Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:30 AM   #1
bobright
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Is there any way I can set certain programs to launch when my iMac boots?

I want to for example have the app MenuTunes automatically start when I boot up...as the first thing I usually get on is iTunes. Is that possible?
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:33 AM   #2
jido
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I want to for example have the app MenuTunes automatically start when I boot up...as the first thing I usually get on is iTunes. Is that possible?
When you boot, not easily but when you login you can. Go in System Preferences, Accounts and check the Login Options.

By the way try the Help menu of your Mac, you can generally find what you want.
jido is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:34 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I want to for example have the app MenuTunes automatically start when I boot up...as the first thing I usually get on is iTunes. Is that possible?
Users and Groups, then click Login Items, click add-+.
justperry is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:51 AM   #4
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jido View Post
When you boot, not easily but when you login you can. Go in System Preferences, Accounts and check the Login Options.

By the way try the Help menu of your Mac, you can generally find what you want.
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Users and Groups, then click Login Items, click add-+.
It is weird when I click the Login Options and hit "+" it doesnt let me add apps it just wants to create another user
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:58 AM   #5
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
you clicking the wrong plus sign then its the one on the right



__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:03 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
It is weird when I click the Login Options and hit "+" it doesnt let me add apps it just wants to create another user
And you have to click the padlock first to unlock, if it is locked.
justperry is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:22 AM   #7
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
you clicking the wrong plus sign then its the one on the right



Image
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
And you have to click the padlock first to unlock, if it is locked.
Ahh ok yeah the first post said to look for Login Options its items have just unlocked it right on. I notice Better Touch Tool doesnt start up and my gestures dont work after a reboot, would it be a good idea to add it here? I dont think there are any options within the app that will auto start on a reboot havent seen any. So I will probably do that.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:36 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Ahh ok yeah the first post said to look for Login Options its items have just unlocked it right on. I notice Better Touch Tool doesnt start up and my gestures dont work after a reboot, would it be a good idea to add it here? I dont think there are any options within the app that will auto start on a reboot havent seen any. So I will probably do that.
I don't know Better Touch Tool, if it needs to be there at startup the Developers would have added support for this with a kernel extension/startup item/LaunchAgent/LaunchDeamon.
If this is the case there might be settings somewhere like in System Preferences.

But, why do you need MultiTouch before Login, it is not needed at all.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:53 AM   #9
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I don't know Better Touch Tool, if it needs to be there at startup the Developers would have added support for this with a kernel extension/startup item/LaunchAgent/LaunchDeamon.
If this is the case there might be settings somewhere like in System Preferences.

But, why do you need MultiTouch before Login, it is not needed at all.
I want it so I don't have to open it every time I restart. I use the bottom-left or right tap to get between tabs in Chrome and four-finger click to close an app etc.. It'd be nice if it would just be in effect right away instead of having to launch the app but maybe its not intended by the devs to boot up with your Mac?! Does that make sense what I'm saying?
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:57 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I want it so I don't have to open it every time I restart. I use the bottom-left or right tap to get between tabs in Chrome and four-finger click to close an app etc.. It'd be nice if it would just be in effect right away instead of having to launch the app but maybe its not intended by the devs to boot up with your Mac?!
If you want it to start at login then the procedure above will do.

No need for it to start at boot.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:10 AM   #11
KaraH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DC
If you want a more complex answer you can do it via automator then have the result either be a script that gets launched as above or put it on the calendar as a daily repeating action for a certain time.

I tend to do that because I like to give my mac a minute before launching big apps (like a web browser) to make sure everything is loaded first. Then space out each launch by, oh, a minute so I do not run into things like my web browser failing to load web pages because calibre is doing it's thing at the same exact time.

Of course, your results may vary. My computer wakes up before I do so I find this a handy way to get things ready for me without having to worry at a screen of 404 errors.
__________________
through the years: Apple ][ eventually upgraded to a //e (and it never really died), Centris 660AV, PowerMac 7600, Macbook, iPod 5G, eMac, a couple of aluminium iMacs, STILL hoping for a 2013 MP
KaraH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:10 AM   #12
LachlanH
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Couldn't you just add it to your dock then right click and go 'open at login'?
LachlanH is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:18 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraH View Post
If you want a more complex answer you can do it via automator then have the result either be a script that gets launched as above or put it on the calendar as a daily repeating action for a certain time.

I tend to do that because I like to give my mac a minute before launching big apps (like a web browser) to make sure everything is loaded first. Then space out each launch by, oh, a minute so I do not run into things like my web browser failing to load web pages because calibre is doing it's thing at the same exact time.

Of course, your results may vary. My computer wakes up before I do so I find this a handy way to get things ready for me without having to worry at a screen of 404 errors.
Why make it more difficult than it should be, for what he wants Login Items is the easiest and best way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LachlanH View Post
Couldn't you just add it to your dock then right click and go 'open at login'?
Again, Login Items is easier.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:22 AM   #14
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post


Again, Login Items is easier.
No right clicking on the app and selecting "open at login" is the easiest way imo.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:25 AM   #15
BSoares
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by LachlanH View Post
Couldn't you just add it to your dock then right click and go 'open at login'?
This. That's the easiest way I know as well.
BSoares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:33 AM   #16
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Is there a way I can do the oppoisite ^^

I have a Virgin broadband backup software which starts on startup , theres no option in the software itself and I have de-selected the entry from the systems login options etc all the normal steps advised to stop it from starting up but it still does.
Often it hangs and causes a slower boot up, I dont wish for it to be running unless I tell it too. Is there any other way or terminal command or something I can force it to stop loading up upon log in.

thanks
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:34 AM   #17
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraH View Post
If you want a more complex answer you can do it via automator then have the result either be a script that gets launched as above or put it on the calendar as a daily repeating action for a certain time.

I tend to do that because I like to give my mac a minute before launching big apps (like a web browser) to make sure everything is loaded first. Then space out each launch by, oh, a minute so I do not run into things like my web browser failing to load web pages because calibre is doing it's thing at the same exact time.

Of course, your results may vary. My computer wakes up before I do so I find this a handy way to get things ready for me without having to worry at a screen of 404 errors.
I appreciate the suggestion but yeah I'll try the other options just reading this reminds me of being on my PC and doing too much work don't want to go back there

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
If you want it to start at login then the procedure above will do.

No need for it to start at boot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
No right clicking on the app and selecting "open at login" is the easiest way imo.
Nice, both sound good

For these that use BetterTouchTool is this what you guys do or do you just launch it every time?

Last edited by bobright; Dec 19, 2012 at 05:39 AM.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:42 AM   #18
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
No right clicking on the app and selecting "open at login" is the easiest way imo.
Isn't that the same
Not on My system (10.5.8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
Is there a way I can do the oppoisite ^^

I have a Virgin broadband backup software which starts on startup , theres no option in the software itself and I have de-selected the entry from the systems login options etc all the normal steps advised to stop it from starting up but it still does.
Often it hangs and causes a slower boot up, I dont wish for it to be running unless I tell it too. Is there any other way or terminal command or something I can force it to stop loading up upon log in.

thanks
You probably have LaunchAgents/LaunchDeamons or Startup Items in their respective folder in:

/Library/LaunchAgents

/Library/LaunchDeamons

/Library/StartupItems

If you have trouble finding these report, these are not visible folders since Lion I think.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:44 AM   #19
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Isn't that the same
Not on My system (10.5.8)



You probably have LaunchAgents/LaunchDeamons or Startup Items in their respective folder in:

/Library/LaunchAgents

/Library/LaunchDeamons

/Library/StartupItems

If you have trouble finding these report, these are not visible folders since Lion I think.
thanks! will check it out.
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 07:07 AM   #20
KaraH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Why make it more difficult than it should be, for what he wants Login Items is the easiest and best way.



Again, Login Items is easier.
True, I do both. Some items I toss in login items. Other items that either do not play well with others, I want launched in a specific order, or I want to add a bit of logic to I do with that timed script.

Well, it could have been worse. I could have suggested adding them to the crontab.
__________________
through the years: Apple ][ eventually upgraded to a //e (and it never really died), Centris 660AV, PowerMac 7600, Macbook, iPod 5G, eMac, a couple of aluminium iMacs, STILL hoping for a 2013 MP
KaraH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 10:23 PM   #21
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Users and Groups, then click Login Items, click add-+.
Perry,

Do you know why it works and at times it doesnt? I've done the listed things here but it works and at times it doesn't. I had to go and manually launch the program a couple times already. It's pretty frustrating not sure why this is happening.

Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
No right clicking on the app and selecting "open at login" is the easiest way imo.
Is this method any different? I tried the right click and it doesnt show "open at login" for me
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 10:33 PM   #22
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Perry,

Do you know why it works and at times it doesnt? I've done the listed things here but it works and at times it doesn't. I had to go and manually launch the program a couple times already. It's pretty frustrating not sure why this is happening.


Is this method any different? I tried the right click and it doesnt show "open at login" for me
If it is in Login Items it should always work, I never had any problems but I think this might be a problem with the Application which you added crashing.

You should look into the crash logs, look if the App you added crashed.

I don't have Lion nor Mountain Lion but it should be exactly the same, just try on an Application and look if it is added to your Login Items, if so you know it is the same.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 10:42 PM   #23
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
If it is in Login Items it should always work, I never had any problems but I think this might be a problem with the Application which you added crashing.

You should look into the crash logs, look if the App you added crashed.

I don't have Lion nor Mountain Lion but it should be exactly the same, just try on an Application and look if it is added to your Login Items, if so you know it is the same.
Yeah figured that, probably is just the app crashing.
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 01:42 AM   #24
e271
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
Ahh ok yeah the first post said to look for Login Options its items have just unlocked it right on. I notice Better Touch Tool doesnt start up and my gestures dont work after a reboot, would it be a good idea to add it here? I dont think there are any options within the app that will auto start on a reboot havent seen any. So I will probably do that.
The solution is given here:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...04&postcount=6
e271 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 02:29 AM   #25
bobright
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by e271 View Post
Awesome going to give this a shot. Thanks e!
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC