Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:49 PM   #76
TigerClaw27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Anyone know if something similar to this would allow you to convert the SSD interface into a SATA port?

TigerClaw27 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 12:56 PM   #77
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerClaw27 View Post
Anyone know if something similar to this would allow you to convert the SSD interface into a SATA port?

Image
I dont think the connector for apple's blade ssd is msata but i could be wrong.
R.OG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:02 PM   #78
Fietsbel
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Thumbs up for opening your iMac!
Fietsbel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:05 PM   #79
photoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
This thread (R.OG's pics) made it onto Ars:

http://arstechnica.com/apple/2012/12...on-the-inside/

Was anyone aware of this? R.OG, were you contacted?
photoz is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:22 PM   #80
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post

The logic board has a normal sata data connector and a custom power connector.
Image
Image

----------

So it appears that a cable assembly is used between the motherboard SATA and power connectors and the hard disk drive (or IcyDock)? Is it a standard type of cable available for sale (it may not come with non-HD systems), or a custom cable? Photo of the cable assembly would be good.

Thanks....
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 01:31 PM   #81
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
I dont think the connector for apple's blade ssd is msata but i could be wrong.
It is not m-SATA. It's a propriety port and the only one selling something that will fit in there right now is OWC (besides Apple, of course).
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 02:59 PM   #82
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
So it appears that a cable assembly is used between the motherboard SATA and power connectors and the hard disk drive (or IcyDock)? Is it a standard type of cable available for sale (it may not come with non-HD systems), or a custom cable? Photo of the cable assembly would be good.

Thanks....
The sata power connector on the logic board is not standard, here are some pictures of the cable. Sorry, some of the pictures are out of focus.

SATA power cable which connects to logic board.

SATA data cable


Cable to the HD
R.OG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:03 PM   #83
Luap
macrumors 6502a
 
Luap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Well done R.OG! On occasion I like to take Macs apart, and upgrade them where possible too. In fact, if I remember rightly, my first posts here on MR concerned overclocking an eMac I had (It worked good too! And was done with warranty remaining ) So this is of huge interest, as im looking to upgrade from my 07 iMac to one of these new ones.

How is the CPU replacement going?
Also, is there much risk of the glass breaking when you are hacking your way through the tape? (come to think of it, is it actually glass? The panel on my 07 iMac is suspiciously light, and I wasn't entirely convinced it was really glass)
I'll probably get me a 21.5 and merely replace the main drive with an SSD.. Childs play!
Luap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:06 PM   #84
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
CPU Ugrade

The cpu was successfully upgraded to a 3770. My blade SSD should arrive tomorrow so i'll give you guys an update once it's installed.

R.OG is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:06 PM   #85
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
The sata power connector on the logic board is not standard, here are some pictures of the cable. Sorry, some of the pictures are out of focus.
Ahhhh .... thanks so much R.OG!

But I bet that cable isn't included if you bought the SSD only iMac. Hopefully it will be available for sale somewhere soon.


-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:19 PM   #86
TigerClaw27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hfg View Post
Ahhhh .... thanks so much R.OG!

But I bet that cable isn't included if you bought the SSD only iMac. Hopefully it will be available for sale somewhere soon.


-howard
The cable connects to the HDD so it will be in every iMac, correct me if I'm wrong, I just don't see how it wouldn't be. Also the fact that the power connector to the main board is non-standard means nothing since it connects to a standard powered SATA hard drive.
TigerClaw27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:24 PM   #87
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerClaw27 View Post
The cable connects to the HDD so it will be in every iMac, correct me if I'm wrong, I just don't see how it wouldn't be. Also the fact that the power connector to the main board is non-standard means nothing since it connects to a standard powered SATA hard drive.
I don't think it will be included in systems that where ordered with just the ssd

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luap View Post
How is the CPU replacement going?
Also, is there much risk of the glass breaking when you are hacking your way through the tape? (come to think of it, is it actually glass? The panel on my 07 iMac is suspiciously light, and I wasn't entirely convinced it was really glass)
I'll probably get me a 21.5 and merely replace the main drive with an SSD.. Childs play!
The cpu upgrade went well(see post above). The glass is very strong, it should not break or crack unless dropped.
R.OG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:36 PM   #88
Wedlock
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Great job on the teardown R.OG, much appriciated.
I was just wondering if you got the AHT message after the SSD install ?
__________________
Iphone 5 , 16GB ; Ipad 4, 16GB ; Mac Mini 2012 , i7 , 16GB , 128 GB SSD ; Imac 27" 2012 i5, 1 TB , 16GB (Coming Soon)
Wedlock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:37 PM   #89
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Is the HDD slot even empty in the SSD only model? I suspect that to get the 768GB SSD, they used a standard form factor, and left the proprietary slot empty. The highest capacity blade drive OWC offers is 480GB.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:46 PM   #90
TigerClaw27
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflowers View Post
Is the HDD slot even empty in the SSD only model? I suspect that to get the 768GB SSD, they used a standard form factor, and left the proprietary slot empty. The highest capacity blade drive OWC offers is 480GB.
I believe Apple has a 768GB SSD mini-board that they use in the retina MBPs. And R.OG is right, those will likely not have the cable.
TigerClaw27 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:55 PM   #91
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
The cpu was successfully upgraded to a 3770. My blade SSD should arrive tomorrow so i'll give you guys an update once it's installed.
What was your baseline on the stock CPU?
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:56 PM   #92
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
What was your baseline on the stock CPU?
i5 3470
R.OG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:57 PM   #93
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bflowers View Post
Is the HDD slot even empty in the SSD only model? I suspect that to get the 768GB SSD, they used a standard form factor, and left the proprietary slot empty. The highest capacity blade drive OWC offers is 480GB.
You could go with 512GB Apple/Samsung blade?

http://www.yourmacstore.com/samsung-...book-air-2012/
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:57 PM   #94
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerClaw27 View Post
I believe Apple has a 768GB SSD mini-board that they use in the retina MBPs. And R.OG is right, those will likely not have the cable.
You're right, I hadn't looked at the rMBP because I never had any interest in it. Funny, they only charge an extra $1,000 for that upgrade, but then it is an upgrade from another SSD and not a 1TB HDD.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:58 PM   #95
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Unlike the 21.5" the 27" passes AHT with a 3rd party SSD installed. This is also with the cpu upgrade.


Last edited by R.OG; Dec 14, 2012 at 04:11 PM.
R.OG is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 03:58 PM   #96
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
You could go with 512GB Apple/Samsung blade?

http://www.yourmacstore.com/samsung-...book-air-2012/
Good find. Hadn't seen that one since OWC seems to be the most popular place mentioned for the upgrades.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:01 PM   #97
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
i5 3470
Cool. So a good 54% boost. Nicely done.
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:06 PM   #98
Gelite55
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Exactly. I'd love the ability to do upgrades myself. To be honest it looks like you have to use quite a bit of force to even get to the RAM. Between the screen and the bottom lip and all that Jazz. Really is such a shame they did that with the 21.5". But my 8GB is doing me just fine. I also figure the savings between the entry level iMac and the topped out one are more than double. You can literally in a year sell your 2012 model and buy a new entry level iMac (2013's) for LESS money than a spec'ed out 2012.
Gelite55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:13 PM   #99
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
I don't think it will be included in systems that where ordered with just the ssd

----------



The cpu upgrade went well(see post above). The glass is very strong, it should not break or crack unless dropped.
Is there by chance a Apple Part Number on that disk drive cable?
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2012, 04:14 PM   #100
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
Cool. So a good 54% boost. Nicely done.
But not really worth it, right? It's a $200 upgrade from the i5 to the i7 from Apple, so.... I guess if you sold the old CPU? But then you'd have to hope if you had a warranty claim that Apple didn't notice the upgraded CPU. RAM and hard drives are one thing, but.. CPUs? Hmm... Reading back it looks like he had one lying around, so why not, eh?

Still, very awesome to be able to do this down the line if needed.

Waiting to hear on the definitive type of tape used to close this up so I can replace the internal disk at some point.

Was this a Samsung 830 128GB SSD in there? I'm very intrigued by your benchmark results. Your speeds look great. For reference, I tested several Thunderbolt enclosures and got 360/320 read/write using a 256GB Samsung 830. So it looks like you do get better speed using the internal connection, not that the average Joe (me included, I'd wager) could tell the difference between 430/310 and 360/320 on a day-to-day basis.

Great work, by the way, R.OG!
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com

Last edited by WilliamG; Dec 14, 2012 at 04:28 PM.
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't screenshot, open Skype, delete files, open itunes.... delab99 OS X 12 Dec 19, 2013 01:45 PM
Refurbished and open-box Macs after Xmas? dogen Buying Tips and Advice 1 Dec 16, 2013 01:21 PM
open a single mp3 track with quicktime while others open with itunes quickquestion Mac Basics and Help 2 Oct 22, 2013 12:33 AM
Why does Finder open so tiny how can I set it to open in bigger window? bobright OS X 2 May 6, 2013 12:17 PM
Macs binding to Open Directory twice lotsofjam OS X 0 Feb 4, 2013 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC