Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:22 PM   #1
GrandPhrase
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
iPhone 5 Exchange for Refurb

Hi, my iPhone 5 still has the "WPA2 WiFi" issues and am planning to get it exchanged for a refurbished (or whatever they give me).

I ordered it online and threw away the receipt that came with it in the package. Will I be fine just bringing my iPhone and its box and contents without the receipt since it has a limited warranty of 1 year?

Do I need to provide any credit card (in hand)? Or will the exchange be free without any financial requests of information (as my parents are not with me since I am in Uni)?
GrandPhrase is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:33 PM   #2
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
You don't need a receipt. The iPhone is proof of purchase enough.

Also you shouldn't have to have a waiver for your replacement.


You only need the box w/ contents if you're planning a RETURN and not a Genius Bar replacement.
__________________
"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me. ... Going to bed at night saying we've done something wonderful -- that's what matters to me." - Steve Jobs
mikeydeezy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:40 PM   #3
GrandPhrase
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeydeezy View Post
You don't need a receipt. The iPhone is proof of purchase enough.

Also you shouldn't have to have a waiver for your replacement.


You only need the box w/ contents if you're planning a RETURN and not a Genius Bar replacement.
Thanks.. and if I were to to get a replacement, is it likely that I will get a new one or a refurbished? Do refurbished basically have new chassis, battery, and everything else the same?

Also, do you think I may be able to somehow get a black iP5 for replacement (mine is white right now)?
__________________
iPhone 5, 13" Macbook Pro, iPad 3
GrandPhrase is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 04:30 PM   #4
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
Thanks.. and if I were to to get a replacement, is it likely that I will get a new one or a refurbished? Do refurbished basically have new chassis, battery, and everything else the same?

Also, do you think I may be able to somehow get a black iP5 for replacement (mine is white right now)?
It's more than likely you'll get a refurb. That's a new chassis, battery and a "used" logic board.

And Apple only offers like-for-like replacements. I wish they let you switch at time of replacement (I'd go Michael Jackson with my iPhone if I could).
__________________
"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me. ... Going to bed at night saying we've done something wonderful -- that's what matters to me." - Steve Jobs
mikeydeezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 05:09 PM   #5
GrandPhrase
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeydeezy View Post
It's more than likely you'll get a refurb. That's a new chassis, battery and a "used" logic board.

And Apple only offers like-for-like replacements. I wish they let you switch at time of replacement (I'd go Michael Jackson with my iPhone if I could).
Lol about that MJ. I've read up on it and there are 2 theories on a used logic board/CPU,GPU - does a used logic board slow down with time or slow down from additional programs?

My question on the used logic board is not from complaint (I'm perfectly fine with a refurb) - just asking out of curiosity..
GrandPhrase is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 10:26 PM   #6
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
Lol about that MJ. I've read up on it and there are 2 theories on a used logic board/CPU,GPU - does a used logic board slow down with time or slow down from additional programs?

My question on the used logic board is not from complaint (I'm perfectly fine with a refurb) - just asking out of curiosity..

I don't think the components are breaking down rapidly. At least not enough for us to notice performance hits. The reason why I doubt it is because doing a 'Restore as New' clears up performance issues.


However I can't do that. My texts are too valuable. Lol.
__________________
"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me. ... Going to bed at night saying we've done something wonderful -- that's what matters to me." - Steve Jobs
mikeydeezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC