Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 12, 2013, 12:49 PM   #1
craigblues
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Best Place & Price for 32GB RAM for New iMac

Evening all!

Well now I have got my Shipped email from Apple, (YAY!)

I want to order the ram also so I have everything at the sametime.

Obviously I have found the Crucial memory 16GB Kits (obviously I would buy 2 Kits) Priced at 63.59 inc the dreaded VAT.

I just found this also at eBuyer, but unsure if its the same as above or not...
Linky

Or I wondered if there was somewhere else that I missed. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by craigblues; Jan 16, 2013 at 03:59 PM.
craigblues is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 02:38 PM   #2
shenan1982
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigblues View Post
Evening all!

Well now I have got my Shipped email from Apple, (YAY!)

I want to order the ram also so I have everything at the sametime.

Obviously I have found the Crucial memory 16GB Kits (obviously I would buy 2 Kits) Priced at 63.59 inc the dreaded VAT.

I just found this also at eBuyer, but unsure if its the same as above or not...
Linky

Or I wondered if there was somewhere else that I missed. Thanks in advance.
Aren't there only 2 RAM slots in the imac 27"
shenan1982 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 03:28 PM   #3
FreemanW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Real Northern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigblues View Post
Evening all!

Well now I have got my Shipped email from Apple, (YAY!)

I want to order the ram also so I have everything at the sametime.

Obviously I have found the Crucial memory 16GB Kits (obviously I would buy 2 Kits) Priced at 63.59 inc the dreaded VAT.

I just found this also at eBuyer, but unsure if its the same as above or not...
Linky

Or I wondered if there was somewhere else that I missed. Thanks in advance.


Quote:
Originally Posted by shenan1982 View Post
Aren't there only 2 RAM slots in the imac 27"
Uh, FOUR.
__________________
iMac, iPad, iPhone, TimeCapsule x 2
FreemanW is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:29 PM   #4
sshambles
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
OWC does memory, with a lifetime warranty.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor.../2012_27/DDR3L
__________________
iPhone 6+, 4 iPods, iPad 3, TV, 27"iMac, iPod HiFi
sshambles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:07 PM   #5
craigblues
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sshambles View Post
OWC does memory, with a lifetime warranty.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor.../2012_27/DDR3L
Thanks but I'm in UK.
craigblues is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:19 PM   #6
TurboGrafx16Fan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I purchased memory from Crucial. They are a well known name brand, have quality products and that goes a long way when it comes to memory. You might be able to save some money elsewhere, but the potential headaches that could ensue are not worth it.
TurboGrafx16Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:27 PM   #7
sounddesigner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
what about using amazon? and getting crucial ram?
sounddesigner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2013, 06:30 PM   #8
craigblues
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboGrafx16Fan View Post
I purchased memory from Crucial. They are a well known name brand, have quality products and that goes a long way when it comes to memory. You might be able to save some money elsewhere, but the potential headaches that could ensue are not worth it.
I'm not looking for cheap but I know alot of other suppliers also stock the Crucial Memory and just wondered if any had a sale on.

Crucial I think it is, but I have heard some mention Crosair memory is also good. Just want to make the right choice. I have always gone Crucial in the past but has that been the right choice? ha!
craigblues is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 11:24 AM   #9
TurboGrafx16Fan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
From my research they were all around the same price for the Crucial ram. I also noticed Crucial released a new model number that they suggest for the late 2012 iMac.
TurboGrafx16Fan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 12:51 PM   #10
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
What are you gonna be using 32GB for? Just curious
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 12:58 PM   #11
drkmnx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
best one !

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-1600M...n+8gb+ram+1600
drkmnx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2013, 01:13 PM   #12
rjs2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: UK
I got mine from crucial. Saved 7% via quidco as well
rjs2 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:22 PM   #13
sshambles
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigblues View Post
Thanks but I'm in UK.
I'm in Australia... What's your point?
Did you need it tomorrow or something?

OWC I think are okay. I did see someone advertise 32GB for $195. Forget where though.
__________________
iPhone 6+, 4 iPods, iPad 3, TV, 27"iMac, iPod HiFi
sshambles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:35 PM   #14
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
What are you gonna be using 32GB for? Just curious
he probably does video and 3d work. If you do high res stuff it will quickly eat up even 32GB. Computers aren't only for gaming :P
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:03 AM   #15
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlez View Post
he probably does video and 3d work. If you do high res stuff it will quickly eat up even 32GB. Computers aren't only for gaming :P
Or he could just be one of those who thinks he needs to "max out" and "future proof" his machine by getting what everyone else gets. Hence the question what he needs it for - which btw, he has failed to answer so far.
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:48 AM   #16
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
Or he could just be one of those who thinks he needs to "max out" and "future proof" his machine by getting what everyone else gets. Hence the question what he needs it for - which btw, he has failed to answer so far.
perhaps but who cares lol, why do you even need to know. RAM is cheap anyway, may as well max it out.
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:55 AM   #17
craigblues
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Well shall I answer all these questions. Ha!

One I do Video and Photo editing all day everyday. Plus for 120 for 32GB Ram to have the full capabilities of the 2200 machine I've just purchased just sounds the right thing to do...

I was basically confirming which brand I should go for. But I think I knew the answer from the start. Crucial it is.
craigblues is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:01 AM   #18
mistagogo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigblues View Post
Well shall I answer all these questions. Ha!

One I do Video and Photo editing all day everyday. Plus for 120 for 32GB Ram to have the full capabilities of the 2200 machine I've just purchased just sounds the right thing to do...

I was basically confirming which brand I should go for. But I think I knew the answer from the start. Crucial it is.
Still getting 16Gb (plus the 8 original) you'll have more RAM than you need, and spend the extra 60 quid on something else.
mistagogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:17 AM   #19
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlez View Post
perhaps but who cares lol, why do you even need to know. RAM is cheap anyway, may as well max it out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigblues View Post
Well shall I answer all these questions. Ha!

One I do Video and Photo editing all day everyday. Plus for 120 for 32GB Ram to have the full capabilities of the 2200 machine I've just purchased just sounds the right thing to do...

I was basically confirming which brand I should go for. But I think I knew the answer from the start. Crucial it is.
Completely useless if you're not using it.
"May as well max it out" is exactly the kind of reasoning that is plain stupid and quite frankly, even idiotic.

Having the full capabilities of something doesn't mean anything if you can't use the machine to its full capability. 16GB will be more than enough for some photo and video editing. As a reference, I did video and photo editing on my MBP '09 with 4GB of RAM and never had any problems.

As a sidenote, you can add more RAM later if you do end up needing more. I would get 16GB and add more as time goes on if I need more. Just my 2 cents. But hey, your life and your money. Spend it on useless things if you wish
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:48 AM   #20
Gavzooka
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
So what would justify more RAM?

Personally, I want to run Parallels with a couple of VM's running at once, at least...I think that justifies a reasonable RAM upgrade.

Very large image editing.....probably at a professional level (not just photographs)...

3D Rendering and image manipulation.....

Professional level video/music editing maybe?

Anything else.....?
__________________
27" iMac 2012 - 1Tb Fusion - 32Gb - 680MX iPad 3 64Gb 3G & 16Gb 3G Macbook Pro 13" 2012 - 500Gb 2Tb Time Capsule iPhone 5 64Gb =Empty Bank Account
Gavzooka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:01 AM   #21
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavzooka View Post
So what would justify more RAM?

Personally, I want to run Parallels with a couple of VM's running at once, at least...I think that justifies a reasonable RAM upgrade.

Very large image editing.....probably at a professional level (not just photographs)...

3D Rendering and image manipulation.....

Professional level video/music editing maybe?

Anything else.....?
Are you doing all those at once? And are you doing any of those for a living or just a hobby?

I'd say that you might benefit from 16GB but still probably don't need as much as 32GB. In any case, getting 16GB(2x8GB) at first won't hurt. If you notice that things are running slow, get 2x8GB more and you'll have 32GB.
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:16 AM   #22
paulrbeers
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
I'd say that you might benefit from 16GB but still probably don't need as much as 32GB. In any case, getting 16GB(2x8GB) at first won't hurt. If you notice that things are running slow, get 2x8GB more and you'll have 32GB.
I agree with this, why not try 24GB (2 x 4GB it comes with and then buy 2 x 8GB aftermarket). I mean people can do what they want, but it seems to make more sense than just tossing 8GB of RAM you paid for (when you bought the machine). I did the same thing with my 27" late 2009. It came with 2 - 2GB sticks and I just stuck in 2 x 4GB's to get me to 12GB. It was plenty for me for me and then I sold it about a year and a half later to buy my Macbook Pro.

Now if you are running a laptop (i.e. Macbook Pro) then you have to toss the memory it came with since it only has two slots.
__________________
rMBP 11,2 15" 2.0Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
MBA 6,2 13" 1.7Ghz w/ 256GB SSD
Mac Mini 6,2 2.3ghz w/ 240GB SSD + 1TB
Mac Pro 1,1 w/ 8 cores @ 2.66 w/ 240GB SSD
paulrbeers is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:17 AM   #23
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
I have a 32MB stick you can have for free!
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:28 AM   #24
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulrbeers View Post
I agree with this, why not try 24GB (2 x 4GB it comes with and then buy 2 x 8GB aftermarket). I mean people can do what they want, but it seems to make more sense than just tossing 8GB of RAM you paid for (when you bought the machine). I did the same thing with my 27" late 2009. It came with 2 - 2GB sticks and I just stuck in 2 x 4GB's to get me to 12GB. It was plenty for me for me and then I sold it about a year and a half later to buy my Macbook Pro.

Now if you are running a laptop (i.e. Macbook Pro) then you have to toss the memory it came with since it only has two slots.
This makes even more sense. 24GB should be plenty enough for most people!

Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
I have a 32MB stick you can have for free!
LOL, I didn't even notice the typo in the title XD
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:57 AM   #25
Gavzooka
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanax View Post
Are you doing all those at once? And are you doing any of those for a living or just a hobby?

I'd say that you might benefit from 16GB but still probably don't need as much as 32GB. In any case, getting 16GB(2x8GB) at first won't hurt. If you notice that things are running slow, get 2x8GB more and you'll have 32GB.
I'm not doing any but the virtualisation but....I'm just suggesting so that people have an idea what extra RAM is useful for. Unsure on Mac OS but for 3D rendering on a Windows more RAM makes a huge difference as it reduces the time data has to spend on a scratch disk. Same applies on large images, not so sure about large video files though.

For virtualisation, I'd be running between 2-4Gb per virtual machine and therefore 16Gb is probably plenty. However, I have to mock up test environments from time to time where I have to run multiple workstations and servers within the VM environment, so 32Gb would help with that....on PC they're not the fastest as you have to balance the load across processor cores but it does the job for what I need....I'm hoping the same is possible on my iMac when it arrives...
__________________
27" iMac 2012 - 1Tb Fusion - 32Gb - 680MX iPad 3 64Gb 3G & 16Gb 3G Macbook Pro 13" 2012 - 500Gb 2Tb Time Capsule iPhone 5 64Gb =Empty Bank Account

Last edited by Gavzooka; Jan 16, 2013 at 08:56 AM.
Gavzooka is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
iPhone 5 32GB & 64GB Reselling at the Same Price...? MICHAELSD iPhone 6 Sep 11, 2013 09:13 PM
Best place to sell the RAM that came with my iMac? TX328F iMac 4 Mar 31, 2013 04:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC