Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:35 PM   #1
themomopan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
iMac or Mac Pro for R3dcode Editing?

Yeah...So I just recently bought a Red Scarlet, and I was wondering if iMacs are capable enough to edit R3D Files. Thanks!
themomopan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:20 PM   #2
brock2621
macrumors 6502a
 
brock2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by themomopan View Post
Yeah...So I just recently bought a Red Scarlet, and I was wondering if iMacs are capable enough to edit R3D Files. Thanks!
Of course, just get an SSD and an editor that reads them (final cut pro x, premiere, avid).
__________________
2012 27" iMac www.OCULUSSTUDIOS.com
www.Twitter.com/OculusStudiosKY
brock2621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:00 PM   #3
Siderz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by themomopan View Post
Yeah...So I just recently bought a Red Scarlet, and I was wondering if iMacs are capable enough to edit R3D Files. Thanks!
Don't know much about RED stuff, but if you do get it and it struggles, you can get a Sonnet Echo Express SE Thunderbolt PCIe Expansion Chassis and put a RED Rocket into it - http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echoexpressse.html

At least...I think I saw a video with it...

Edit: Just searched RED Rocket. It's expensive
Siderz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:09 PM   #4
Apple Corps
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: California
You are using a Red Scarlet for video capture and are looking at an iMac

Something does not come into focus in this scenario for me.
Apple Corps is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:26 PM   #5
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Ideally for .r3d, you would have a top end 12 core Mac Pro or PC workstation with a RED Rocket card. If you have the money, there's no reason not to do that.

The iMac would be a second choice, and would probably handle small projects relatively well, though.
12dylan34 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:56 PM   #6
themomopan
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12dylan34 View Post
Ideally for .r3d, you would have a top end 12 core Mac Pro or PC workstation with a RED Rocket card. If you have the money, there's no reason not to do that.

The iMac would be a second choice, and would probably handle small projects relatively well, though.
Hmmm. Should I wait for the new Mac Pro to come out then or get the old one???
themomopan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:32 PM   #7
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by themomopan View Post
Hmmm. Should I wait for the new Mac Pro to come out then or get the old one???
I think that it just depends if you can/feel like waiting or not. If you can wait, I would wait for the update, since the current models are a rather poor value. Of course, with Apple, you never know when it'll actually be released...
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:55 PM   #8
brock2621
macrumors 6502a
 
brock2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by themomopan View Post
Hmmm. Should I wait for the new Mac Pro to come out then or get the old one???
I guess I should clarify a tad, if you are just wanting to edit, it will be fine. Do all your editing in proxies and reconnect full 4k to export. If you are doing motion graphics in 4k (After Effects, Nuke, C4D, Maya, Lightwave, etc.), I would say go buy a dell/hp 16 core workstation with a red rocket and an nvidia quaddro fx card.

I'm actually a little surprised you dropped 15k+ on a camera before researching what you need to use it ;P I guess I'm being a little stereotypical as most of my colleagues who own equipment are pretty huge geeks and sorta feel they go hand in hand.

Anyways, I just got done shooting a project with a scarlet last week! They are awesome awesome cameras, congrats!
brock2621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 12:39 AM   #9
themomopan
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hahaha. Originally bought the camera to rent it out only, not to mention I was planning to get the iMac. Wasn't thinking much. Might call it an impulsive buy...maybe(: Thanks guys.
themomopan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro vs iMac 27" for video editing dany74m MacBook Pro 8 May 12, 2014 03:58 PM
New MacBook Pro Retina or Mac Pro for Video Editing Joel M MacBook Pro 5 Nov 3, 2013 12:42 AM
iMac or Mac Pro for video editing? tjgonzo Mac Pro 40 Oct 21, 2013 06:09 AM
Older Mac Pro for Video Editing? MeowWBO Buying Tips and Advice 3 Jul 10, 2013 09:57 AM
Current iMac vs. New Macbook Pro for Video Editing snake8 iMac 1 Jun 12, 2012 12:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC