Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:59 PM   #1
cnev3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Lightbulb I've owned the iPod Touch since 2008, and didnt know this feature i found by accident

You can use the volume switch for the shutter button, for the camera, which is way easier and accurate than using the on screen shutter button.

Just found this out by accident. Shoulda found this easier. Duh!!
cnev3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:28 PM   #2
braddick
macrumors 68040
 
braddick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Encinitas, CA
I swear, I didn't know that either until just now.
Thanks for the tip.
braddick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:29 AM   #3
hismikeness
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I believe this feature was added with iOS 5.
__________________
32gb iPhone 5, 64gb White iPad 3 - WiFi, 32gb White iPad Mini - WiFi, MacMini (2012)
hismikeness is offline   7 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 02:34 AM   #4
Xeblade
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnev3 View Post
You can use the volume switch for the shutter button, for the camera, which is way easier and accurate than using the on screen shutter button.

Just found this out by accident. Shoulda found this easier. Duh!!
It's handy, but not always more accurate as when you press it, there is a higher chance the photo will be blurry. As the device will move.
Xeblade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 05:19 AM   #5
chaoz28
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
I've owned the iPod Touch since 2008, and didnt know this feature i found by accident
But the 4th gen was released in 2010 not in 2008 right?
chaoz28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 01:29 PM   #6
Thetonyk123
macrumors 68000
 
Thetonyk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by hismikeness View Post
I believe this feature was added with iOS 5.
Correct.
__________________
PC: FX 6300, hd 7870, 8gb ram, 120gb ssd, 1tb hdd, define r4, rosewill 630w, MSI 970a-g43.
Stuff: 1st gen iPad Mini, iPod touch 4
Thetonyk123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 05:42 AM   #7
Jelliess
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yep true. Gen 4, the first iTouch with camera built-in released in 2010. And the feature of "volume button as a shutter" was introduced in iOS5 in 2011 if i'm not wrong.
Jelliess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 11:20 AM   #8
lunaoso
macrumors 65816
 
lunaoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New England, USA
Yup as others have said- added in iOS 5. It also works on the iPhone and possibly the ipad(not sure as I still have the 1st gen).
lunaoso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 03:54 PM   #9
jroz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Huh, somehow I missed that one! Good to know...
jroz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 04:18 PM   #10
virginblue4
macrumors 65816
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnev3 View Post
You can use the volume switch for the shutter button, for the camera, which is way easier and accurate than using the on screen shutter button.

Just found this out by accident. Shoulda found this easier. Duh!!
As others have said, it was added in iOS 5. However, I find photos come out clearer when using the on screen button, as it doesn't cause the device to move as much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaoso View Post
Yup as others have said- added in iOS 5. It also works on the iPhone and possibly the ipad(not sure as I still have the 1st gen).
Yes, it also works on iPad.
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 8.0.2
iPad mini 2, silver, iOS 8.0.2
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found a 5th Gen iPod Touch JohnnyDJunior iOS 7 48 Apr 7, 2014 10:40 PM
iPad: iPad 2 owned. Should I get iPod touch 5g? JStok iPad 10 May 7, 2013 07:40 AM
found an ipod touch utl768 iPod touch 23 Jan 4, 2013 07:18 PM
My Favorite New Feature on the iPod Touch 5G SCHLEGELBAGLE iPod touch 9 Sep 16, 2012 05:15 PM
Found iPod Touch on the ground jcortese7 Wasteland 7 Aug 31, 2012 11:41 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC