Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:31 PM   #1
Moazzam
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
iPhone 3Gs baseband update issue...

Hi guys kindly help me to solve this little problem
I have an iphone 3gs on ios 4.1 & BB 05.16.05.( I recently downgraded it from 5.1.1 to 4.1)... Know i'm thinking to upgrade it to 6.0.1 and jailbreak it tethered bcuz its a new bootrom I want to install the iPad's BB using redsnow...
Should I install the iPad's baseband before upgrading to ios 6.0.1 or do it after upgrading...?
Moazzam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:08 PM   #2
miragebg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
If your 3GS is newer batch from 2011, installing an iPad firmware will brick it almost for sure with no way back. Don't do it.
miragebg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:24 PM   #3
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Why do you want to install the ipad baseband on your 3GS?
Are you trying to unlock it?
Is your 3GS compatible with the ipad bb? If not you can fry it and ruin the phone.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:28 PM   #4
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Why do you want to install the ipad baseband on your 3GS?
Are you trying to unlock it?
Is your 3GS compatible with the ipad bb? If not you can fry it and ruin the phone.
I want to unlock it...
How to find that it is compatible with ipad bb?
Moazzam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:29 PM   #5
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moazzam View Post
I want to unlock it...
How to find that it is compatible with ipad bb?
Post the first 5 digits of your iphones serial number.
I'll let you know if it can be done or not.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:29 PM   #6
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by miragebg View Post
If your 3GS is newer batch from 2011, installing an iPad firmware will brick it almost for sure with no way back. Don't do it.
I dont know when it was batch i just want to unlock it... Is there any other way?
Moazzam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:17 AM   #7
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by applejuiced View Post
post the first 5 digits of your iphones serial number.
I'll let you know if it can be done or not.
840515
Moazzam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:37 AM   #8
hockeyman94
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: California
 
Smile iPhone IMEI unlocks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moazzam View Post
Hi guys kindly help me to solve this little problem
I have an iphone 3gs on ios 4.1 & BB 05.16.05.( I recently downgraded it from 5.1.1 to 4.1)... Know i'm thinking to upgrade it to 6.0.1 and jailbreak it tethered bcuz its a new bootrom I want to install the iPad's BB using redsnow...
Should I install the iPad's baseband before upgrading to ios 6.0.1 or do it after upgrading...?
I dont even mess around with baseband any more I bought the unlock on ebay here-
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sop=...rt=nc&LH_BIN=1

I would just use Unlock Fusion its $2.10 and takes a day
hockeyman94 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:51 AM   #9
b0bab0i
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeyman94 View Post
I dont even mess around with baseband any more I bought the unlock on ebay here-
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sop=...rt=nc&LH_BIN=1

I would just use Unlock Fusion its $2.10 and takes a day
+1

You should just do an unlock. People only installed iPad baseband before was because those factory unlocks weren't available. After AT&T started unlocking iPhones, theres no use for changing baseband anymore.
b0bab0i is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:05 PM   #10
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0bab0i View Post
+1

You should just do an unlock. People only installed iPad baseband before was because those factory unlocks weren't available. After AT&T started unlocking iPhones, theres no use for changing baseband anymore.
Ok. Thanks for ur advice.
I really didnt wanna do that...
Moazzam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:07 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moazzam View Post
840515
On that iphone 3GS yes you can install the ipad baseband to unlock.
But if its an AT&T iphone mind as well pay the $3-4 and have it factory IMEI unlocked.
Way better and less headaches.
Up to you.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 05:27 PM   #12
miragebg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Just keep in mind that installing iPad's baseband will screw the GPS module up and you won't be able to use it anymore.
miragebg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:44 PM   #13
hockeyman94
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: California
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moazzam View Post
Ok. Thanks for ur advice.
I really didnt wanna do that...
Why didnt you? its unlocked for life and the iphone has a better resale value
hockeyman94 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 12:27 AM   #14
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeyman94 View Post
Why didnt you? its unlocked for life and the iphone has a better resale value
I meant I donot want to install the iPad's baseband cuz i have read its disadvantages.
Moazzam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 12:54 AM   #15
Moazzam
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
On that iphone 3GS yes you can install the ipad baseband to unlock.
But if its an AT&T iphone mind as well pay the $3-4 and have it factory IMEI unlocked.
Way better and less headaches.
Up to you.
Ok. I'll prefer the factory unlock. Thanks for ypur advice bro.

----------

Thanks to all...
I really appreciate all of yours help
I'll do a factory unlock.
Moazzam is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How can I update a 3GS with iOS5.1 to 6.1 without upgrading the baseband? Alvi Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 35 Feb 19, 2013 02:19 PM
iPhone: Iphone 3GS Baseband Downgrade astray003 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 27 Jan 15, 2013 07:17 PM
iPhone 3GS baseband check gaboshenia Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 27 Jan 9, 2013 10:57 AM
iPhone: iPhone 3GS 4.1 Baseband 5.14.02 greygooseb Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Dec 17, 2012 07:07 AM
Iphone 3GS Ipad baseband ssmin iPhone 0 Jul 8, 2012 09:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC