Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:05 AM   #1
whirl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Advice on Time Machine Drive

My new iMac 27 is about to be delivered in the next 3 days.

If I tell the new iMac to use the same USB drive that contains my Time Machine Backups from my old iMac will it just be amended to the data that is already on the drive or will it want to format the drive and start a fresh.

Obviously I don't want to lose my data that I have from my previous iMac so I am a little unsure what will happen.
whirl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:32 AM   #2
Paulywauly
macrumors 6502a
 
Paulywauly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by whirl View Post
My new iMac 27 is about to be delivered in the next 3 days.

If I tell the new iMac to use the same USB drive that contains my Time Machine Backups from my old iMac will it just be amended to the data that is already on the drive or will it want to format the drive and start a fresh.

Obviously I don't want to lose my data that I have from my previous iMac so I am a little unsure what will happen.
If you use Migration Assistant to move your stuff from one Mac to another it should be okay
__________________
I admit it, i spend too much on products
Paulywauly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 09:35 AM   #3
Weaselboy
macrumors Pentium
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by whirl View Post
My new iMac 27 is about to be delivered in the next 3 days.

If I tell the new iMac to use the same USB drive that contains my Time Machine Backups from my old iMac will it just be amended to the data that is already on the drive or will it want to format the drive and start a fresh.

Obviously I don't want to lose my data that I have from my previous iMac so I am a little unsure what will happen.
You will get a popup saying there is already a backup on the drive and it will ask if you want to merge the two or start a new backup. Just pick the one you want.
Weaselboy is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:11 PM   #4
2012Tony2012
macrumors 6502a
 
2012Tony2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Forget Time Machine, use Carbon Copy Cloner instead.
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:17 PM   #5
Chris Blount
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Forget Time Machine, use Carbon Copy Cloner instead.
I disagree. Use Time Machine. It's easy and will work without issue.
Chris Blount is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 03:20 PM   #6
madsci954
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Forget Time Machine, use Carbon Copy Cloner instead.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post
I disagree. Use Time Machine. It's easy and will work without issue.
Why not use both?
madsci954 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Apple Time Capsule rather than External Drive for Time Machine Backup? jaybar Mac Peripherals 10 Aug 26, 2013 01:50 PM
Airport Time Capsule (2013) as Time Machine and external drive? Klatti Mac Peripherals 0 Aug 3, 2013 08:58 AM
Time Machine advice NunoBerny OS X 8 May 10, 2013 11:01 AM
Backing up external drive to Time Capsule using Time Machine PatriotInvasion OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 3 Feb 20, 2013 11:03 PM
Time Machine advice RebornTheGame OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 14 Dec 13, 2012 09:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC