Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:48 AM   #1
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Take a Chance with 3TB Fusion?

Caught up in minds about whether to go 1TB Fusion or 3TB Fusion, want to be able to bootcamp Windows for Games, but its probably only 15% of what I would use my mac for.. however the ability to play games does also effect my other choices with graphics card.

Would you take a chance with a 3TB fusion drive in the hope that in the near future you will be able to bootcamp a windows Install onto it?

Or play it safe with a 1TB drive, which is really pushing the envelope for space for me.
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:53 AM   #2
thedeejay
macrumors 65816
 
thedeejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
Caught up in minds about whether to go 1TB Fusion or 3TB Fusion, want to be able to bootcamp Windows for Games, but its probably only 15% of what I would use my mac for.. however the ability to play games does also effect my other choices with graphics card.

Would you take a chance with a 3TB fusion drive in the hope that in the near future you will be able to bootcamp a windows Install onto it?

Or play it safe with a 1TB drive, which is really pushing the envelope for space for me.
1TB for sure. 3TB is a lot of space. What you gonna store that'll take up 1 or even 3 TB? And nowadays external HDD's are dirt cheap do don't worry you'll be fine
thedeejay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:04 AM   #3
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
My previous imac I sold recently was 1TB and I had to really manually shift files around.

(photographer/video editor)
150GB music / 200GB edited photos (with originals stored externally, 150GB bootcamp ) thats already over half gone, without accounting for applications/documents/Videos and my Downloads folder of movies.

Already I use external drives for storage,editing videos and backups but there are times when I reach 80%+ capacity whilst working on a project and was hoping to not have to worry about moving things around so much.
+and given bad experiences with loosing data on external drives, im all for having multiple copies of files over different media until a completion of a project.

But alas you are right, 1TB is what i'm leaning towards.
kaelell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:51 AM   #4
CWallace
macrumors Demi-God
 
CWallace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
If I buy a 2012 iMac, I will go 3TB Fusion.
CWallace is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 10:57 AM   #5
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Go with the 1TB to be safe for bootcamp. If you need more storage in the future, get a USB3 or Thunderbolt external.
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:03 AM   #6
vladfein
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorhog View Post
...If you need more storage in the future, get a USB3 or Thunderbolt external.
Make sure you stack it neatly on top of your Time Capsule, external ODD and whatever else you have dangling from that All-in-One beauty
vladfein is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:05 AM   #7
Razorhog
macrumors 6502a
 
Razorhog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arkansas
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladfein View Post
Make sure you stack it neatly on top of your Time Capsule, external ODD and whatever else you have dangling from that All-in-One beauty
LoL, no snide remarks allowed!
Razorhog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:15 AM   #8
Gascogne
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Send a message via ICQ to Gascogne Send a message via MSN to Gascogne
About the 3tb fusion drive.
Is the ssd part still only 128gb or is it bigger?
Gascogne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:17 AM   #9
Sk8-Rat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladfein View Post
Make sure you stack it neatly on top of your Time Capsule, external ODD and whatever else you have dangling from that All-in-One beauty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorhog View Post
LoL, no snide remarks allowed!
Snide marks aside, the twelve south backpack properly conceals my external devices

http://twelvesouth.com/products/backpack/
Sk8-Rat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:17 AM   #10
FuriousGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Apparently you can't Bootcamp a 3T drive... no reason is given but there is a note about halfway down the page:

Quote:
Note: Boot Camp Assistant is not supported at this time on 3TB hard drive configurations.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5446

Anyone know why this is the case?
FuriousGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:23 AM   #11
tann
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuriousGreg View Post
Apparently you can't Bootcamp a 3T drive... no reason is given but there is a note about halfway down the page:



http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5446

Anyone know why this is the case?
OH WOW, GREAT find. I think we need to make people aware of this... Wonder why that's the case though, it does it make sense?
__________________
2013 13" MacBook Air i5/8GB/256GB || Silver 64GB iPhone 6 || 32GB Cellular Silver iPad rMini!
Follow me on Twitter!
tann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:46 AM   #12
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
If I'm going to spend this much money on a drive, I might as well buy some expensive TB duo drives and at least can replace the drives in the future with anything I want. Ironically, whatever I spec the imac with internally will end up being used as a storage drive of some sort. A nice fast SSD in a TB enclosure should be a nice booting drive, and less expensive overall than Apple's.
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:53 AM   #13
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
Caught up in minds about whether to go 1TB Fusion or 3TB Fusion, want to be able to bootcamp Windows for Games, but its probably only 15% of what I would use my mac for.. however the ability to play games does also effect my other choices with graphics card.

Would you take a chance with a 3TB fusion drive in the hope that in the near future you will be able to bootcamp a windows Install onto it?

Or play it safe with a 1TB drive, which is really pushing the envelope for space for me.
For Bootcamp, you should be able to use a cheap external USB 3 drive.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:55 AM   #14
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
The Boot Camp 3TB issue isn't related to FusionDrive. It's not a new problem. It just so happens this is the 1st time Apple has offered a BTO with a drive that exceeds 2.2TB which is the MBR limit for boot devices.

Don't get the 3TB Fusion Drive if you want to use Boot Camp.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:58 AM   #15
FuriousGreg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
For Bootcamp, you should be able to use a cheap external USB 3 drive.
Unfortunatlly...

Quote:
8. If I have more than one hard drive, can I install Microsoft Windows on any drive?

You can use Boot Camp to install Windows on any internal hard drive, but not on an external hard drive
.


http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4818#7
FuriousGreg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 11:59 AM   #16
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
But can you use an internal 3tb fusion drive for OSX, and an external thunderbolt SSD for bootcamp/windows 7? That is the big question.
Anyone?
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:00 PM   #17
Laucian Nailor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
But can you use an internal 3tb fusion drive for OSX, and an external thunderbolt SSD for bootcamp/windows 7? That is the big question.
Anyone?
See above
Laucian Nailor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:03 PM   #18
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
But can you use an internal 3tb fusion drive for OSX, and an external thunderbolt SSD for bootcamp/windows 7? That is the big question.
Anyone?
If you can somehow image windows onto the external drive, I don't see why that wouldn't work.
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:04 PM   #19
kaelell
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnasher729 View Post
For Bootcamp, you should be able to use a cheap external USB 3 drive.
I believe you cannot bootcamp windows from external drive, unless you install OS x on it first then bootcamp.

do correct me if I am wrong.




source: various other threads of people unsuccessfully trying to
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:08 PM   #20
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Arggggggghhhh, I thought that was only for USB2/3.
This is infuriating. Why couldn't Apple just have a 256gb SSD + 3tb HD option.

Last edited by Mac32; Nov 28, 2012 at 12:22 PM.
Mac32 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:21 PM   #21
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Exclamation

What about this: Install Windows 7 on your fusion drive (after decreasing the size of the partition in Disk Utility to 2 gb or less), then cloning the partition with SuperDuper! to an external SSD. After that, just install OSX over the old Windows 7 installation in your iMac. Voila, you can boot your iMac from either your external thunderbolt SSD, or the internal fusion drive.
That should work, right?

Last edited by Mac32; Nov 28, 2012 at 12:32 PM.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:48 PM   #22
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
What about this: Install Windows 7 on your fusion drive (after decreasing the size of the partition in Disk Utility to 2 gb or less), then cloning the partition with SuperDuper! to an external SSD. After that, just install OSX over the old Windows 7 installation in your iMac. Voila, you can boot your iMac from either your external thunderbolt SSD, or the internal fusion drive.
That should work, right?

Are you allowed to partition a fusion drive?
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:16 PM   #23
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
You can partition a Fusion Drive. The limitation is only one partition and it must be on the HDD.

I have read reports of people booting Windows using external drives and Winclone. Boot Camp will not install on an external, so getting the windows image on the external would be the trick.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:55 PM   #24
Gascogne
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Send a message via ICQ to Gascogne Send a message via MSN to Gascogne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac32 View Post
Why couldn't Apple just have a 256gb SSD + 3tb HD option.
So there are only fusion options (128gb ssd + 1tb or 3tb hd) or a 768gb ssd?
Gascogne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 02:09 PM   #25
Mac32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gascogne View Post
So there are only fusion options (128gb ssd + 1tb or 3tb hd) or a 768gb ssd?
Yep, that's the problem. A seperate 256GB SSD + 1/3 tb HD would have been so much more useful and flexible.
Mac32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3TB Time Capsule for 3TB Fusion Drive? Remi B iMac 22 Jul 29, 2013 05:53 PM
Replacing internal 3TB HHD from Fusion Drive with a SSD and using 3TB HHD as external lazlo kovac iMac 3 Jun 17, 2013 09:25 AM
Fusion confusion. Why no bootcamp on 3TB Fusion but OK on 1TB Fusion inscrewtable OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Dec 11, 2012 11:21 PM
3TB Fusion or 1TB Fusion - surely 3TB? jackofharts iMac 33 Dec 11, 2012 04:51 AM
Should I get 1TB Fusion or 3TB non Fusion? frocco iMac 9 Dec 6, 2012 10:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC