Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 9, 2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Felicide
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
iPhone 4s Unlocked--DATA

Last year I purchased a 3GS, and had the same data issue. I have now upgraded to a 4s, and am hoping the data problem can be resolved.

It is a 4s, running iOS 6.0.1 on ATT prepaid (and modem firmware is 3.0.04, if that is important, it has been in the past..)

Text and calls work, however I get this when I try to use data..Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.PNG
Views:	59
Size:	291.7 KB
ID:	389125

This is the same message I received a year ago too, and the resolution involved altering the apn or something. Although apparently with iOS 6 apple made it so you cannot do that anymore?

(By the way, picture messages do not send, either)

If anyone has solutions, thanks a lot!
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 9, 2013, 07:09 PM   #2
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I am on T-Mobile with an iPhone 5 and am able to alter the APN settings. My iPhone is unlocked. Are you sure you haven't tried to see if you can edit the APN settings?
Settings -> General -> Cellular -> Cellular Data Network. From there, you can manually configure your APN settings
darricksailo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:09 PM   #3
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
No, this is what shows up, I do not have an option to do that
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (1).PNG
Views:	40
Size:	161.0 KB
ID:	389342
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:19 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Do you have a data plan on your prepaid account?
Go to unlockit.co.nz using your iphones safari browser and try to download and install the correct apn config file.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:21 PM   #5
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
yep, I do. And I have tried the site, but ever since ios6 I haven't gotten it to work (I had data working on my 3GS, although picture texts never sent/received. On the new phone, neither work.)
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:24 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Try this site too
http://bigwireless.us/wap/stdata.html
On this site http://www.unlockit.co.nz/mobilesettings/
It has about 8 different configuration files for AT&T USA.
Try the PAYG one. If that doesnt work attempt a few other ones too.
It works, you just gotta fight with it a little.
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:37 PM   #7
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Doing this, I now get this message after 2-3 different tries..
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (2).PNG
Views:	38
Size:	265.9 KB
ID:	389349
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:55 PM   #8
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Oh, nevermind, because the PAYG one works I'm just dumb.

On another note, the pictures still will not send. I don't suppose you know how to fix that, too?

**also, safari is working on network, but imessages are not still, either. I did not notice this at first.
Felicide is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 05:53 PM   #9
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 07:39 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Lol
The data isn't working but the Internet does?
Applejuiced is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:48 AM   #11
darricksailo
macrumors 68040
 
darricksailo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Have you tried going to your AT&T store and asking them? Maybe one out of all the employees can help you
darricksailo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:01 AM   #12
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 09:09 AM   #13
madsci954
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by corvus32 View Post
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
Yeah, I was told AT&T Prepaid doesn't support the iPhone, even if you have a data plan.
madsci954 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 03:39 PM   #14
Felicide
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by corvus32 View Post
They most likely won't help because it's against AT&T's policy to use an iPhone with their prepaid GoPhone SIMs.

What they'll want to do is set you up on a month-to-month smartphone plan at the regular $80+ rate.

If you want low cost prepaid on AT&T's network, I'd suggest using an AT&T mvno such as Straight Talk, Net10, Red Pocket, etc.
Yeah, they do not help you. Although when I went to get a micro sim the girl just set the whole thing up for me and just told me not to call for help because nobody can help me, technically.

I don't really know what "an ATT mvno" is, but don't all of those require plans? Just reduced price a little.
Felicide is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:51 PM   #15
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Outside the bubble
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
Yeah, they do not help you. Although when I went to get a micro sim the girl just set the whole thing up for me and just told me not to call for help because nobody can help me, technically.

I don't really know what "an ATT mvno" is, but don't all of those require plans? Just reduced price a little.
I'm not sure what you mean by require plans, but most (if not all) are a prepaid month-to-month service with no contracts.

mvno's (Mobile Virtual Network Operator) sublease from major spectrum holders (AT&T, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc), then provide that service to consumers at a lower rate. Lower because they aren't paying to build and maintain their own network.

Here is a list of US based mvno's: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...work_operators
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | Apple TV (3rd Gen)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:42 PM   #16
heyitsfez
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Felicide View Post
I'm bumping this because I really would appreciate answers, it's very frustrating. The data isn't working again except for internet, my imessage will not activate, so i just deleted the stupid apn thing.

I know it is possible to do this, I am just so tired of trying to figure it out.
Try resetting the network settings. I used to get this exact same error, I'm on an unlocked iphone 5 using data on prepaid. I did that I never saw that error again.

Settings - General - Reset - reset network settings

It wont delete anything personal on your phone. It'll just reset the way the phone is used to fetch data. It shouldn't hurt to try. That's how I got rid of that screen which was annoying. I also read this solution from another forum, so I'm pretty sure this should work for you,

Good luck!
heyitsfez is online now   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giving my parents their first iPhone (unlocked) but they don't need data. Kendo iPhone 3 Oct 9, 2013 07:46 AM
What Are The Steps To Set Up Data and Text Messages On An Unlocked iPhone 5? beeinformed iPhone 8 Dec 14, 2012 10:39 AM
unlimited data on prepaid using unlocked iphone 5 verizon tbluhp iPhone 2 Dec 7, 2012 12:50 PM
Buying an unlocked iphone is useless if i currently dont have any data plan? Cjshino iPhone 5 Oct 21, 2012 12:20 PM
Unlocked iPhone: turning off > locking again > losing data and tweaks? MsMalfoy iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jun 5, 2012 12:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC