Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:00 AM   #1
kaitcarl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at fa.bellevuecollege.edu:8443

I'm am so frustrated. Every time I try to access my online class I get this error on firefox.

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at fa.bellevuecollege.edu:8443

I have tried all the obvious things...

First off it's a local problem and different browsers don't help.

Other people's laptops work on the same networks.

I have deleted all my internet files, reinstalled browsers, ran virus checks, installed os.x. mountain lion, turned off my firewall. I'm out of ideas... please help I need to get on for school.

Oh and I forgot to mention- this is the only website that doesn't work!
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:12 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
I'm am so frustrated. Every time I try to access my online class I get this error on firefox.

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at fa.bellevuecollege.edu:8443

I have tried all the obvious things...

First off it's a local problem and different browsers don't help.

Other people's laptops work on the same networks.

I have deleted all my internet files, reinstalled browsers, ran virus checks, installed os.x. mountain lion, turned off my firewall. I'm out of ideas... please help I need to get on for school.

Oh and I forgot to mention- this is the only website that doesn't work!
Erm, you have a virus scanner/internet security running?

We got one here just a couple of days ago, deleted this crap and it worked again.

You should read this:

Mac Virus/Malware FAQ - Mac Guides

BTW, the Virus Scanner/Internet Security Software was from TrendMicro.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:22 AM   #3
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I deleted it iAntivirus, didn't do anything
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:25 AM   #4
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Try changing your DNS servers to Google's.

Open Network Preferences -> Advanced -> DNS tab -> + sign -> 8.8.8.8 -> + sign again -> 8.8.4.4 -> OK -> Apply

*click the images to make them larger*

Thumb resize.Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:37 AM   #5
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Unfortunately, that didn't work either.
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:41 AM   #6
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
Unfortunately, that didn't work either.
What is in your:

/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/StartupItems

Folders?

BTW, it is better to use quote so we can see you replied.

Edit: I just googled iAntivirus, WTF, it's the worst crap, NORTON, you might still have stuff installed by this malware.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 12:42 AM   #7
Stooby Mcdoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Stooby Mcdoobie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
What steps did you take to remove the AV program? Some files may still be left over and could be what's causing the error.

Try the steps in this post:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...2&postcount=16
Stooby Mcdoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:31 AM   #8
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stooby Mcdoobie View Post
What steps did you take to remove the AV program? Some files may still be left over and could be what's causing the error.

Try the steps in this post:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...2&postcount=16
I just put it into the trash, I'm confused what to search for in the activity monitor.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
What is in your:

/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/StartupItems

Folders?

BTW, it is better to use quote so we can see you replied.

Edit: I just googled iAntivirus, WTF, it's the worst crap, NORTON, you might still have stuff installed by this malware.
How do I find these files?
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:33 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
I just put it into the trash, I'm confused what to search for in the activity monitor.
You should search for all files with name iAntivirus, if you use this App it is much easier.

Easyfind is free.

But, as I asked you before, what is in the next few folders?

/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/StartupItems

Also, didn't the Norton App come with an uninstaller?

Edit: To find these folders press Command-Shift-G and paste /Library into it.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:35 AM   #10
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
You should search for all files with name iAntivirus, if you use this App it is much easier.

Easyfind is free.

But, as I asked you before, what is in the next few folders?

/Library/LaunchAgents
/Library/LaunchDaemons
/Library/StartupItems

Also, didn't the Norton App come with an uninstaller?
I don't have Norton, and I'm not sure how to find those folders
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:37 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
I don't have Norton, and I'm not sure how to find those folders
I edited my last post, see there how to go there, you can also click in the Menu Bar on Go, then Go to Folder... and enter /Library.

Yes you had/have, iAntivirus is Norton, I googled it.

Edit: From Google, Symantec iAntivirus for Mac - CNET Download.com = Norton.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:39 AM   #12
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I edited my last post, see there how to go there, you can also click in the Menu Bar on Go, then Go to Folder... and enter /Library.

Yes you have, iAntivirus is Norton, I googled it.
Okay so I looked under launch agents and it shows mackeeper. I read about this, is that probably the problem?
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:41 AM   #13
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
Okay so I looked under launch agents and it shows mackeeper. I read about this, is that probably the problem?
AHA, Mackeeper, that is totally Malware, another rubbish software, this is potentially dangerous and has been a problem for many Users here, even non bootable Systems!!

Edit: Is this all or are there more files, and delete that file.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:42 AM   #14
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I edited my last post, see there how to go there, you can also click in the Menu Bar on Go, then Go to Folder... and enter /Library.

Yes you had/have, iAntivirus is Norton, I googled it.

Edit: From Google, Symantec iAntivirus for Mac - CNET Download.com = Norton.
Here's the screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-10 at 11.37.52 PM.png
Views:	86
Size:	552.9 KB
ID:	389508  
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:45 AM   #15
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
Here's the screenshot
You're so fast, sometimes I update/edit my posts as in the last one.

Delete all traces of that program too, and this Zeobit mackeeper.plist file

The rest is safe, only delete the com.zeobit file.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:46 AM   #16
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
AHA, Mackeeper, that is totally Malware, another rubbish software, this is potentially dangerous and has been a problem for many Users here, even non bootable Systems!!

Edit: Is this all or are there more files, and delete that file.
I deleted it, couldn't find any other files.

That website is still not working though.
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:48 AM   #17
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
I deleted it, couldn't find any other files.

That website is still not working though.
No of course not, you have to restart to make the changes active.

Have you searched for anything called Norton or symantec, did the program come with an uninstaller.
Do this before restarting.

Edit: You also looked in the other folder which I mentioned above?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:50 AM   #18
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
No of course not, you have to restart to make the changes active.

Have you searched for anything called Norton or symantec, did the program come with an uninstaller.
Do this before restarting.
Nothing under those two, and no it didn't
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:53 AM   #19
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
Nothing under those two, and no it didn't
In Easyfind you have to click files and check the Invisible files and folders and the package contents to find all files related.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:03 AM   #20
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
In Easyfind you have to click files and check the Invisible files and folders and the package contents to find all files related.
There was nothing under those names, but all of mackeeper stuff is deleted.

Website still doesn't work.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
there was nothing under those names, but all of mackeeper stuff is deleted.

Website still doesn't work.
edit
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:04 AM   #21
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 12.03.02 AM.png
Views:	56
Size:	359.3 KB
ID:	389509  
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:13 AM   #22
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
Screenshot
I get this if I enter the url:

***It works !

If you're seeing this page via a web browser, it means you've setup Tomcat successfully. Congratulations!

This is the default Tomcat home page. It can be found on the local filesystem at: /var/lib/tomcat6/webapps/ROOT/index.html

Tomcat6 veterans might be pleased to learn that this system instance of Tomcat is installed with CATALINA_HOME in /usr/share/tomcat6 and CATALINA_BASE in /var/lib/tomcat6, following the rules from /usr/share/doc/tomcat6-common/RUNNING.txt.gz.

You might consider installing the following packages, if you haven't already done so:

tomcat6-docs: This package installs a web application that allows to browse the Tomcat 6 documentation locally. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-examples: This package installs a web application that allows to access the Tomcat 6 Servlet and JSP examples. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-admin: This package installs two web applications that can help managing this Tomcat instance. Once installed, you can access the manager webapp and the host-manager webapp.

NOTE: For security reasons, using the manager webapp is restricted to users with role "manager". The host-manager webapp is restricted to users with role "admin". Users are defined in /etc/tomcat6/tomcat-users.xml.***

----

Damage might have been done by MacKeeper, and I say might, the App has it's reputation here on MR, and you still did not answer my question about iAntivirus, did it come with an uninstaller?

Edit: did you try in Safari or another browser?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:21 AM   #23
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I get this if I enter the url:

***It works !

If you're seeing this page via a web browser, it means you've setup Tomcat successfully. Congratulations!

This is the default Tomcat home page. It can be found on the local filesystem at: /var/lib/tomcat6/webapps/ROOT/index.html

Tomcat6 veterans might be pleased to learn that this system instance of Tomcat is installed with CATALINA_HOME in /usr/share/tomcat6 and CATALINA_BASE in /var/lib/tomcat6, following the rules from /usr/share/doc/tomcat6-common/RUNNING.txt.gz.

You might consider installing the following packages, if you haven't already done so:

tomcat6-docs: This package installs a web application that allows to browse the Tomcat 6 documentation locally. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-examples: This package installs a web application that allows to access the Tomcat 6 Servlet and JSP examples. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-admin: This package installs two web applications that can help managing this Tomcat instance. Once installed, you can access the manager webapp and the host-manager webapp.

NOTE: For security reasons, using the manager webapp is restricted to users with role "manager". The host-manager webapp is restricted to users with role "admin". Users are defined in /etc/tomcat6/tomcat-users.xml.***

----

Damage might have been done by MacKeeper, and I say might, the App has it's reputation here on MR, and you still did not answer my question about iAntivirus, did it come with an uninstaller?
I didn't see one, no.

http://bellevuecollege.edu/canvas/

It's the login button after that.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
I get this if I enter the url:

***It works !

If you're seeing this page via a web browser, it means you've setup Tomcat successfully. Congratulations!

This is the default Tomcat home page. It can be found on the local filesystem at: /var/lib/tomcat6/webapps/ROOT/index.html

Tomcat6 veterans might be pleased to learn that this system instance of Tomcat is installed with CATALINA_HOME in /usr/share/tomcat6 and CATALINA_BASE in /var/lib/tomcat6, following the rules from /usr/share/doc/tomcat6-common/RUNNING.txt.gz.

You might consider installing the following packages, if you haven't already done so:

tomcat6-docs: This package installs a web application that allows to browse the Tomcat 6 documentation locally. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-examples: This package installs a web application that allows to access the Tomcat 6 Servlet and JSP examples. Once installed, you can access it by clicking here.

tomcat6-admin: This package installs two web applications that can help managing this Tomcat instance. Once installed, you can access the manager webapp and the host-manager webapp.

NOTE: For security reasons, using the manager webapp is restricted to users with role "manager". The host-manager webapp is restricted to users with role "admin". Users are defined in /etc/tomcat6/tomcat-users.xml.***

----

Damage might have been done by MacKeeper, and I say might, the App has it's reputation here on MR, and you still did not answer my question about iAntivirus, did it come with an uninstaller?

Edit: did you try in Safari or another browser?
yes I've tried other browsers, same thing.
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:10 AM   #24
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
I didn't see one, no.

http://bellevuecollege.edu/canvas/

It's the login button after that.
Can't see that, can not log in


Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitcarl View Post
yes I've tried other browsers, same thing.
So User account wide, or system wide.

What you can do next is to login into another account, if you don't have one create one in Users And Groups in System Preferences, then login to that account, what happens there, if it is the same it's system wide, if it's working then there is something in your User Account preventing to login.

Try the above first.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 10:01 PM   #25
kaitcarl
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
Can't see that, can not log in




So User account wide, or system wide.

What you can do next is to login into another account, if you don't have one create one in Users And Groups in System Preferences, then login to that account, what happens there, if it is the same it's system wide, if it's working then there is something in your User Account preventing to login.

Try the above first.

The issue is on my computer only, I can't get to the login page, that's where I'm getting the error.
kaitcarl is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safari can't establish secure connection Steelseries MacBook Air 8 Oct 12, 2013 02:21 AM
Safari 6 OS 10.8 - Can't establish a secure connection lentife OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 14 Aug 23, 2013 04:20 PM
Unable to establish an Internet connection jdmdelsol97 MacBook 1 Jul 16, 2013 10:37 AM
Unable to establish a secure connection to iTunes Sdevante iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Nov 22, 2012 12:06 PM
Can't establish a secure connection. GRMCKR OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 28, 2012 07:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps