Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:36 AM   #1
adirtylurker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Recording sound on the iMac 21.5

Hi guys first post on these boards. I recently purchased a Macbook Pro 13" 2012 and after recieving delivery shortly realised that the line in function that was on earlier models wasn't included on this model. I am returning the Macbook and after I get refunded am looking at maybe getting an iMac 21.5 instead. Before doing so I just need to confirm that this unit will allow me to record in sound via line in as I don't want to make the same mistake again.

Hope I've explained clearly and thanks in advance to any replies
adirtylurker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:46 AM   #2
IGregory
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adirtylurker View Post
Hi guys first post on these boards. I recently purchased a Macbook Pro 13" 2012 and after recieving delivery shortly realised that the line in function that was on earlier models wasn't included on this model. I am returning the Macbook and after I get refunded am looking at maybe getting an iMac 21.5 instead. Before doing so I just need to confirm that this unit will allow me to record in sound via line in as I don't want to make the same mistake again.

Hope I've explained clearly and thanks in advance to any replies
I don't know for sure but I believe IMACs do not have an audio input either. Read here.
__________________
The happy owner of a Mid-2012 Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, iPad Air and iPhone 5s .
IGregory is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 04:46 AM   #3
adirtylurker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
And for reference this is the iMac i'm looking at

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-All-In.../ref=de_a_smtd

Thanks again
adirtylurker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 05:15 AM   #4
adirtylurker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by IGregory View Post
I don't know for sure but I believe IMACs do not have an audio input either. Read here.
Thanks, if this is correct I'm astounded, I wanted to get a Mac so that I can start to use the music program Logic as this is only Mac compatible but now I will have to buy extras to allow me to record sound in. Gutted to say the least.
adirtylurker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:28 AM   #5
Vandefilm
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adirtylurker View Post
Thanks, if this is correct I'm astounded, I wanted to get a Mac so that I can start to use the music program Logic as this is only Mac compatible but now I will have to buy extras to allow me to record sound in. Gutted to say the least.
If you only use it for sound, why not buy a 2011 model?
Vandefilm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:35 AM   #6
kflanary
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Your link is to a 2011 model and it states that it has an audio in line. But only 1 left in stock so order soon!
kflanary is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:45 AM   #7
adirtylurker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
After further investigation i have realised I can buy an audio converter like iMic for not much cash to get around my original sound recording issue so am sticking with the Macbook. Thanks for all your advice though, much appreciatted.
adirtylurker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 06:45 AM   #8
joe-h2o
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by adirtylurker View Post
Thanks, if this is correct I'm astounded, I wanted to get a Mac so that I can start to use the music program Logic as this is only Mac compatible but now I will have to buy extras to allow me to record sound in. Gutted to say the least.
While I think the removal of the line in port on recent Macs is annoying, if you're looking at Logic then you need something a little more than that anyway.

If you're recording instruments and mics then honestly you want an external sound card anyway. Anyone who needs the power of Logic or ProTools is already using external sound (and then the lack of the firewire port to handle all the current low-latency FW pro audio breakout boxes is more annoying than the lack of a line in).

You can find good consumer/prosumer devices from people like M-audio and Griffin etc.
joe-h2o is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 07:23 AM   #9
pgoodwin1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Chester, OH
I've used a Griffin iMic for years

It does a decent job. It's not a high quality sound interface. It does line level inputs, not for microphones unless you buy one that puts out line levels. For a mic, you can use a USB mic directly to the computer. For the money and for what it's designed to do (get you a stereo line level input to your computer) it does the same job as a typical decent computer sound input port.

If you want high quality audio you need to go look for a 96 KHz/24 bit device. They are more $.

The iMic is only about $25 so for what it does, it's a great buy.
__________________
mid-2010 iMac, iPad 2, iPhone 4
pgoodwin1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 08:00 AM   #10
adirtylurker
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgoodwin1 View Post
It does a decent job. It's not a high quality sound interface. It does line level inputs, not for microphones unless you buy one that puts out line levels. For a mic, you can use a USB mic directly to the computer. For the money and for what it's designed to do (get you a stereo line level input to your computer) it does the same job as a typical decent computer sound input port.

If you want high quality audio you need to go look for a 96 KHz/24 bit device. They are more $.

The iMic is only about $25 so for what it does, it's a great buy.
Thanks for this, at the minute I only wanted line level inputs to record from my mixer while on the decks so I think this will be fine? As for Logic, at the moment Im a serious beginner and will be looking at a better interface for recording instruments further down the line.
adirtylurker is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 4S not properly recording sound in videos ian m iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Apr 21, 2014 03:39 PM
iPhone 5 video recording with no sound ragz iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Dec 11, 2013 05:22 PM
No sound when recording TaporSnap iPhone 1 Dec 4, 2013 11:05 PM
video / sound recording/sharing bluebird3 Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 17, 2013 08:07 PM
Internal sound recording? M0esmac Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jun 8, 2012 03:17 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC