Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 03:33 PM   #1
jbrown
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Setting up me new iPad

Just got and iPad3 for Xmas - and wondering about setting it up. Can I just restore aback up of my iPhone 5, so they are running the same?
Cheers
jbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:56 PM   #2
iBreatheApple
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
No. And why would you want them identical? To each his own, I guess...
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:14 PM   #3
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
No. The best you can do is download each individual app and email all spendable files over to it.

I would not advise making them identical, the ipad should be used for tasks that fit it better and the same for the iPhone, if not you wasted your money.
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 11:53 PM   #4
SnowLeopard OSX
macrumors 6502a
 
SnowLeopard OSX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown View Post
Just got and iPad3 for Xmas - and wondering about setting it up. Can I just restore aback up of my iPhone 5, so they are running the same?
Cheers
If you're going to sync apps -- make sure they're compatible for both the iPad and the iPhone.
__________________
iPad |4th gen Black/ 32GB/ iOS 8.0
iMac |G4 1.0 GHz/ 1.25 GHz PPCG4 (7445)
iPod |Classic Black/ 80GB|U2 edition 20GB
iPhone |4S White/16GB/ iOS 7.0|3G White/16GB iOS 8.0
SnowLeopard OSX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:45 AM   #5
jbrown
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
I want to have it as my phone for work reasons ( having all my settings / apps / photos etc ) I can diversify then at my leisure.

How do I check if my apps are iPad friendly?

Cheers
jbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 08:53 AM   #6
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbrown View Post
I want to have it as my phone for work reasons ( having all my settings / apps / photos etc ) I can diversify then at my leisure.

How do I check if my apps are iPad friendly?

Cheers
You can restore from an iPhone backup, most apps should sync fine, but remember the iPhone only ones will look smaller on the iPad. Certain apps like Whatsapp messenger or Viber wont sync to the iPad. Most should
__________________
W2P KLD talking...what's your handle, WR2 GFO?
Defender2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 09:26 AM   #7
jbrown
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Thanks
jbrown is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up iPad for University rctlr iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 9 May 18, 2014 11:43 AM
Setting up an iPad as a gift aquaboy iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Dec 11, 2012 03:25 PM
Setting up an iPad berthenderson iPad 0 Aug 24, 2012 01:57 PM
Setting up new iPad Trix10 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Jul 29, 2012 05:47 PM
Setting Caller ID on iPad iMessages bgro iOS 6 43 Jun 17, 2012 03:19 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC