Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Kaligor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Please help me (problems with iTerm)

I know it might sound stupid but 85% of the reason I spent my entire sallory on a mac was because of iTerm2!.
I simply loved this little application it was the best terminal i've ever seen.
I tried kitty,putty and several others for my win computers but none matched.

The only thing that might of been as good with background picture etc was A-term i installed cgywin but I gave on on trying to load Aterm I bought a mac instead.! So behold here it is on christmas. And everything is wonderful with it BUT with iTerm2 the application I loved so much I cannot use alt-arrow to switch windows.

I basically have to type /join #mac to swap to that window. This has made my christmas so disapointing. Please macfreaks and mac guros. Will you help me? . I am willing to paypal 50 bucks to whoever comes up with the soloution but I hope you will do it out of love .
It works fine on my dads iMac 2 meters from me. But not here! oh no.
More info? I have 10.6.8 So does he

Modellnamn: iMac
Modellidentifierare: iMac12,1
Processornamn: Intel Core i5
Processorhastighet: 2,5 GHz
Antal processorer: 1
Totalt antal kärnor: 4
L2-cache (per kärna): 256 K
L3-cache: 6 MB
Minne: 12 GB.

Can anyone please PLEASE help me .

Last edited by Kaligor; Dec 24, 2012 at 06:34 PM.
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 06:59 AM   #2
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Further information is that NO terminal can cycle windows , tried Iterm,Iterm2,AquaTherm,X11,TotalTerm,Mac os own term
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:09 AM   #3
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
Further information is that NO terminal can cycle windows , tried Iterm,Iterm2,AquaTherm,X11,TotalTerm,Mac os own term
Command- arrow left or Command- arrow right maybe?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:40 AM   #4
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Command- arrow left or Command- arrow right maybe?

No setting a key for instance command F. Does nothing , and since this is like a System problem and not a terminal problem, I was wondering does mac os have like a common pref for all terminals?. I have not used mac since mac os 9 SO i have no idea
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:00 AM   #5
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
No setting a key for instance command F. Does nothing , and since this is like a System problem and not a terminal problem, I was wondering does mac os have like a common pref for all terminals?. I have not used mac since mac os 9 SO i have no idea
I had iTerm 0.1 but downloaded 2.0

You can cycle windows by their number with Command-Option-number key
Or you can work with tabs and then it's Command-number key or Command left or right key.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 08:27 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
And another one, easier.

Command -`
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:08 AM   #7
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
I cannot use alt-arrow to switch windows.
command ~

works fine for me with iTerm2 Build 1.0.0.20121224
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:17 AM   #8
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
command ~

works fine for me with iTerm2 Build 1.0.0.20121224
That's not ~ key as far as I know, it is a ` so Command - `

The lower one is normally used and with the Shift key the upper one is used.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Keyboard ~`.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	8.1 KB
ID:	386546  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:31 AM   #9
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
That's not ~ key as far as I know, it is a ` so Command - `

The lower one is normally used and with the Shift key the upper one is used.
Sorry, I misread your post as command -

In any case, the user can cycle in two directions:

In the application's Window menu we see

Previous Terminal ⌘`
Next Terminal ⌘~
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:41 AM   #10
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Sorry, I misread your post as command -

In any case, the user can cycle in two directions:

In the application's Window menu we see

Previous Terminal ⌘`
Next Terminal ⌘~

Not in my Menu, but I am on 10.5.8
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 6.png
Views:	0
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	386547  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:48 AM   #11
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Not in my Menu, but I am on 10.5.8
Sorry, I was referring to iTerm2, not Apple's Terminal.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:54 AM   #12
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Sorry, I was referring to iTerm2, not Apple's Terminal.
Yeah, my bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 7.png
Views:	0
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	386549  
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:31 AM   #13
Kaligor
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
´must be .
Kaligor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 12:43 AM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaligor View Post
´must be .
So, it is solved?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC