Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:23 AM   #1
Ademordna
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Entryl level iMac 2012 and Photoshop

I am planning on purchasing the base model iMac with 16gb ram when it comes available. I will only be using this machine for photoshop cs6 work.

What I will be using this computer for:
10x8 canvas digital painting with Wacom, often intensive layer work and using mostly jpeg files. I also plan to write to an external HDD. Averagel size of my images is around 4000 pixels.....around 2.5 mb.

Does this sound workable to those who are familiar with PS cs6?
This will be a new software upgrade for me so I am unfamiliar with the actual demands it may put on a system.

I don't work with video or RAW, and won't be using this system for web or any other apps, but I am still concerned about the 5400rpm drive. Do you think this is workable?
(please excuse typo in thread title!)
Ademordna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:26 AM   #2
Charcoalwerks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ademordna View Post
I am planning on purchasing the base model iMac with 16gb ram when it comes available. I will only be using this machine for photoshop cs6 work.

What I will be using this computer for:
10x8 canvas digital painting with Wacom, often intensive layer work and using mostly jpeg files. I also plan to write to an external HDD.

Does this sound workable to those who are familiar with PS cs6?
This will be a new software upgrade for me so I am unfamiliar with the actual demands it may put on a system.

I don't work with video or RAW, and won't be using this system for web or any other apps, but I am still concerned about the 5400rpm drive. Do you think this is workable?
(please excuse typo in thread title!)
You'll be fine. I have a mid 2011 entry level with 12Gb of RAM and I do intensive graphic design work with Ps CS5, Ai, and Id running at the same time on dual monitors. I never get any hiccups.
__________________
2011 21.5" iMac, 2.5 GHz i5, 12 GB RAM 2.16 GHz BlackBook 16GB iPhone 5C
Charcoalwerks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:30 AM   #3
Ademordna
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Thanks! That's good to know. There's so much focus on the Fusion drives right now, but I'm not terribly convinced that I shall need one for PS-only work.
Ademordna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 03:41 PM   #4
960design
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
I agree with Charcoalwerks.

You will be amazed at how well it will work. Put all fears aside.

The fusion drive looks great on paper, not really sure if it makes that much of a difference at human speeds.

My computer starts up in about a second and the only time I get a little stutter from it is when it starts time machine backups while I'm previewing working website chrome(desktop1), writing code (desktop2), previewing working website safari(desktop3), git version control source tree(desktop4), photoshop with multiple panels open (desktop5), pandora and email (desktop6).

enjoy!
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:04 PM   #5
Ademordna
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Thankyou - all that I need now is for Apple to release the new iMac!
Ademordna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:13 PM   #6
Charcoalwerks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 960design View Post
I agree with Charcoalwerks.

You will be amazed at how well it will work.
I agree with 960design.

I'm still amazed by how much **** I get done!
__________________
2011 21.5" iMac, 2.5 GHz i5, 12 GB RAM 2.16 GHz BlackBook 16GB iPhone 5C
Charcoalwerks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:09 AM   #7
960design
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
Quote:
Thankyou - all that I need now is for Apple to release the new iMac!
Wish granted!
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 06:30 PM   #8
wordplanet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Dual Drive iMac is worth the price IMHO

I'm running an iMac (purchased February 2012 - so nearly a year now) Intel Core i7 with only 8 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3 with dual hard drives - all my programs are on the 250GB Solid State drive and then my photos are on the 1 terabyte second built in drive. The setup is great

I'm running OSX Lion and CS5.

I love the way it runs. I have huge RAW files (I'm a photographer) and often have CS5, Nikon NX2, LR4 and my latest cool little discovery Plastic Bullet - check it out on the App store - running at once and it just chugs along - actually it mostly flies. It's so fast that I hate when I'm away and have to use my Macbook Pro - I feel like I'm back on an old PC by comparison.

I highly recommend the SSD and HD drive combo - I know SSD's are still pricy but this set up is really worth it. Apple told me 8 GB of RAM would be fine with the dual drive set up and so far they are right (I can upgrade to 16GB but haven't need to).

I can work on photos all day long - 12 hours some days - and don't ever have to restart the computer. A big change from my Macbook or my old iMac.

I'm wondering if it's possible to get a Macbook with a dual drive - I really like the setup.

Good luck with your new iMac.
wordplanet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 09:12 PM   #9
Ademordna
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 960design View Post
Wish granted!
I made my order yesterday morning so hopefully it shall be here soon!

Quote:
Originally Posted by wordplanet View Post
I'm running an iMac (purchased February 2012 - so nearly a year now) Intel Core i7 with only 8 GB RAM 1333 MHz DDR3 with dual hard drives - all my programs are on the 250GB Solid State drive and then my photos are on the 1 terabyte second built in drive. The setup is great

I'm running OSX Lion and CS5.

I love the way it runs. I have huge RAW files (I'm a photographer) and often have CS5, Nikon NX2, LR4 and my latest cool little discovery Plastic Bullet - check it out on the App store - running at once and it just chugs along - actually it mostly flies. It's so fast that I hate when I'm away and have to use my Macbook Pro - I feel like I'm back on an old PC by comparison.

I highly recommend the SSD and HD drive combo - I know SSD's are still pricy but this set up is really worth it. Apple told me 8 GB of RAM would be fine with the dual drive set up and so far they are right (I can upgrade to 16GB but haven't need to).

I can work on photos all day long - 12 hours some days - and don't ever have to restart the computer. A big change from my Macbook or my old iMac.

I'm wondering if it's possible to get a Macbook with a dual drive - I really like the setup.

Good luck with your new iMac.
I'm definitely considering an external SSD. Have a 1TB at the moment which will hopefully suffice.
I was initially worried due to reading the imac section of the forum: the 5400rpm drive getting a bit of a drubbing over there, with comments describing it as 'painfully slow' and 'useless'. So.......I purchased 16gb ram and stuck with the base model, regardless.
Will definitely look into the app, thanks!
Ademordna is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012: Entry Level with SSD or Mid Level with HD? virtu Mac mini 4 Nov 7, 2012 06:31 PM
Mid Level Mac Mini outperform base Level Imac 21.5 (2011) tears2040 Mac mini 9 Oct 26, 2012 06:27 AM
cost of entry level 2012 iMac? macpluslaptop iMac 5 Sep 22, 2012 11:54 AM
2012 MBPs noise level? ShuQi MacBook Pro 6 Jun 18, 2012 01:22 PM
Pro level apps on the MBP with Retina? (Photoshop, Illustrator, Maya, etc.) fig MacBook Pro 3 Jun 14, 2012 10:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC