Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 11, 2013, 01:47 PM   #1
andersjohanson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
MacPro4,1 (2009) Processor Upgrade

Ladies and gentlemen. I know that a whole lot has been written about the firware flash from MacPro4,1 to MacPro 5,1, and furthermore the processor upgrade to a single W3680 3,33 Ghz Westmere, and I'm doing this on a single 2,66 Ghz Nehalem as soon as the W3680 arrives.

However, I can't seem to get any wiser on the best upgrade for the dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem (also 4,1, 2009). The new X56XX-processors from Intel all seem to ”run” at 32 nm instead of 45 nm.

So! As you may have guessed by now, my question remains: Which of the current Intels are the best/most price worth upgrade for a dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem? Is it still the X5570 / 2,93 GHz 8-core Nahalem solution, or is there a Westmere 6-Core Hex to fit in the current 2,26 Ghz setup?

Thanks in advance!
Anders, Stockholm
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:22 PM   #2
spoonie1972
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto
i'm ahemming-ahhaing right now, waiting for my thermal padding to arrive before i jump in, and so far, it seems:

2.93 (cost effective, decent upgrade)
w5590 (between $700-800 USD)
X5680 (between 1300-1600USD)

are the main choices out there.
__________________
2012 MPB 15, 16GB, 512SSD, Geek 11941 - Logic Audio
2009 Mac Pro, 64GB, 5,1 Firmware, X5570 swap x2, EVGA GTX570, VEP5, Kontakt, and AE
spoonie1972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 02:55 PM   #3
KBS756
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersjohanson View Post
Ladies and gentlemen. I know that a whole lot has been written about the firware flash from MacPro4,1 to MacPro 5,1, and furthermore the processor upgrade to a single W3680 3,33 Ghz Westmere, and I'm doing this on a single 2,66 Ghz Nehalem as soon as the W3680 arrives.

However, I can't seem to get any wiser on the best upgrade for the dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem (also 4,1, 2009). The new X56XX-processors from Intel all seem to ”run” at 32 nm instead of 45 nm.

So! As you may have guessed by now, my question remains: Which of the current Intels are the best/most price worth upgrade for a dual 2,26 Ghz Nehalem? Is it still the X5570 / 2,93 GHz 8-core Nahalem solution, or is there a Westmere 6-Core Hex to fit in the current 2,26 Ghz setup?

Thanks in advance!
Anders, Stockholm
I just completed upgrading my Mac pro from dual 2.93 GHz Quad Cores to dual 3.33 GHz Hex cores X5680 with no real issues. so for a flashed 4,1 you should be able to do the same with little issue.
__________________
27" + 24" LED ACD; 2 x 3.33GHz X5680 Mac Pro, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB Samsung 830 SSD ,EVGA Geforce Titan Super-clocked; Early 2013 2.8Ghz 15in Retina Macbook Pro 16GB Ram 756GB
KBS756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:06 PM   #4
andersjohanson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBS756 View Post
I just completed upgrading my Mac pro from dual 2.93 GHz Quad Cores to dual 3.33 GHz Hex cores X5680 with no real issues. so for a flashed 4,1 you should be able to do the same with little issue.
Good times. Was that a MacPro4,1 or a ”true” 5,1 (2010) you upgraded?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonie1972 View Post
i'm ahemming-ahhaing right now, waiting for my thermal padding to arrive before i jump in, and so far, it seems:

2.93 (cost effective, decent upgrade)
w5590 (between $700-800 USD)
X5680 (between 1300-1600USD)

are the main choices out there.
So two X5680 can actually be used with no issues at all? Thought the stepping was wrong to make these work in a MacPro4,1. Please advise.

Last edited by andersjohanson; Jan 11, 2013 at 03:21 PM.
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:19 PM   #5
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersjohanson View Post
Good times. Was that a MacPro4,1 or a ”true” 5,1 (2010) you upgraded?

----------



So two X5680 can actually be used with no issues at all? Thought the stepping was wrong to make these work in a MacPro4,1.
If you flash the 4,1 with the 5,1 firmware (which can be done because they are the same computer), then you can use up to dual hex 3.33ghz processors. There's a bit more work to it (needing to use some spacers and what not). Search my friend.
__________________
MBP 8,2 15" 2.2Ghz w/ 120GB SSD + 500GB
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:31 PM   #6
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
If you flash the 4,1 with the 5,1 firmware (which can be done because they are the same computer), then you can use up to dual hex 3.33ghz processors. There's a bit more work to it (needing to use some spacers and what not). Search my friend.
This, but do not buy ES X5680. These do have CPUID 206C1 and 5,1 EFI lacks microcode for this. SLBV5 will work OK.
666sheep is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:33 PM   #7
andersjohanson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
If you flash the 4,1 with the 5,1 firmware (which can be done because they are the same computer), then you can use up to dual hex 3.33ghz processors. There's a bit more work to it (needing to use some spacers and what not). Search my friend.
That much I understand, however, while searching, some people seem to advice against using 32 nm processors, claiming they simply don't match the 45 nm of the daughter board. X5680 running at 32 nm would simply not work. Can anyone either confirm that this is the case, or doesn't b0-stepping or 45 nm matter at all?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
This, but do not buy ES X5680. These do have CPUID 206C1 and 5,1 EFI lacks microcode for this. SLBV5 will work OK.
So which Intel processor running at 3,33 Ghz 6-core would most definitely work in this dual MacPro4,1 setup?
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 03:35 PM   #8
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersjohanson View Post
That much I understand, however, while searching, some people seem to advice against using 32 nm processors W, claiming they simply don't match the 45 nm of the daughter board. X5680 running at 32 nm would simply not work. Can anyone either confirm that this is the case, or doesn't b0-stepping or 45 nm matter at all?

----------



So which Intel processor running at 3,33 Ghz 6-core would most definitely work in this dual MacPro4,1 setup?
X5680 SLBV5, after flashing to 5,1 like KBS756 did. "W3xxx" CPUs don't work on dual boards because they lack second QPI channel.

Last edited by 666sheep; Jan 12, 2013 at 02:22 AM.
666sheep is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:05 PM   #9
andersjohanson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
X5680 SLBV5, after flashing to 5,1 like KBS756 did. "W" CPUs don't work on dual boards because they lack second QPI channel.
Wondrous! X5680 SLBV5 it is then. Thanks so much for clearing this up, and so fast. Have a great weekend!
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2013, 04:46 PM   #10
KBS756
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by andersjohanson View Post
Wondrous! X5680 SLBV5 it is then. Thanks so much for clearing this up, and so fast. Have a great weekend!
How much are you looking to spend and where are you buying from? I purchased mine from ITCreations and their customer service was great with dealing with the issue I did have and I got the x5680s from them.

As other poster mentioned I used washers for spacing because 4,1s have lidless when dual processor configured. And yes mine is a 4,1 flashed to be 5,1
KBS756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:13 AM   #11
andersjohanson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KBS756 View Post
How much are you looking to spend and where are you buying from? I purchased mine from ITCreations and their customer service was great with dealing with the issue I did have and I got the x5680s from them.

As other poster mentioned I used washers for spacing because 4,1s have lidless when dual processor configured. And yes mine is a 4,1 flashed to be 5,1
I'm doing the single processor upgrade to my own 4,1, and the dual upgrade to the video editing 4,1 at work. For the latter it may be better to buy all parts here in Sweden because of issues that may appear along the way, however, prices on e-bay with international shipping are quite appealing of course.

If we're buying here in Sweden, the X5680 costs around 1700 USD + our tax of 25%. I know. E-bay seems better and better...

Swedish Intel reseller Misco:
http://www.misco.se/Product/Product....itab.6087594.2

My only worries were the nm values and the steppings, but I trust you on the X5680 SLBV5!

***

On another note:

Since I have the Apple SSD carrier, I was wondering whether I can bring an SSD from a MacBook Pro, running Mountain Lion straight into the MacPro, and make it boot, or not? Is a fresh install the only way to go?

----------

Oh yeah, when it comes to washers, it's just 2 mm thick, and about 5 mm diameter around every screw of the heatsink right? Are there any images of this on the forum?
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:17 AM   #12
andersjohanson
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
EDIT: Using an SSD from a MacBook Pro running Mountain Lion in a Mac Pro, worked beautifully. Some apps bought from the App Store had to be imported again though, other than that, no issues!
andersjohanson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 04:57 PM   #13
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
A dream that i hope to make true one day

I dont need it but i want a mac pro this is just a wish
delete this please
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250

Last edited by ljonesj; Jan 15, 2013 at 04:59 PM. Reason: wrong forum
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC