Is there any way I can set certain programs to launch when my iMac boots?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bobright, Dec 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    I want to for example have the app MenuTunes automatically start when I boot up...as the first thing I usually get on is iTunes. Is that possible?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #2
    When you boot, not easily but when you login you can. Go in System Preferences, Accounts and check the Login Options.

    By the way try the Help menu of your Mac, you can generally find what you want.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #3
    Users and Groups, then click Login Items, click add-+.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    It is weird when I click the Login Options and hit "+" it doesnt let me add apps it just wants to create another user
     
  5. macrumors regular

    NVRENUF!

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    PERTH, Australia
    #5
    you clicking the wrong plus sign then its the one on the right



    [​IMG]
     
  6. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #6
    And you have to click the padlock first to unlock, if it is locked.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #7
    Ahh ok yeah the first post said to look for Login Options its items have just unlocked it right on. I notice Better Touch Tool doesnt start up and my gestures dont work after a reboot, would it be a good idea to add it here? I dont think there are any options within the app that will auto start on a reboot havent seen any. So I will probably do that.
     
  8. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #8
    I don't know Better Touch Tool, if it needs to be there at startup the Developers would have added support for this with a kernel extension/startup item/LaunchAgent/LaunchDeamon.
    If this is the case there might be settings somewhere like in System Preferences.

    But, why do you need MultiTouch before Login, it is not needed at all.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #9
    I want it so I don't have to open it every time I restart. I use the bottom-left or right tap to get between tabs in Chrome and four-finger click to close an app etc.. It'd be nice if it would just be in effect right away instead of having to launch the app but maybe its not intended by the devs to boot up with your Mac?! Does that make sense what I'm saying?
     
  10. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #10
    If you want it to start at login then the procedure above will do.

    No need for it to start at boot.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Location:
    DC
    #11
    If you want a more complex answer you can do it via automator then have the result either be a script that gets launched as above or put it on the calendar as a daily repeating action for a certain time.

    I tend to do that because I like to give my mac a minute before launching big apps (like a web browser) to make sure everything is loaded first. Then space out each launch by, oh, a minute so I do not run into things like my web browser failing to load web pages because calibre is doing it's thing at the same exact time.

    Of course, your results may vary. My computer wakes up before I do so I find this a handy way to get things ready for me without having to worry at a screen of 404 errors.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #12
    Couldn't you just add it to your dock then right click and go 'open at login'?
     
  13. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #13
    Why make it more difficult than it should be, for what he wants Login Items is the easiest and best way.

    Again, Login Items is easier.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #14
    No right clicking on the app and selecting "open at login" is the easiest way imo. ;)
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    This. That's the easiest way I know as well.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #16
    Is there a way I can do the oppoisite ^^

    I have a Virgin broadband backup software which starts on startup , theres no option in the software itself and I have de-selected the entry from the systems login options etc all the normal steps advised to stop it from starting up but it still does.
    Often it hangs and causes a slower boot up, I dont wish for it to be running unless I tell it too. Is there any other way or terminal command or something I can force it to stop loading up upon log in.

    thanks
     
  17. bobright, Dec 19, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #17
    I appreciate the suggestion but yeah I'll try the other options just reading this reminds me of being on my PC and doing too much work don't want to go back there

    Nice, both sound good:)

    For these that use BetterTouchTool is this what you guys do or do you just launch it every time?
     
  18. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #18
    Isn't that the same;)
    Not on My system (10.5.8) ;)

    You probably have LaunchAgents/LaunchDeamons or Startup Items in their respective folder in:

    /Library/LaunchAgents

    /Library/LaunchDeamons

    /Library/StartupItems

    If you have trouble finding these report, these are not visible folders since Lion I think.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #19
    thanks! will check it out.
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    Location:
    DC
    #20
    True, I do both. Some items I toss in login items. Other items that either do not play well with others, I want launched in a specific order, or I want to add a bit of logic to I do with that timed script.

    Well, it could have been worse. I could have suggested adding them to the crontab. :)
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #21
    Perry,

    Do you know why it works and at times it doesnt? I've done the listed things here but it works and at times it doesn't. I had to go and manually launch the program a couple times already. It's pretty frustrating not sure why this is happening.

    Is this method any different? I tried the right click and it doesnt show "open at login" for me:(
     
  22. macrumors 603

    justperry

    #22
    If it is in Login Items it should always work, I never had any problems but I think this might be a problem with the Application which you added crashing.

    You should look into the crash logs, look if the App you added crashed.

    I don't have Lion nor Mountain Lion but it should be exactly the same, just try on an Application and look if it is added to your Login Items, if so you know it is the same.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #23
    Yeah figured that, probably is just the app crashing. :mad:
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    #24
    The solution is given here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=15165604&postcount=6
     
  25. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #25

Share This Page