Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:16 PM   #1
northernbaldy
macrumors 6502a
 
northernbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the north, UK
samsung 840 pro, do I need to enable TRIM?

Im a bit confused now after reading some threads on here

do I need TRIM enabled for a samsung 840 pro SSD?
the spec sheet for the drive says it as TRIM support (with supported os)

if I do need it, I guess trim enabler is the way to go?
__________________
17" MacBook pro, MacMini Server, iPhone 5 64gb, AppleTV, iPad 32gb wifi, 11" MacBook Air
northernbaldy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:35 PM   #2
VirtualRain
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by northernbaldy View Post
Im a bit confused now after reading some threads on here

do I need TRIM enabled for a samsung 840 pro SSD?
the spec sheet for the drive says it as TRIM support (with supported os)

if I do need it, I guess trim enabler is the way to go?
I think the 840 does great garbage collection on it's own, on the other hand, I don't think there's any downside to enabling trim with the Trim enabler.

In my situation, I ran my Crucial M4 (at about 60-70% full) for the last several months without TRIM and then recently enabled TRIM. My benchmarks before and after were nearly identical... so it doesn't appear to have benefitted me in any way. On the other hand, it's not causing any issues I'm aware of so I just keep it on.
__________________
tools: nMP for photography, rMBP for working, iPad for surfing, iPhone for communicating, Mac Mini for entertaining
Canon tools: 5D Mark III 24-105L/70-300L/35L/50L/85L for capturing
VirtualRain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:56 PM   #3
northernbaldy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
northernbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the north, UK
I'm going to leave TRIM deactivated and see how it goes
thanks for the feedback
__________________
17" MacBook pro, MacMini Server, iPhone 5 64gb, AppleTV, iPad 32gb wifi, 11" MacBook Air
northernbaldy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 11:59 PM   #4
datapusher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Just to Clarify the OP has a 840 Pro not an 840 as the respondant referenced.

What is the feeling on TRIM being enabled on the 840 PRO

Thanks!
datapusher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 01:15 AM   #5
ClassObject
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
i'd turn it on
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:11 AM   #6
Baunkjaer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Send a message via MSN to Baunkjaer
Both my SSDīs run without TRIM enabled. Neither was it on the last iMac i owned. Never caused me any troubles.
__________________

MBP 8,2, 2,2GHz (i7), 16GB, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, HD 3000/AMD HD 6750M  iPhone 5S  iPad Air  Qnap TS-221 @ 2*2TB WD Red
Baunkjaer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 03:11 AM   #7
SuperCyborg
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by northernbaldy View Post
do I need TRIM enabled for a samsung 840 pro SSD?
Yes. Only apple drives have it enabled.

Quote:
if I do need it, I guess trim enabler is the way to go?
Search for "TRIM enabler"
SuperCyborg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC