Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 08:53 PM   #1
docprego
macrumors 6502a
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Can I use my AT&T iPad 3 on T-Mobile 4G in Las Vegas?

I'd really like to use my AT&T iPad on T-Mobile so I can take advantage of their $30 unlimited data plan. This plan offers the first 5 GB at 4G speeds. Since I'm in Vegas where T-Mobile has 42mbps HSPA+, will I be able to use my iPad at these 4G speeds using this plan? If it's possible how do I go about this?

Thank you!
__________________
| iPhone 6 Plus 64GB White T-Mobile | Mac Mini Server | iPad Air 32GB WiFi White | AppleTV 3rd Gen x2 | iPod Classic 120GB |
docprego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 08:58 PM   #2
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
It'll work on the iPad. The bands are supported by it.

Not sure how to go about activating it though.
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:04 PM   #3
docprego
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
It should work. Just buy a T-Mobile SIm and put it in the iPad.
Thanks. Are you confirming that I should be able to connect at 4G speeds?

Can I buy this sim in a T-Mobile store? I guess then activate it online and put it in the iPad?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
It'll work on the iPad. The bands are supported by it.

Not sure how to go about activating it though.
OK read this after I posted. Has anyone else done this and can advise on how to activate the sim?
__________________
| iPhone 6 Plus 64GB White T-Mobile | Mac Mini Server | iPad Air 32GB WiFi White | AppleTV 3rd Gen x2 | iPod Classic 120GB |
docprego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:23 PM   #4
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Okay, actually ... on second thought, I need to clarify some stuff.

1) the iPad will pick up T-Mobile 3G HSPA+ if the area has been refarmed. I'm not sure if Las Vegas has. T-Mobile has HSPA+ on the 1900mhz band, but they're slowly moving it to a band that the Apple devices will support.

I'm not sure your area has already been refarmed. If it has, it'll pickup T-Mobile HSPA+. If it hasn't, it still will work, but on Edge which is really pointless.

2) I'm assuming if you get it activated and put the SIM in, it'll be fine. I believe that the plan you're referring to is the one that includes voice and text so I had my initial concerns considering it's really a phone plan, that it is for. But I've put the SIM from my AT&T iPhone that has a texting/voice plan on it too, and the iPad worked just fine for that.

You can check if iPad comptaible 3G is in your area here http://www.airportal.de/
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:35 PM   #5
docprego
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by wordoflife View Post
Okay, actually ... on second thought, I need to clarify some stuff.

1) the iPad will pick up T-Mobile 3G HSPA+ if the area has been refarmed. I'm not sure if Las Vegas has. T-Mobile has HSPA+ on the 1900mhz band, but they're slowly moving it to a band that the Apple devices will support.

I'm not sure your area has already been refarmed. If it has, it'll pickup T-Mobile HSPA+. If it hasn't, it still will work, but on Edge which is really pointless.

2) I'm assuming if you get it activated and put the SIM in, it'll be fine. I believe that the plan you're referring to is the one that includes voice and text so I had my initial concerns considering it's really a phone plan, that it is for. But I've put the SIM from my AT&T iPhone that has a texting/voice plan on it too, and the iPad worked just fine for that.

You can check if iPad comptaible 3G is in your area here http://www.airportal.de/
Are the areas that T-Mobile is promoting as 4G ready for the iPhone 5 refarmed? If so then Vegas is:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/20104...-networks.html
__________________
| iPhone 6 Plus 64GB White T-Mobile | Mac Mini Server | iPad Air 32GB WiFi White | AppleTV 3rd Gen x2 | iPod Classic 120GB |
docprego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:48 PM   #6
wordoflife
macrumors 604
 
wordoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by docprego View Post
Are the areas that T-Mobile is promoting as 4G ready for the iPhone 5 refarmed? If so then Vegas is:

http://www.pcworld.com/article/20104...-networks.html
Not necessarily.
The 4G that T-Mobile promotes doesn't mean that it'll be "4G" on the iPhone. But it'll definitely work on their devices.. But regardless it looks like they got it refarmed in Las Vegas anyways, so you should be fine.
wordoflife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 10:44 PM   #7
pocketpenguin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Unhappy Doubtful

If TMobile has refarmed the 1900MHz spectrum in Vegas, then it would be technically possible.

However, I recently tried using two different t-mobile sims in my ATT iPad 3 and could NOT get any service, not even at edge speeds.

When I bought my iPad3 on release day I cut my t-mobile sim down and it worked fine at edge speeds in my ATT iPad3 (had to change APN settings).

However, when I tried it again about a month ago, I got nothing but a my-tmobile.com sign on page. It would appear that t-mobile is now blocking regular plan sims and you must purchase a data only sim instead. I also tried one of the $30/month pre-paid 5gig plan sims as well, same result.

So, unless you buy a data plan only sim from t-mobile AND unless t-mobile has refarmed 1900mhz in Vegas, then I am betting you are out of luck.
pocketpenguin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 11:58 PM   #8
docprego
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
docprego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Henderson, NV
Quote:
Originally Posted by pocketpenguin View Post
If TMobile has refarmed the 1900MHz spectrum in Vegas, then it would be technically possible.

However, I recently tried using two different t-mobile sims in my ATT iPad 3 and could NOT get any service, not even at edge speeds.

When I bought my iPad3 on release day I cut my t-mobile sim down and it worked fine at edge speeds in my ATT iPad3 (had to change APN settings).

However, when I tried it again about a month ago, I got nothing but a my-tmobile.com sign on page. It would appear that t-mobile is now blocking regular plan sims and you must purchase a data only sim instead. I also tried one of the $30/month pre-paid 5gig plan sims as well, same result.

So, unless you buy a data plan only sim from t-mobile AND unless t-mobile has refarmed 1900mhz in Vegas, then I am betting you are out of luck.
I'm convinced Vegas is refarmed so that part of the equation works. Earlier tonight I stuck my T-Mobile Note II sim in my iPad and got nothing but the sign on page you mentioned. I fear that I am out of luck.

That said they do have tablet plans which might work but they are no bargain compared to the AT&T LTE plans available directly from the device.
__________________
| iPhone 6 Plus 64GB White T-Mobile | Mac Mini Server | iPad Air 32GB WiFi White | AppleTV 3rd Gen x2 | iPod Classic 120GB |
docprego is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:33 AM   #9
kevroc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pocketpenguin View Post
If TMobile has refarmed the 1900MHz spectrum in Vegas, then it would be technically possible.

However, I recently tried using two different t-mobile sims in my ATT iPad 3 and could NOT get any service, not even at edge speeds.

When I bought my iPad3 on release day I cut my t-mobile sim down and it worked fine at edge speeds in my ATT iPad3 (had to change APN settings).

However, when I tried it again about a month ago, I got nothing but a my-tmobile.com sign on page. It would appear that t-mobile is now blocking regular plan sims and you must purchase a data only sim instead. I also tried one of the $30/month pre-paid 5gig plan sims as well, same result.

So, unless you buy a data plan only sim from t-mobile AND unless t-mobile has refarmed 1900mhz in Vegas, then I am betting you are out of luck.
I ran into this as well. The $30 TMobile plan sim wouldn't work on my Nexus 7 4G. The conclusion was that TMobile is only letting broadband sims work on tablets now.
kevroc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier: No coverage with any carrier in Las Vegas? JOSE891 iPhone 0 Sep 30, 2013 05:43 AM
iPhone 5S - Las Vegas, NV ericcwhitaker iPhone Launch Meetups 14 Sep 20, 2013 11:45 AM
Las vegas baby! EgEm Picture Gallery 5 May 8, 2013 03:13 PM
Flight Unlimited Las Vegas Now Available tspree15 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Dec 17, 2012 01:46 AM
iPhone 5 - Las Vegas staccato83 iPhone Launch Meetups 2 Sep 20, 2012 08:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC