's worth it to find a system disk and see if it runs. When you follow instructions re Hardware Test, it will take a LOT of time...just wait.

Tomorrowtools
Mac Pro 1.1, OS10.6.8 w/ SSD 'fusion'
Where I said "i have tried removing all but the first(system) bay" I meant I removed HDD Bay 2, 3, and 4 but left in my Bay 1/System/Boot/Startup/Root.
LetNightExplode is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macbook Pro (early 2008) won't boot, then booted, now won't boot again. ruyen MacBook Pro 12 Dec 21, 2013 06:27 PM
Why won't boot recovery mode? Won't start even from boot usb cicchilitto MacBook 2 Oct 19, 2013 04:17 PM
Hello, MacBook Pro won't boot. jekyl OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Oct 8, 2013 11:16 AM
Mac Pro won't boot stringzz Mac Pro 6 Oct 8, 2012 03:46 PM
Mac Pro won't boot...help! SadChief Mac Pro 5 Jun 3, 2012 02:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC