iPhone 3Gs baseband update issue...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Moazzam, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys kindly help me to solve this little problem :)
    I have an iphone 3gs on ios 4.1 & BB 05.16.05.( I recently downgraded it from 5.1.1 to 4.1)... Know i'm thinking to upgrade it to 6.0.1 and jailbreak it tethered bcuz its a new bootrom :( I want to install the iPad's BB using redsnow...
    Should I install the iPad's baseband before upgrading to ios 6.0.1 or do it after upgrading...?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #2
    If your 3GS is newer batch from 2011, installing an iPad firmware will brick it almost for sure with no way back. Don't do it.
     
  3. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Why do you want to install the ipad baseband on your 3GS?
    Are you trying to unlock it?
    Is your 3GS compatible with the ipad bb? If not you can fry it and ruin the phone.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #4
    I want to unlock it...
    How to find that it is compatible with ipad bb?
     
  5. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Post the first 5 digits of your iphones serial number.
    I'll let you know if it can be done or not.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #6
    I dont know when it was batch :( i just want to unlock it... Is there any other way?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #7
    840515
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #8
    iPhone IMEI unlocks

    I dont even mess around with baseband any more I bought the unlock on ebay here-
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_sop...nkw=iphone+at&t+service+unlock&rt=nc&LH_BIN=1

    I would just use Unlock Fusion its $2.10 and takes a day
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #9
    +1

    You should just do an unlock. People only installed iPad baseband before was because those factory unlocks weren't available. After AT&T started unlocking iPhones, theres no use for changing baseband anymore.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #10
    Ok. Thanks for ur advice.
    I really didnt wanna do that...
     
  11. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    On that iphone 3GS yes you can install the ipad baseband to unlock.
    But if its an AT&T iphone mind as well pay the $3-4 and have it factory IMEI unlocked.
    Way better and less headaches.
    Up to you.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #12
    Just keep in mind that installing iPad's baseband will screw the GPS module up and you won't be able to use it anymore.
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #13
    Why didnt you? its unlocked for life and the iphone has a better resale value:apple:
     
  14. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #14
    I meant I donot want to install the iPad's baseband cuz i have read its disadvantages.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #15
    Ok. I'll prefer the factory unlock. Thanks for ypur advice bro.

    ----------

    Thanks to all...
    I really appreciate all of yours help :)
    I'll do a factory unlock.
     

Share This Page