Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

View Poll Results: Which looks better
iMac + 2x Thunderbolt 21 51.22%
Mac Pro + 3x Thunderbolt 20 48.78%
Voters: 41. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:49 PM   #1
badman89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Triple Monitor Setup

Check out this triple monitor set up. I want this so bad! My question:

iMac (27") + 2x Thunderbolt Display (27")

OR

Mac Mini + 3x Thunderbolt Display (27")

Basically I need to know if I can put a thunderbolt display on either side of the iMac and it will all line up properly (unlike in the picture with the Dell displays).

Last edited by badman89; Dec 19, 2012 at 05:10 PM.
badman89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:58 PM   #2
MeFromHere
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by badman89 View Post
Check out this triple monitor set up. I want this so bad! My question:

iMac (27") + 2x Thunderbolt Display (27")

OR

Mac Pro + 3x Thunderbolt Display (27")

Basically I need to know if I can put a thunderbolt display on either side of the iMac and it will all line up properly (unlike in the picture with the Dell displays).
The iMac won't line up properly with the thunderbolt display. I think this was a bad idea on Apple's part.
MeFromHere is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:59 PM   #3
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
2012 27" has two Thunderbolt/mDP ports. The Dells used are U3011 (30" 2560x1600). You can use the Dell U2711 (27" 2560x1440 like the 2012 27" iMac).
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:07 PM   #4
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
it is a real shame that the imac does not properly line up with the thunderbolt displays .. just makes it look weird. I want to run a triple monitor setup as well but it just doesnt look right doing it with the iMac
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:11 PM   #5
badman89
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Sorry, I meant mac mini, not mac pro.

Is it possible to connect three displays to the mac mini? Would I be able to watch a movie spanning all three?
badman89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:14 PM   #6
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
i think it would
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:37 PM   #7
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
here is my setup... only one TB display and a samsung display/TV on the other side (I'd like another TB, but just can't justify another grand!)

looking into options to raise the TB and samsung to make them level with the iMac, but it's ok for now

one of the best parts of this thin iMac, even though it's just the edges, is that the edge of the TB display fits right behind it at the angle I'm using, cutting the amount of bezel between displays in half
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imac-2012-19.jpg
Views:	473
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	384634  
mchoffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 05:55 PM   #8
Zandros
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by badman89 View Post
Sorry, I meant mac mini, not mac pro.

Is it possible to connect three displays to the mac mini? Would I be able to watch a movie spanning all three?
Nope (unless you have last year's midrange model with the AMD GPU).

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219#dispnum
Zandros is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 06:08 PM   #9
Jazwire
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
My desk is messy atm or I'd take a picture.

But I have 2 - 27" iMacs (2012/2011) w/ a 27" thunderbolt display hooked to the 2012 iMac.


I use a free program called Synergy, so I only use 1 keyboard and mouse. My mouse moves over to my bootcamp machine just like the dual screen, its rather amazing, seamless and fluid everything flows. I just can't drag anything over the the Windows machine of course.

You would never know I am running Windows on 1 screen if you didn't see the little Start Icon and quickbar on the bottom. Quite impressed how it looks and works.

I wasn't really aware till recently that you could move so seamlessly between two different computers and OS's. But in the end this works out perfectly for me as I do need Windows/Parallels for work stuff.

I was going to originally get another thunderbolt display and sell the 2011, but for me this is absolutely a perfect set up.

Also, triple monitor backgrounds are so fun, and look so cool too.
__________________
|| 27" iMac i7-3.4, 32 GB, 3TB Fusion, Nvidia 680MX 2GB w/ 27" TB Display (Dual Mon) ||
Macbook Air 11" i7, 8GB, 256GB || 15" MacBook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB, 512GB||
Jazwire is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:21 AM   #10
badman89
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchoffa View Post
here is my setup... only one TB display and a samsung display/TV on the other side (I'd like another TB, but just can't justify another grand!)

looking into options to raise the TB and samsung to make them level with the iMac, but it's ok for now

one of the best parts of this thin iMac, even though it's just the edges, is that the edge of the TB display fits right behind it at the angle I'm using, cutting the amount of bezel between displays in half
Thank you so much for your response. However, your picture is rather disappointing to me - as it shows that the Thunderbold Display and iMac display are misaligned!

When you say that you're trying to raise the TB what exactly do you mean? Is the height adjustable? Or are you just thinking of putting something below the base?
badman89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:39 AM   #11
Penn Jennings
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by badman89 View Post
Check out this triple monitor set up. I want this so bad! My question:

iMac (27") + 2x Thunderbolt Display (27")

OR

Mac Mini + 3x Thunderbolt Display (27")

Basically I need to know if I can put a thunderbolt display on either side of the iMac and it will all line up properly (unlike in the picture with the Dell displays).
3 x Thunderbolt Displays... 3 x 2560x1440.. 11,059,200 pixels... driven by an Intel HD 4000 integrated GPU?

I'll be honest, I have ZERO experience with that arrangement but it sure sounds like a bad idea if you can even get 3 displays to work. I thought the limit was 2 but again, I'm not sure.
Penn Jennings is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 05:53 AM   #12
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by badman89 View Post
Thank you so much for your response. However, your picture is rather disappointing to me - as it shows that the Thunderbold Display and iMac display are misaligned!

When you say that you're trying to raise the TB what exactly do you mean? Is the height adjustable? Or are you just thinking of putting something below the base?
putting something below the base... see this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1242827

the OP has a stand for his that looks like what I might get. perfect spot to slide the iPad under too
mchoffa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 12:54 PM   #13
bill phillips
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
aligning the imac with tb displays

ok guys heres what you do, I have the same setup, 2 tb displays and a 2011 imac, (waiting on my new 27 now, which apparently isnt vesa compatable) and for the longest time i looked into options for aligning the three...and heres what i came up with, I bought 3 independent mounting arms (erogtech 7500 hd to be exact) vesa mounted all three and it works awesome.

What your going to have to do if you got the new iMac is use two mounting arms for the two outside tb displays and use them to raise them up to align with the imac which you'll just leave on its stand. Well this is what ill do anyway..or if your not running some type of eyefinity setup,and you dont want to spend the money just leave it alone, they look fine next to eachother, it really doesn't matter as each screen is independent anyway... hope this helps
bill phillips is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:24 PM   #14
henrikrox
macrumors 65816
 
henrikrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Problem solved

I use 2 of these with my thunderbolt displays to align them with the imac

http://www.twelvesouth.com/products/hirise_imac/
henrikrox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:41 PM   #15
photoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrikrox View Post
Problem solved

I use 2 of these with my thunderbolt displays to align them with the imac

http://www.twelvesouth.com/products/hirise_imac/
Good lord, $80!!
Did their raw materials get sourced from the space shuttle??
photoz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 01:49 PM   #16
bill phillips
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
or you could use the 12 south high rise absolutely. Its definately the cheapest way to go aside from propping something underneath it...I personally just didnt like the way it looked at all..I like the imac stand the way it is originally..imho
bill phillips is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 02:10 PM   #17
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
yea the highrise is an option but it just looks kinda weird from the front
__________________
Bunch of Apple products
jetjaguar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 11:58 AM   #18
Outrigger
macrumors 65816
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchoffa View Post
here is my setup... only one TB display and a samsung display/TV on the other side (I'd like another TB, but just can't justify another grand!)

looking into options to raise the TB and samsung to make them level with the iMac, but it's ok for now

one of the best parts of this thin iMac, even though it's just the edges, is that the edge of the TB display fits right behind it at the angle I'm using, cutting the amount of bezel between displays in half
How did you connect the TB to the imac? Can you use the existing built in cable from the TB to the imac or you have purchase a standalone cable?
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:40 PM   #19
ste0803
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gateshead//Newcastle/UK
Am i the only one who has thought of buying a 27" imac for the main unit & 2 further (even older) imac's for target display mode for the 2 other screens?

granted isn't a cheap option but would look even.

would mean they all look the same and are all the same height and resolution.

Ste0803
ste0803 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 02:19 PM   #20
showtime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by badman89 View Post
Sorry, I meant mac mini, not mac pro.

Is it possible to connect three displays to the mac mini? Would I be able to watch a movie spanning all three?
The Mid 2011 mini with AMD graphics and Late 2012 mini can do 3 monitors but only a maximum of 2 Thunderbolt Displays. The 3rd monitor must be connected via HDMI.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?v...=en_US#dispnum
showtime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:05 PM   #21
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outrigger View Post
How did you connect the TB to the imac? Can you use the existing built in cable from the TB to the imac or you have purchase a standalone cable?
the TB cable on the TB display is plugged into one TB port on the iMac and an MDP to HDMI adapter is plugged into the other. For some reason I couldn't daisy chain iMac > TB display > HDMI, the HDMI display just didn't show anything
mchoffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2012, 07:17 PM   #22
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Why not buy two thunderbolt displays with new iMac and then pickup two VESA mount kit and two floating arm VESA stands. That would be a nice setup. You could line it up just right and the two side monitors would look like they are floating. You would be looking at about 2500 out the door
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 12:50 AM   #23
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
I don't believe Mac Mini can do 3 thunderbolt displays. You can max run two of the thunderbolt port. A third would need some sort of hdmi to mini display port adapter and even then I think max it can only do 1080p natively, otherwise you have to SwitchResX and force at 40Hz. Not totally sure.

Read Here
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4Ghz, 32GB, 1TB fusion, 675MX
Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro, 2.2Ghz, 16GB, 250GB SSD
iPhone 5 Black 32GB; iPad 4 Black 32GB
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 05:34 AM   #24
Omne666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arman View Post
I don't believe Mac Mini can do 3 thunderbolt displays. You can max run two of the thunderbolt port. A third would need some sort of hdmi to mini display port adapter and even then I think max it can only do 1080p natively, otherwise you have to SwitchResX and force at 40Hz. Not totally sure.

Read Here
I thought with thunderbolts u-buet chaining we could have 10(?) devices from the one port?
Of course, that's not saying that the Mac mini video has the grunt to run more then 2 displays, but just a comment regarding the selling speal about thunderbolt.
__________________
One of everything. Don't forget the fries.
Omne666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:53 AM   #25
GermanyChris
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Here
Quote:
Originally Posted by photoz View Post
Good lord, $80!!
Did their raw materials get sourced from the space shuttle??
It's twelve south..
GermanyChris is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC