Pro 1,1 won't boot. Need help troubleshooting.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LetNightExplode, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #1
    Mac Pro 1,1
    OS X 10.6

    I tried to turn on the computer again - white power light came on but it didn't boot from the drive.
    It does not appear to be accessing the hard drives at all. I have removed all external USB sources and I still get nothing. i have tried removing all but the first(system) bay and it stll won't boot.

    No chime, no screen, no dark grey screen. I hear what sounds/feels like the two fans going full power but nothing that sounds like HDD access. This continues until I cut the power again.

    I removed the graphics card - all the drives and but one set of DIMM's with no difference. Fans still stay on full power until I cut power. It does show the white power light on the front though.

    I have reseated all the memory as well - cleaning off as much as I could witha 12oz can of compressed air. Still no difference

    I guess there is no way to run the Hardware Test in this stage.

    The logic boards Diagnostic LED's show "trickle power" That led me, and other apple "experts" to suggest a power supply problem. I bought a new one off ebay but after connecting it nothing changed

    Any ideas?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    Sounds like it could be the logic board, I would take it to an Apple store or authorized repair center, not much else you can do at this point.
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    Since you have replaced the PSU, then the LB must be the next in line. I would let Apple take a look at it before you buy another one though. Just ask then for a diagnostic check, if the board proves to be at fault, which it pretty much sounds nailed on, then you can source one from a cheaper outlet.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    far N Canada
    #4
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #5
    Is the diagnostic check something I could perform at home? Apple is way way too expensive and I don't want to spend any more money on a computer that is 6 years old :/

     

Share This Page