Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2012, 06:51 PM   #1
haruhiko
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
iPad 4 LTE only shows "3G" in LTE covered area

As of this Sunday iPad 4 LTE all models are now available at authorised resellers in Hong Kong, so I bought an 64GB LTE version but found that the Smartone card I'm using only supports 3G connections while Smartone is an official Apple LTE partner.

Does the 4G LTE version require a new micro-SIM card? If that's the case I may call my carrier later on to request for an LTE SIM card.

Thanks!
__________________
rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 6+/128/sg, 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:04 PM   #2
dvdlovr24
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko View Post
As of this Sunday iPad 4 LTE all models are now available at authorised resellers in Hong Kong, so I bought an 64GB LTE version but found that the Smartone card I'm using only supports 3G connections while Smartone is an official Apple LTE partner.

Does the 4G LTE version require a new micro-SIM card? If that's the case I may call my carrier later on to request for an LTE SIM card.

Thanks!
Do you have LTE turned on in the cellular settings?
__________________
27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7, 1TB Fusion Drive, 24GB Ram, GTX 675MX 128GB iPhone 6 Plus 2 TB Time Capsule 3 Apple TVs 64 GB iPad Mini LTE
dvdlovr24 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 07:45 PM   #3
haruhiko
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdlovr24 View Post
Do you have LTE turned on in the cellular settings?
Yes :-) That was the first thing I checked.
__________________
rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 6+/128/sg, 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:06 PM   #4
DonnieZ
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm new to the iPad with Cellular as well, and this happened to me last night.

I just went in and disabled / enabled Cellular Data and it hopped right back on the LTE network.
DonnieZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 08:26 PM   #5
haruhiko
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonnieZ View Post
I'm new to the iPad with Cellular as well, and this happened to me last night.

I just went in and disabled / enabled Cellular Data and it hopped right back on the LTE network.
Oh really! Which carrier do you use?
__________________
rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 6+/128/sg, 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:59 PM   #6
haruhiko
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I found that it's because my carrier wants me to switch from my unlimited plan to a tiered plan! Same trick as AT&T etc. But the plan is quite reasonable anyway and I made the switch. The plan costs about US$58/month and comes with 3 SIMs, one voice+data for iPhone and 2 data only SIMs for iPads. The data limit is 6GB per month. Now my iPad 4 can access their LTE network.

(It sounds cheap but remember it can only be used inside Hong Kong.)
__________________
rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 6+/128/sg, 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:35 AM   #7
Renjo2007
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by haruhiko View Post
I found that it's because my carrier wants me to switch from my unlimited plan to a tiered plan! Same trick as AT&T etc. But the plan is quite reasonable anyway and I made the switch. The plan costs about US$58/month and comes with 3 SIMs, one voice+data for iPhone and 2 data only SIMs for iPads. The data limit is 6GB per month. Now my iPad 4 can access their LTE network.

(It sounds cheap but remember it can only be used inside Hong Kong.)

Did you replace your simcard with LTE simcard?
Renjo2007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 02:07 AM   #8
haruhiko
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renjo2007 View Post
Did you replace your simcard with LTE simcard?
Yes. They gave me a new micro SIM which they emphasized to be 'a 4G SIM card' for me to use with my iPad 4. After plugging it in to my iPad I waited for about 10 minutes before the '3G' indicator changed to 'LTE'.
__________________
rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 6+/128/sg, 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ipad 4 on ios7 loses LTE constantly shows "no service" ReformedPirate iOS 7 3 Sep 12, 2013 07:52 AM
LTE , on or off? If you don't have LTE in area Arnezie iPhone 4 Sep 24, 2012 09:31 AM
Does the status bar say "4G" or "LTE" when you are on LTE (AT&T)? MaxPower49 iPhone 7 Sep 21, 2012 04:23 PM
What symbol you getting if you are in "LTE" area? Stayfly2407 iPhone 5 Sep 21, 2012 03:30 PM
AT&T LTE indicator not appearing in LTE-covered area thetaco25 iPhone 14 Sep 21, 2012 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC