Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:52 AM   #1
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Can I enable trim on raid 0 ssds?

See title
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 02:01 PM   #2
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Yes, if software RAID then TRIM can work.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 05:45 PM   #3
SDAVE
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
Yes, if software RAID then TRIM can work.
Thanks! I was reading conflicting statements here on the forum. It is a software raid.

Is it safe to turn it on right now? They are 2x80GB Intel X-25M (Kind of oldish, but they're super fast). So far the speeds haven't dropped off and was wondering if even trim is worth it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-26 at 3.44.50 PM.png
Views:	23
Size:	903.6 KB
ID:	385957  
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:09 PM   #4
saulinpa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
One thing I've tried as a compromise is to boot to a 10.8 disk that has TRIM enabled and then do a Disk Utility repair on the SSDs. That "trims" unused blocks. Figure that would work since Intel's PC software for XP defaults to once a week for those old disks.
saulinpa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:48 PM   #5
SDAVE
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by saulinpa View Post
One thing I've tried as a compromise is to boot to a 10.8 disk that has TRIM enabled and then do a Disk Utility repair on the SSDs. That "trims" unused blocks. Figure that would work since Intel's PC software for XP defaults to once a week for those old disks.
Cheers.

Just enabled Trim via Trim Enabler, and both SSD's show as it being enabled.

So far so good! Really happy with this upgrade.

I plan to get a single SSD when prices drop, probably a 256GB.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enable TRIM support in 10.9 mayuka OS X Mavericks (10.9) 92 Jul 27, 2014 04:31 PM
10.8.5 disables TRIM on non-Apple SSDs opinio OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Sep 16, 2013 06:11 AM
Resolved: Dual SSDs + TRIM = Overheating Macbook Pro, why? Obsidian6 MacBook Pro 8 Aug 31, 2013 10:11 AM
Bootcamp on SSDs - Trim Frozo. MacBook Pro 6 May 20, 2013 07:39 AM
TRIM enabler issue with two SSDs macstatic Mac Pro 27 Mar 20, 2013 07:05 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC