Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:30 AM   #1
shah1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Returned MacBook Air & Photoshop

Not sure if this is the right to be posting this but I recently returned a 2012 13inch macbook air due screen issues. Now I had installed CS5 photoshop on this laptop and on my original 2010 macbook air. The problem is, I returned the macbook without de-activating the photoshop, now I've got my replacement, I'm getting the message that the software has been installed on two machines. My question is, once the returned machine is back at Apple, will they do a full restore, meaning they wipe everything off and will that be enough to de-activate the photoshop on that computer?
shah1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:50 AM   #2
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Apple well definitely wipe the drive, but I have no idea if that will fix your PShop license issue.
Weaselboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:55 AM   #3
shah1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weaselboy View Post
Apple well definitely wipe the drive, but I have no idea if that will fix your PShop license issue.
If the hard drive is wiped then surely the photoshop will be de-activated on that machine? Or no?
shah1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:56 AM   #4
dLuu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
You should contact Adobe's Customer Support. They're not the best but they should be able to help you get your product activated on your replacement system.
dLuu is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 11:01 AM   #5
Weaselboy
macrumors P6
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by shah1 View Post
If the hard drive is wiped then surely the photoshop will be de-activated on that machine? Or no?
If Apple just wipes the drive without first going in an de-activating PShop, I don't see how Adobe would know it was de-activated. I think you are going to need to call Adobe.
Weaselboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 11:15 AM   #6
shah1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
on the phone to them now!
shah1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 11:29 AM   #7
filmbuff
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I believe unless you uninstall Photoshop with the machine connected to the internet Adobe will have no way of knowing that it was deactivated. I would call Adobe and explain the situation, I bet they will just give you a new access code with no trouble.
filmbuff is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 11:56 AM   #8
m00min
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fairly sure there's a way to deactivate an install on the Adobe site. Had to do this a couple of years ago when migrating a coworkers machine.
__________________
Obligatory dick waving: 2012 i7/8GB/256SSD MBA; 2010 i7/8GB/256SSD MBP; 2006 Mac Mini; iPhone 4S; iPad 3
m00min is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:19 PM   #9
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
if u still have the original machine's S/N, u maybe able to do this wo the physical machine.

But no, wipe is a dumb process.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:21 PM   #10
Spink10
macrumors 68030
 
Spink10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by shah1 View Post
on the phone to them now!
How did it go?
Spink10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:24 PM   #11
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Quote:
Originally Posted by shah1 View Post
If the hard drive is wiped then surely the photoshop will be de-activated on that machine? Or no?
No. You'll need to contact Adobe (sorry if this was already answered!)
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:41 PM   #12
shah1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spink10 View Post
How did it go?
They sorted it, activated Pshop on the new macbook air for me. Had to wait over 30 minutes to get through to them!
shah1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Air Late 2011 Wi-Fi bug has returned booyahbooyah MacBook Air 6 Jan 1, 2014 03:22 PM
OS X 10.8.5 Developer Seed May Fix MacBook Air Photoshop Flickering MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 49 Jul 11, 2013 11:50 AM
Can I install Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 11 on Macbook Air 2012? janjan77 MacBook Air 3 Mar 30, 2013 02:44 PM
Macbook Air for Lightroom and Photoshop steveash Digital Photography 12 Oct 1, 2012 03:38 PM
New 2012 MacBook Air running Photoshop and Logic Pro aRollingStone MacBook Air 4 Jun 18, 2012 11:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC