|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
NEW 2013 Retina Display Apple iMac 27" 3.4ghz Quad Core i7 768gb 32gb GTX 680M
Saw this on Ebay this morning
From England http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-2013-Ret...item3a7d39f4b1 Scam Scam Scam |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#2 |
|
It also does your dishes, makes your bed and never has a headache at the wrong time.
__________________
Saludos! |
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Dodgy as hell - looks as though one person has fallen for it though!
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage" iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone | Canon 400D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Lets all place exaggerated bids.
__________________
Desktop computer | Laptop computer | Tablet | Phone | Small black device attached to television |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
1
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Do people actually fall for this sort of thing? I guess they do, as I still get well intentioned friends forwarding scam/fake emails to help some cause, when a simple check on snopes.com shows it as fraudulent and having started in 2002.
Oh, I just won the bid on that item for $3,800. Cool!
__________________
2012 iMac 27" | i7 | 3.4Ghz | 1TB Fusion | 24GB RAM | 680MX | 10.8.2 |
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Aside from the retina error, where's the scam?
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Several things about this scream "scam"
* free worldwide shipping (massive, massive red flag) * request to be contacted by email first before bidding and indicating that bids will be cancelled otherwise (gigantic violation of ebay TOS) * $1000 buy it now price listed in the details after a 32GB memory upgrade (for a machine that costs $2000 from Apple in the base config). * the whole details page is a jpg image, designed to avoid ebay's automated text scanning system that quickly flags scam auctions by looking for things like "email me first" type text/ There is nothing about this auction that says legit. Anyone who falls for it is just not paying attention. Likely his "terms of sale" that he wants to discuss are to be paid via paypal gift outside of ebay's payment system - that way he just runs off with the money, never sends the item which he very, very obviously does not have, and you have no way to get your money back. As soon as an ebay rep sees the report they'll take this down. |
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#9 |
|
there are many pointers
location UK price in dollars iLife does not contain iDVD buy now price 1.000 per unit email me before bidding history |
|
|
|
1
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Fair enough. On my phone so didn't read all the small stuff as I would normally do before bidding. Definitely a scam.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Def a scam. From within the UK I also can't "buy this direct from within ebay.co.uk" (so to speak). When searching ebay.co.uk it is unlisted. Instead it's only available via ebay.com, coming up under 'International Sellers'... Can't believe ebay haven't taken it down yet
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#13 |
|
|
1
|
|
|
#14 |
|
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage" iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone | Canon 400D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#15 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
Quote:
|
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#17 |
|
The whole point of that auction is to collect people's data via mails they send in attempt to hack their ebay accounts afterwards...
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#18 |
|
Anyone reading this thread, please follow the ebay link and report the auction on ebay - you would be doing someone a great kindness by not letting them get scammed.
__________________
"Twenty seconds of insane courage" iMac 27"| iPad 32GB | iPhone | Canon 400D, 24-105mm f/4L & 50mm f/1.8
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Good idea, it's actually embarrassing that eBay has not taken it down yet. Their reporting system seems insufficient.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#20 | |
|
Link?
Quote:
Just the price let's you know it's a scam....$1000 for a brand new Imac? E-bay will be on it and notify those bidders. Hopefully they haven't already contacted the scammer on his private e-mail address. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#21 | |
|
Quote:
Fortunately the scammer isn't the sharpest tool in the box, but I really would like to kick him and his buddies where it hurts. Repeatedly. eBay has to take this clown down now Update/ actually called eBay, since there probably are people writing to those douchemongers as long as the auction os live. l hope they have it down soon. Last edited by AndiS.; Jan 4, 2013 at 04:12 PM. |
||
|
|
0
|
|
|
#22 |
|
scam 100 %
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#23 |
|
And it's still up, even though they were supposedly looking at it. eBay is really helping the scammers out on this one...oh, well. Hey, if you're already on eBay, check out the Lamborghini Aventador I'm selling for $9,999, free world wide shipping, but pleese sender ur soshial securities numbers and pic of passport first. It's the retina version of course and it comes with a free copy of Bar Rafaeli.
|
|
|
|
0
|
|
|
#24 |
|
|
0
|
|
|
#25 |
|
$1000 buy it now for a machine that retails at over $3000 us without the ram upgrades and people cant see a scam.........greedy people
|
|
|
|
0
|
![]() |
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.







55-11
Linear Mode
