Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:36 AM   #1
Amethyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Just upgrade my 2009 dual 2.26 to dual 2.93 GHz

I've just upgrade my old 8-core 2.26 GHz Mac Pro to use a new pair of x5570.
Thats means now i've own a mac that once time its cost 5,899 USD!!!!!

Form my experience i want to share 5 things.

1.) I've using 2.1 mm of washer (0.7mm x 3), and it work great!! you just tighten the screw and it set, no fan problem ho heat problem. (Idle 44c under Ambient 39c very hot in Thailand)
2.) I doesn't adjust, modify fan connector just use it as it come.
3.) I've add 2mm thermal pad to my heatsink, Add from pink thermal pad.
4.) It's very very easy. Doesn't need to hesitate.
5.) About the processor.
- I choose x5570 over 6-core variant because it much cheaper.I've paid just $380 for two of these. (vs $400 for just one of 6-core 2.4GHz that much lower frequency)
- I choose x5570 over w5590. Because it TDP is 95watt, follow Apple specification, I know w5590 can use without problem in 2009 pro. but my home is very very hot so i think i need lower TDP than +0.3 GHz max frequency.
- Another thing is about my dream, in 2009 I've dream to own the most expensive mac money can buy (8x2.93 Nehalem). That time i can't do. Today it very affordable to do.Why not?

__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 08:08 AM   #2
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
congrats! geekbench before and after on your particular system?
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 09:31 AM   #3
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
congrats! geekbench before and after on your particular system?
Before (2xE5520) = 13429
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1225318

After (2xX5570) = 18069
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/1515217

My Collection FYI
Custom 2009 Mac Pro (6-core 3.2 GHz) = 14864
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/934285

2009 Mac Pro (Quad 2.66GHz) = 9555
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/699714

Custom 2006 Mac Pro (8x1.83GHz(BSEL2.33GHz)) = 9154
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/614672

2996 Mac Pro (2xDual 2.66GHz) = 5535
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/569046
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:10 AM   #4
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
wow, seems like a very inexpensive way to bump up the performance (i also have a 2.26x8 right now).
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 11:49 AM   #5
GXPvince
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Custom 2009 Mac Pro (6-core 3.2 GHz) = 14864
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/934285

How much was the processor for that machine? What model before did you have?
__________________
5k iMac 3.5ghz 32gb 512 SSD| Mini i7 2.6 16gb 2012 | Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD |
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 01:32 PM   #6
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by GXPvince View Post
Custom 2009 Mac Pro (6-core 3.2 GHz) = 14864
http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench2/934285

How much was the processor for that machine? What model before did you have?
i've pay $300 for i7-970. bargain price.

I have two of 2009 pro. The first is single processor. original its 2.66 quad. but later upgrade with 6core 3.2 GHz.

The second is dual processor model in this threads.

__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 03:03 PM   #7
GXPvince
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
If I could ask, what do you do with those machines?
__________________
5k iMac 3.5ghz 32gb 512 SSD| Mini i7 2.6 16gb 2012 | Mac Pro 1,1 2-2.66 quads | 30in - 23in ACD |
f1.4 and be there
GXPvince is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:35 AM   #8
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
dual processor - build an Apps for iOS, Software development, design retina-class website, web development, Do my Phd research. etc.
single processor - A server for my family business. (3-stars Hotel in Thailand) mainly use about hotel billing. collaboration service. In this picture it under my desk but now it moved to server room.
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770

Last edited by Amethyst; Jan 11, 2013 at 05:58 AM.
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:46 PM   #9
shelant
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: US
Where did you get 2 processors for $380?
It's a great a price. So, if the ambient temps in my house are not to high, would you suggest me to go the w5590 route. I do a lot of Adobe Lightroom and video encoding (handbrake), so the extra 0.3 would really help me.
Although, I understand the power consumption problem. Do you think, if I wanted to instal a powerful video card (ATI 5870 for example) in addition to upgrading to 2x3.20 (w5590), would I have problems with not enough power? Just FYI, I also have 6 HDDs inside my Mac Pro 2009 dual 2.26.
Thank you for your help.
__________________
4.1 Mac Pro 2.26 8core,24gb ram,21TB internally
15" Penryn MBP,2.4 GHz,4GB RAM,500GB 5400
BT keyboard/Magic Trackpad
Dell 2408 WFP; Mediasonic 12TB,Drobo 8TB,OWC Raid-0 6TB
shelant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 05:06 PM   #10
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shelant View Post
Where did you get 2 processors for $380?
That's what I want to know.
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:13 AM   #11
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
ebay guys. $175 per processor, $30 shipping to Thailand.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelant View Post
Where did you get 2 processors for $380?
It's a great a price. So, if the ambient temps in my house are not to high, would you suggest me to go the w5590 route. I do a lot of Adobe Lightroom and video encoding (handbrake), so the extra 0.3 would really help me.
Although, I understand the power consumption problem. Do you think, if I wanted to instal a powerful video card (ATI 5870 for example) in addition to upgrading to 2x3.20 (w5590), would I have problems with not enough power? Just FYI, I also have 6 HDDs inside my Mac Pro 2009 dual 2.26.
Thank you for your help.
I still recommend X5570 over W5590. cause do something under spec is better.
but if extra 0.3 really help you you can go that route. PSU of our mac pro can do just fine.
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:26 AM   #12
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by shelant View Post
snip

(w5590)

snip
You need X5590 not W5590. "W" are for single CPU setup only.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 12, 2013 at 02:32 AM.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:29 AM   #13
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
You need X5590 not W5590. "W" are for single CPU setup only.
W5590 is right.

Single setup is xeon 3000 series.
Dual setup is xeon 5000 series.

W prefix is tell processor have 130w TDP.
X prefix is tell processor have 95w TDP.

There're 2 of W prefix processor in 5000 series.
W5580 at 3.2 GHz turbo boost 3.43 GHz
W5590 at 3.3 GHz turbo boost 3.6 GHz
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:31 AM   #14
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amethyst View Post
W5590 is right.

Single setup is xeon 3000 series.
Dual setup is xeon 5000 series.

W prefix is tell processor have 130w TDP.
X prefix is tell processor have 95w TDP.

There're 2 of W prefix processor in 5000 series.
W5580 at 3.2 GHz turbo boost 3.43 GHz
W5590 at 3.3 GHz turbo boost 3.6 GHz
Oh, my bad

Need another coffee
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:33 AM   #15
Amethyst
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Oh, my bad

Need another coffee
__________________
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 12x2.93 GHz/32GB DDRIII/GTX680
Mac Pro (4,1->5,1) 6x3.2 GHz/20GB DDRIII/5870
Mac Pro (3,1) 8x2.8 GHz/6GB DDRII/4870
Mac Pro (1,1->2,1) 8x2.33 GHz/10GB DDRII/5770
Amethyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:29 PM   #16
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amethyst View Post
W prefix is tell processor have 130w TDP.
X prefix is tell processor have 95w TDP.
Also E prefix for 80W TDP, and L prefix for <80W TDP. However for the 56XX series, all 130W TDP processors such as 5677,5680 and above still have X prefix instead of W, therefore the confusion. Intel apparently abandoned these prefixes in their Sandy/Ivy Bridge-EP lineup.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:53 PM   #17
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Mine is dual X5570 directly from Apple, but hey how did you get 1333 MHz RAM to work at max speed ?

I've got 1333 MHz RAM and it runs only at 1066 MHz !

My machine is flashed to firmware 5,1.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x120 GB SSD RAID3/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white

Last edited by Spacedust; Jan 12, 2013 at 01:03 PM.
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:14 PM   #18
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Mine is dual X5570 directly from Apple, but hey how did you get 1333 MHz RAM to work at max speed ?
You need to do a PRAM reset as mentioned here. Click on the Resetting NVRAM / PRAM link to see the steps.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:19 PM   #19
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
You need to do a PRAM reset as mentioned here. Click on the Resetting NVRAM / PRAM link to see the steps.
I did that and no go. Apple CPU's must be locked at 1066 MHz.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x120 GB SSD RAID3/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 01:46 PM   #20
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Apple CPU's must be locked at 1066 MHz.
That's a bummer. It's bad enough that Apple used lidless processors in the first place, and now no memory speed bump even with 5,1 flash. There may be very little performance improvement from 1066 to 1333, but I could understand your frustration.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:12 PM   #21
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
So I can install a i7 970 in my single processor 2009 Mac Pro? How does that CPU compare to the proper Xeon Hex core w36x0?
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22

Last edited by tjlazer; Jan 12, 2013 at 02:25 PM.
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:38 PM   #22
xcodeSyn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjlazer View Post
So I can install a i7 970 in my single processor 2009 Mac Pro? How does that CPU compare to the proper Xeon Hex core w36x0?
Yes, you can if you choose to after upgrading to firmware 5,1 of course. The i7 970 is equivalent to the W3670 Xeon but without ECC memory support and only supports memory speed up to 1066MHz. Your ECC memory would be wasted and you can use non-ECC desktop memory instead.

Last edited by xcodeSyn; Jan 12, 2013 at 02:45 PM.
xcodeSyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 03:36 PM   #23
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
That's a bummer. It's bad enough that Apple used lidless processors in the first place, and now no memory speed bump even with 5,1 flash. There may be very little performance improvement from 1066 to 1333, but I could understand your frustration.
Don't worry - I will switch to X5670's or X5675's in about two year time.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x120 GB SSD RAID3/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:06 PM   #24
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcodeSyn View Post
Yes, you can if you choose to after upgrading to firmware 5,1 of course. The i7 970 is equivalent to the W3670 Xeon but without ECC memory support and only supports memory speed up to 1066MHz. Your ECC memory would be wasted and you can use non-ECC desktop memory instead.
Thanks! I also started my own thread, this is good news indeed if you can find a cheap i7, it seems they are pretty prices still.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 10:17 PM   #25
shelant
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: US
Did you use nylon or metal washers? Also, did you use 2mm thermal pad? Silicone? Is this one good enough?

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A1THAZDOWP300U

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amethyst View Post
I've just upgrade my old 8-core 2.26 GHz Mac Pro to use a new pair of x5570.
Thats means now i've own a mac that once time its cost 5,899 USD!!!!!

Form my experience i want to share 5 things.

1.) I've using 2.1 mm of washer (0.7mm x 3), and it work great!! you just tighten the screw and it set, no fan problem ho heat problem. (Idle 44c under Ambient 39c very hot in Thailand)
2.) I doesn't adjust, modify fan connector just use it as it come.
3.) I've add 2mm thermal pad to my heatsink, Add from pink thermal pad.
4.) It's very very easy. Doesn't need to hesitate.
5.) About the processor.
- I choose x5570 over 6-core variant because it much cheaper.I've paid just $380 for two of these. (vs $400 for just one of 6-core 2.4GHz that much lower frequency)
- I choose x5570 over w5590. Because it TDP is 95watt, follow Apple specification, I know w5590 can use without problem in 2009 pro. but my home is very very hot so i think i need lower TDP than +0.3 GHz max frequency.
- Another thing is about my dream, in 2009 I've dream to own the most expensive mac money can buy (8x2.93 Nehalem). That time i can't do. Today it very affordable to do.Why not?

Image
__________________
4.1 Mac Pro 2.26 8core,24gb ram,21TB internally
15" Penryn MBP,2.4 GHz,4GB RAM,500GB 5400
BT keyboard/Magic Trackpad
Dell 2408 WFP; Mediasonic 12TB,Drobo 8TB,OWC Raid-0 6TB
shelant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Issues with Dual CPU Upgrade 2009 Mac Pro KBS756 Mac Pro 20 Mar 11, 2014 03:30 PM
Pimp my Mac: MP 2009 Dual CPU upgrade experience deppest Mac Pro 64 Oct 29, 2013 04:49 AM
2009 4.1 dual core upgrade: Epic Fail grame Mac Pro 51 Sep 11, 2013 10:51 AM
Does Mac Pro 2009 Dual CPU heatsinks fit on Mac Pro 2010 Dual CPU board ? Spacedust Mac Pro 2 Sep 9, 2012 03:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC