Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:39 AM   #1
Michael73
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Naming My Apple TV

How do I name my AppleTVs?

I've got an AppleTV in my living room, one in my basement and one in my bedroom. When I'm listening to music and want to use multiple speakers, all that shows up in the box where you can choose what speakers to send the sound to is "Apple TV" three times...I've got no idea which one is which. Can I name the AppleTVs like "AppleTV - Bedroom"?
__________________
nMP 8/32GB/1TB/D500, MP 3,1(ret.), 30" ACD
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB
MBA 13" 1.7GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
2TB TC, 64GB iPad / 5S / 4S, Drobo 5D, 3 x TV
Michael73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:42 AM   #2
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael73 View Post
How do I name my AppleTVs?

I've got an AppleTV in my living room, one in my basement and one in my bedroom. When I'm listening to music and want to use multiple speakers, all that shows up in the box where you can choose what speakers to send the sound to is "Apple TV" three times...I've got no idea which one is which. Can I name the AppleTVs like "AppleTV - Bedroom"?
Yes you can name them. I forget exactly where, but go into Settings and it should be fairly easy to find where to do that.
__________________
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 10:44 AM   #3
cdavis11
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael73 View Post
How do I name my AppleTVs?

I've got an AppleTV in my living room, one in my basement and one in my bedroom. When I'm listening to music and want to use multiple speakers, all that shows up in the box where you can choose what speakers to send the sound to is "Apple TV" three times...I've got no idea which one is which. Can I name the AppleTVs like "AppleTV - Bedroom"?
Within the naming section of settings in the AppleTV menu you have some options for pre-filled names - things like Bedroom, Living Room...that sort of thing. You can also use your own unique names by using the on screen keyboard or the remote app.
cdavis11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 12:46 PM   #4
Michael73
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks. But how do you do it for the old style ones...you know, the ones that aren't a hockey puck?

When you go to Settings > General > About there doesn't seem to be a way to change the info there.
__________________
nMP 8/32GB/1TB/D500, MP 3,1(ret.), 30" ACD
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB
MBA 13" 1.7GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
2TB TC, 64GB iPad / 5S / 4S, Drobo 5D, 3 x TV
Michael73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:12 PM   #5
lunaoso
macrumors 65816
 
lunaoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New England, USA
I'm guessing in iTunes for the Apple TV 1. And btw- the "hockey pucks" are great devices!
lunaoso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:22 PM   #6
Michael73
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaoso View Post
I'm guessing in iTunes for the Apple TV 1. And btw- the "hockey pucks" are great devices!
I've got 2 hockey pucks and one old style one.

If naming them are in iTunes itself, I can't find it.
__________________
nMP 8/32GB/1TB/D500, MP 3,1(ret.), 30" ACD
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB
MBA 13" 1.7GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
2TB TC, 64GB iPad / 5S / 4S, Drobo 5D, 3 x TV
Michael73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:29 PM   #7
mscriv
macrumors 68040
 
mscriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
If you have two "hockey puck" Apple TV's then I would change the name of those two in the settings menu as other people have pointed out. Then the remaining 1st Gen Apple TV will be the only one in the list that shows up as "Apple TV".
__________________
I'm a professional therapist. If I deem our forum interaction to be professional in nature then I will bill you. Prompt payment is expected.
mscriv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 01:38 PM   #8
Michael73
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mscriv View Post
If you have two "hockey puck" Apple TV's then I would change the name of those two in the settings menu as other people have pointed out. Then the remaining 1st Gen Apple TV will be the only one in the list that shows up as "Apple TV".
Oh sure, take the easy road

I thought about doing that too, but I thought it would be a lot nice to name everything appropriately.
__________________
nMP 8/32GB/1TB/D500, MP 3,1(ret.), 30" ACD
MBP 15.4" 2.2GHz Quad, 8GB RAM, 500GB
MBA 13" 1.7GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
2TB TC, 64GB iPad / 5S / 4S, Drobo 5D, 3 x TV
Michael73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 02:34 PM   #9
lunaoso
macrumors 65816
 
lunaoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New England, USA
Can't you just open iTunes, click on the old Apple TV and then when you're in the device menu, either click or double click (try both) and then you should be able to change it. It's pretty much an iPod that hooks up to a TV, so I figured it works similarly in iTunes...
lunaoso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 04:00 PM   #10
mscriv
macrumors 68040
 
mscriv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael73 View Post
Oh sure, take the easy road

I thought about doing that too, but I thought it would be a lot nice to name everything appropriately.
I understand, the perfectioninst in me also wants everything to be done "right".
__________________
I'm a professional therapist. If I deem our forum interaction to be professional in nature then I will bill you. Prompt payment is expected.
mscriv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2013, 05:21 PM   #11
Omne666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
For the old atv1s, when you hook them into iTunes, don't choose the streaming option, so that it wants to actually put the shows on the device. Then click on the name in the iTunes column list of devices...you can then rename it.

Once done, you can then reconnect it in streaming mode and it will retain the name you gave it.
__________________
One of everything. Don't forget the fries.
Omne666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Naming a new iMac? How is it used? stanw iMac 4 Jul 30, 2013 04:19 PM
Apple Loses Appeal in 'iPhone' Naming Rights Case in Mexico MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 76 Apr 15, 2013 06:30 AM
Naming OS XI: Possible Naming Scheme ShaneG235711 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Feb 7, 2013 09:50 PM
Color naming by value Mvkoe iPhone/iPad Programming 12 Feb 4, 2013 05:51 PM
Naming the NEW New iPad :P zauze iPad 53 Oct 23, 2012 09:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC