Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2012, 07:43 PM   #1
chrisblaze
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Moving oversea with an iPhone 5

I recently took a job in Germany, I have an AT&T unlocked iPhone 5. Will I be able to use it with T-Mobile or O2? If so can I use LTE on these carriers? Same with the 4th Gen iPad, I'm thinking about getting on but I don't know of I need to get an AT&T or Verizon model, or would
it be better sell my phone and get one in Germany.. If I go that route, are the phones unlocked?
chrisblaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 09:57 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Should be fine as-it, unless Germany has a predominately CDMA network (I don't know).
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:04 PM   #3
avanpelt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
AT&T iPhone 5 only works with North American LTE bands so you're out of luck with LTE in Germany with that phone as far as I know. You can use it on GSM and HSPA+ networks either by roaming (expensively) or getting the phone unlocked so you can put a local German SIM in it.

The Verizon iPhone 5 is unlocked out of the box even on contract and supports CDMA, GSM, HSPA+, and possibly German LTE but not likely.
avanpelt is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2012, 10:50 PM   #4
darster
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Verizon has more unlocked GSM bands than the AT&T phone. However, CDMA is locked on Verizon. Should not be a problem though, as you will be using GSM in Europe.
darster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 04:50 AM   #5
propalitet
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Everything will work fine anywhere in europe, just no LTE. But, depending where you are you might not need it at all. I'm getting ~17Mb/s on 3G. One thing that comes to my mind though is warranty, not sure if they will service it.
propalitet is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 05:42 AM   #6
ThatsMeRight
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
For LTE in Europa on iPad you'll need the Verizon model.

http://www.apple.com/ipad/LTE/

For LTE in Europe on iPhone, the Verizon model is more likely to work. The AT&T model will not support European LTE networks.

http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/
ThatsMeRight is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 06:46 AM   #7
AFDoc
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado Springs USA for now
Just sell your US version and buy a new one when you get there, not an issue.
AFDoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:03 PM   #8
chrisblaze
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I'd love to sell it and get another one, but the price of a 32gb phone is over $1k USD.
chrisblaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:07 PM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Unlocked 32GB iPhone 5 from Apple is $749 USD Ahh in the Germany Apple Store never-mind.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2013, 10:55 PM   #10
chrisblaze
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I'll probably get it... worse case.... I'll have to send it back to get refunded... I was hoping that someone has already tried this so I didn't have to be the guinea pig!
chrisblaze is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to ship macbook oversea? ohsik Mac Basics and Help 6 Feb 22, 2014 07:25 PM
Moving iPhone from PC to Mac carguy21 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 27, 2013 06:51 PM
Moving from Iphone 4 to Iphone 5 Do I need to Update to IOS 6 First? robjulo iOS 6 3 Sep 21, 2012 09:03 AM
AT&T iPhone 4 owner, moving to pre-order Verizon iPhone 5 Kadath iPhone 2 Sep 14, 2012 02:49 AM
Resolved: FCP - Moving audio and video together when moving into timeline samstah Digital Video 2 Jun 3, 2012 07:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC