Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:40 PM   #1
gizmo84
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Samsung 840 Pro 256GB in Mac Mini 2012 Raid 0!

Single SSD


didn't see any threads like this. im going to put a 2nd drive in an do a software raid 0.

UPDATE: RAID 0 BENCHMARKS!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-18 at 9.55.55 PM.png
Views:	2334
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	384512   Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest5G.png
Views:	2343
Size:	737.3 KB
ID:	384513   Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTestraid5g.png
Views:	1817
Size:	736.1 KB
ID:	385075  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 5.51.06 PM.png
Views:	1751
Size:	142.9 KB
ID:	385076  

Last edited by gizmo84; Dec 21, 2012 at 05:01 PM.
gizmo84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:41 PM   #2
911scanner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
My write speed is just a smidge higher, read a smidge lower.

Frickin' fast SSD though!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest.png
Views:	34
Size:	736.9 KB
ID:	384627  
911scanner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:26 PM   #3
uncleMonty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
That is awesome, I have ordered two of these drives! I'll have to wait till after the holidays to install them both though. My data doubler kit has arrived and I'm itching to get to work.
uncleMonty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 10:56 PM   #4
August West
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Excellent! UPS just delivered my 256gb 840 Pro tonight and will be bringing my new 2.6 mini and 16gb of RAM tomorrow. Should add up to a reasonably quick machine I hope.
August West is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 11:05 PM   #5
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
They are a great drive, i have an 830 512GB to go in my 2012 iMac and will upgrade to a 840 Pro once they prove their reliability.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 11:21 PM   #6
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Looks like they are pretty consistent .... this is a Samsung 840 PRO 256GB on a Velocity Solo x2 PCIe card in a Mac Pro:



...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samsung840ProPci.png
Views:	33
Size:	735.8 KB
ID:	384693  
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:20 AM   #7
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
They are a great drive, i have an 830 512GB to go in my 2012 iMac and will upgrade to a 840 Pro once they prove their reliability.

If you believe in the reliability of the Samsung 830, then no reason to doubt the 840 Pro. Those initial issues with the drive were all pre-production versions and was fixed with new firmware before they were sold to the general public. I have no doubt the 840 Pro will be fine.
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:10 AM   #8
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
If you believe in the reliability of the Samsung 830, then no reason to doubt the 840 Pro. Those initial issues with the drive were all pre-production versions and was fixed with new firmware before they were sold to the general public. I have no doubt the 840 Pro will be fine.
You are probably right but ill give it 6 months before laying down my hard earned.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:28 AM   #9
propower
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have the 840 (non pro) in a fast USB3 enclosure and it is a great drive as well!

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1483374
__________________
2011 MBA 11", 1.7GHz i5, Mountain Lion
iphone5, ipad Rmini, Apple TV, 24" LED
Late 2013 27" imac, 3.5GHz i7, 256 SSD, GTX775M 2G
Blackmagic Multidock - PT11HD HD Native TB AVID 16x16
propower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:51 AM   #10
analogkid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah
If you raid ssd's you will lose trim passthrough. There is a workaround involving the paid software Softraid, but you can format a softraid volume with the free trial.
analogkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 08:55 AM   #11
analogkid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah
This is my Softraid volume with two 830's inside a 2011 Server.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest.png
Views:	37
Size:	353.3 KB
ID:	384770  
analogkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 09:28 AM   #12
gizmo84
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
i think the most annoying/difficult part of the install on the on the Mini is the metal antenna grade. it took me a few tries to get it to line up perfectly.
gizmo84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:00 PM   #13
gizmo84
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
see original post for raid 0 results
gizmo84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:07 PM   #14
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo84 View Post
see original post for raid 0 results
Very impressive numbers. How easy was it to set the dual 840 Pro drives in Raid 0?
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:18 PM   #15
gizmo84
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Extremely easy. click raid> select striped set> then drag the 2 drives over and click "create. after that it works great. installed ML in 8 minutes
gizmo84 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:22 PM   #16
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I hope to do something similar when the new Haswell mini comes out. So did you do the Raid 0 setup within disc utility or is it within some firmware from Samsung? I assume the firmware?
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:28 PM   #17
gizmo84
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53x12 View Post
I hope to do something similar when the new Haswell mini comes out. So did you do the Raid 0 setup within disc utility or is it within some firmware from Samsung? I assume the firmware?
its a software raid 0. did it with disk utility.
gizmo84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:04 PM   #18
53x12
macrumors 68000
 
53x12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
^ Thanks for answering my questions.

Now that you have the 840 Pro in Raid 0, I assume you will never be able to go back.
53x12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 06:10 PM   #19
Gav2k
macrumors 601
 
Gav2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Can u check the CPU utilisation during a benchmark??
Gav2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 07:28 AM   #20
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
I have always been told that raid 0 is fast, but extremely unreliable and prone to failure. I really want to build a machine with raid 0, but im really scared about the chance of failure. the few people ive talked to has said the chance is quite high. is that true?
__________________
A Mac.
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 07:55 AM   #21
chrfr
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
I have always been told that raid 0 is fast, but extremely unreliable and prone to failure. I really want to build a machine with raid 0, but im really scared about the chance of failure. the few people ive talked to has said the chance is quite high. is that true?
Odds of failure are double that of a single drive. If either disk/SSD fails, all your data is lost.
chrfr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 10:19 AM   #22
analogkid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Savannah
Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo84 View Post
Extremely easy. click raid> select striped set> then drag the 2 drives over and click "create. after that it works great. installed ML in 8 minutes

And lose Trim in the process.. It's a fairly important function, but maybe when your volume degrades you can pull it apart, trim it, put it back together and then restore your data.
analogkid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 01:22 PM   #23
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
I have always been told that raid 0 is fast, but extremely unreliable and prone to failure. I really want to build a machine with raid 0, but im really scared about the chance of failure. the few people ive talked to has said the chance is quite high. is that true?
Well, the first part is right ... they are quite fast!

And, while statistically they are more prone to failure, drive failures don't happen often to any single user. Whether a single drive or a pair of RAID drives, any failure can and must be mitigated by a good backup strategy.

Since you are keeping a backup (just do it) ... I wouldn't worry about a RAID-0 failure.

I have been running RAID-0 arrays for years with both disks and SSDs with excellent results and no failures. I do keep an automatic backup to be prepared.
hfg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:22 PM   #24
gizmo84
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by analogkid View Post
And lose Trim in the process.. It's a fairly important function, but maybe when your volume degrades you can pull it apart, trim it, put it back together and then restore your data.
I used trim enabler. Says its working. I'll use terminal to check if its actually working later.
gizmo84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 03:39 PM   #25
August West
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
My Mini, RAM and 840 Pro arrived and everything is up and running. Other than struggling forever to get the antenna grid aligned and screwed down and not getting the RAM firmly seated the first time around all went well. Another satisfied customer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samsung 840 Pro.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	108.6 KB
ID:	385221  
August West is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Mini 2012: Samsung 840 SSD Marvin16 Mac mini 17 Aug 21, 2013 11:37 AM
Samsung 840 ssd vs 840 pro series macbook pro mid 2012 alexistkd MacBook Pro 14 Jun 20, 2013 01:36 AM
2012 mac mini (i5 w/ samsung 840 pro SSD) wont sleep TheReef510 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jun 1, 2013 07:22 PM
Samsung 840 Pro 256gb SSD - Amazing Tom Sawyer Mac Peripherals 12 Apr 24, 2013 04:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC