Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:45 AM   #1
Ddyracer
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
How do I assign B&F buttons to the keyboard?

So, i know that the standard back and forward is command and [ to go back and ] to go forward.

Question is how do i assign it as a hotkey on the keyboard? Like put it on a f key? I do have it assigned as a hotkey on my mouse but i don't like it.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 11:25 AM   #2
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddyracer View Post
So, i know that the standard back and forward is command and [ to go back and ] to go forward.

Question is how do i assign it as a hotkey on the keyboard? Like put it on a f key? I do have it assigned as a hotkey on my mouse but i don't like it.
System Preferences -> Keyboard ->Keyboard Shortcuts

Select Application Shortcuts and click +

Select your application (Safari?) and enter your desired shortcut for Back. Do the same for Forward.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 04:54 PM   #3
Ddyracer
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
System Preferences -> Keyboard ->Keyboard Shortcuts

Select Application Shortcuts and click +

Select your application (Safari?) and enter your desired shortcut for Back. Do the same for Forward.
Thanks. I forgot about that.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:52 PM   #4
Ddyracer
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
System Preferences -> Keyboard ->Keyboard Shortcuts

Select Application Shortcuts and click +

Select your application (Safari?) and enter your desired shortcut for Back. Do the same for Forward.
Just tried this. It works but not how i want it. I think you misunderstood. I actually want to rebind command [ and command ] to a DIFFERENT key like f18 for instance. Not possible in System Preferences.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 09:22 PM   #5
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddyracer View Post
Just tried this. It works but not how i want it. I think you misunderstood. I actually want to rebind command [ and command ] to a DIFFERENT key like f18 for instance. Not possible in System Preferences.
I guess I'm still confused. In Safari (for example), command+[ corresponds to Back and command+] to Forward. If I want to use just a single keypress for Back, I can use the method in my previous post to bind Back to the left-arrow key (for example). Then I can simply press that left-arrow key to go back, instead of pressing command+[. (A function key could be used instead of the left-arrow.) These modifications work for me, but maybe I'm still misunderstanding what you want.
LPZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 10:14 AM   #6
Ddyracer
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
I guess I'm still confused. In Safari (for example), command+[ corresponds to Back and command+] to Forward. If I want to use just a single keypress for Back, I can use the method in my previous post to bind Back to the left-arrow key (for example). Then I can simply press that left-arrow key to go back, instead of pressing command+[. (A function key could be used instead of the left-arrow.) These modifications work for me, but maybe I'm still misunderstanding what you want.
You know i think its i who doesnt understand. So you rebinded command [ which is the back button to the left arrow key on your keyboard. Great, wheres the option to do this? I can only assign to a app then put in the key. Wont let me rebind.


I got it to work. I needed to put back and forward in the menu title then put my hotkey in. U didn't say this. Also, i couldn't get f19 to work so i'm using f17 and f18 as foward and back set as all applications.

Damn i good.

Last edited by Ddyracer; Jan 1, 2013 at 02:55 PM.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 07:04 PM   #7
LPZ
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ddyracer View Post
I got it to work. I needed to put back and forward in the menu title then put my hotkey in. U didn't say this.
Well, it does say "Enter the exact name of the menu command you want to add" right below the Menu Title box.

In any case, I'm glad you got it working.
LPZ is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:29 PM   #8
Ddyracer
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Ddyracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LPZ View Post
Well, it does say "Enter the exact name of the menu command you want to add" right below the Menu Title box.

In any case, I'm glad you got it working.
Aw quit arguing. Its so small I looked over it.
Ddyracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buttons on my soft keyboard are missing allen2oo3 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jan 30, 2014 02:48 PM
Two missing buttons on my keyboard with numeric pad garirry Mac Peripherals 3 Aug 19, 2013 11:52 PM
Replace keyboard buttons rMBP timsaxman MacBook Pro 8 Mar 22, 2013 01:03 PM
Can I take the buttons off the keyboard?? jamin00 MacBook Pro 6 Mar 19, 2013 04:51 PM
buttons not working on imac keyboard flyster iMac 4 Jul 10, 2012 06:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC