Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 1, 2005, 03:09 PM   #1
state_of
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
remove lid completely

Does anyone knows if I remove the lid competely from an ibook G4 1GHZ
if a. would it still works (with an external monitor)
b. would the 32MB of the ati 9200 would still be shared between the external monitor and the non existent one
?
I decided to take such action because the lcd is completely ruined and apple here in Greece wants more than 600 euros to replace the lcd (no way)
So I turned it to a desktop computer... I am quite satisfied that way but I would like the extra 16MB of memory from the graphic adapter that I am currently loosing
state_of is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 03:12 PM   #2
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Removing the lid won't get you back the lost Video RAM. I personally would look for a store that does apple repairs and see what they are will charge you. Sometimes 3rd Party Mac Repairs are up to half the price that Apple charges.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 03:23 PM   #3
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Also I have heard of screen mechanisms being available on eBay type services quite frequently...might be one somewhere in EU-land that wouldn't cost you too much....
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 03:30 PM   #4
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Take off the monitor, download the hack, enable clamshell mode, get a magnet to make the computer think the lid is closed (find out where to put it to activate). = 32MB VRAM

that should work.
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 05:00 PM   #5
Patmian212
macrumors 68020
 
Patmian212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilstewart92
Take off the monitor, download the hack, enable clamshell mode, get a magnet to make the computer think the lid is closed (find out where to put it to activate). = 32MB VRAM

that should work.
Pure genius, just be carefull with the magnet get a WEAK one.
__________________
"It scrolls like butter" Steve Jobs
Patmian212 is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 05:35 PM   #6
state_of
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Well I though of that but Sleepless doesn't seem to work on my ibook...it used to work in 10.3.6 but not in 10.3.9. But I read that it works fine with 10.4.2 so maybe I'll update to tiger before attempting anything
state_of is offline   0
Old Oct 1, 2005, 06:05 PM   #7
maxterpiece
macrumors 6502a
 
maxterpiece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
ebay the ibook. If your ibook is anything better than, like an 800mhz G3 you will get enough to buy a mac mini.
__________________
Fiction Weekly
maxterpiece is offline   0
Old Oct 2, 2005, 01:04 AM   #8
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by state_of
Well I though of that but Sleepless doesn't seem to work on my ibook...it used to work in 10.3.6 but not in 10.3.9. But I read that it works fine with 10.4.2 so maybe I'll update to tiger before attempting anything
You'll probably notice a significant speed increase if you have enough RAM if you go up to Tiger before you do anything.
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I remove Alfred completely? MacMan988 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Feb 2, 2014 11:10 AM
iPhone: Remove tweak completely? BullittMustang Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Jan 16, 2014 02:12 PM
Completely remove OS X, use W8, problem... Coflash Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Jul 14, 2013 04:25 AM
rMBP lid completely flush? RealEyes MacBook Pro 0 Aug 29, 2012 11:35 PM
Completely Remove JB Settings KnightFox Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Jun 20, 2012 06:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC