Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:44 AM   #1
SezR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Frustrated with my iPhone 5!

I must have a rogue model iphone5! I have had it about 2 mths now & HATE it! It will not stay connected to my wifi, & when it is connected it wont work. its not my wifi as my husband (who also has a iphone 5) is sat next to me & his wifi works.

It's updated with version 6.0.2. The touch screen is temperamental. Now it is resetting my Facebook settings to custom, so I can't connect to friends either. I've uninstalled & reinstalled the app too. On my laptop it's showing as the correct settings, but is changing it on my iPhone!!

What can I do plz?!?

Thanks in advance
SezR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:47 AM   #2
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Try restoring it and reinstalling all your apps. Sorry to hear you're having trouble with yours.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:53 AM   #3
SezR
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I've reset all settings several times. I honestly don't know what else to do!! I use FB to connect to family in Australia & Ireland & now I can't

----------

Do you mean restore back to factory settings? Will this need me to transfer all my photos etc?
SezR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:57 AM   #4
MonkeySee....
macrumors 68040
 
MonkeySee....'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SezR View Post
I've reset all settings several times. I honestly don't know what else to do!! I use FB to connect to family in Australia & Ireland & now I can't

----------

Do you mean restore back to factory settings? Will this need me to transfer all my photos etc?
Restore is different from Reset. You will need to back up and resync.
__________________
If you’re busy making everything, how can you perfect anything? - Apple

Always keep the rhythm in your feet and a little party in your shoulders. - Phil Dunphy
MonkeySee.... is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 06:58 AM   #5
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68020
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
if troubleshooting doesn't fix it.

Do a backup of ur phone (NEVER RESTORE UNTIL YOU BACKUP)
Restore to Factory setting
Restore from Backup

if those don't work... then you have a defective iPhone 5 and call apple support and schedule a replacement phone.

DONE
Appl3FTW is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:12 AM   #6
philosopherdog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Make a genius appointment. Make it Apple's problem.
philosopherdog is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:21 AM   #7
BHP41
macrumors 6502a
 
BHP41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United States of America
Calm down, call Apple it make an appointment at a store. If you have a defective device they'll take care of it.
BHP41 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:31 AM   #8
SezR
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Thanks very much folks! Will see what happens
SezR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:39 AM   #9
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Last resort do a DFU restore.

Also what model of WiFi router do you have?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:44 AM   #10
Gymgenius
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BHP41 View Post
Calm down, call Apple it make an appointment at a store. If you have a defective device they'll take care of it.
^^^ This
Gymgenius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:45 AM   #11
JohnLT13
macrumors 6502a
 
JohnLT13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston (aka Red Sox Nation)
I had this same problem when I first got my 5.
I know it sucks to have to spend money again, but after many trips to Genius bar I bought a new router as a last hope.
I picked up the Apple Airport Express for $78 at BestBuy and
have not had a problem yet. Im guessing your phone is up to date as far as
firmware?

If you have the money to spend its def worth it. Its also a decent router.
JohnLT13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 08:49 AM   #12
cuzo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
My iphone 5 still tells the wrong time at times and then it fixes itself, is there a fix to this or do I have to go down to apple?
cuzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:17 AM   #13
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68020
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
^^^ do "set automatically"

if u keep getting problems reset... then restore last resort
Appl3FTW is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:18 AM   #14
chestvrg
macrumors 6502a
 
chestvrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Have you tried resetting the network settings?
__________________
Chest - t-mobile iPhone 5
chestvrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 09:19 AM   #15
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68020
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLT13 View Post
I had this same problem when I first got my 5.
I know it sucks to have to spend money again, but after many trips to Genius bar I bought a new router as a last hope.
I picked up the Apple Airport Express for $78 at BestBuy and
have not had a problem yet. Im guessing your phone is up to date as far as
firmware?

If you have the money to spend its def worth it. Its also a decent router.
OP needs to see if the problem is isolated at home, i.e. wifi works at starbucks, mcdonalds etc.

if that's the case then it's probably his home router.
Appl3FTW is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:44 AM   #16
JohnLT13
macrumors 6502a
 
JohnLT13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Boston (aka Red Sox Nation)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Appl3FTW View Post
OP needs to see if the problem is isolated at home, i.e. wifi works at starbucks, mcdonalds etc.

if that's the case then it's probably his home router.
This is my experience, and what resolved my issue. I have read of this problem countless times, and it seems that the iPhone 5 does not like some older routers. Many posts in other forums were people updated the router and all was fine. Sometimes not. Its a suggestion, not an end all solution.
As for Genius Bar, These people amaze me with the standard " did you restore your phone? You backup may be corrupt" blah blah blah. Im not sure what it takes to be a Genius Tech, but it seems to me they shine most costumers on with this same rhetoric.
JohnLT13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:56 AM   #17
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68020
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLT13 View Post
This is my experience, and what resolved my issue. I have read of this problem countless times, and it seems that the iPhone 5 does not like some older routers. Many posts in other forums were people updated the router and all was fine. Sometimes not. Its a suggestion, not an end all solution.
As for Genius Bar, These people amaze me with the standard " did you restore your phone? You backup may be corrupt" blah blah blah. Im not sure what it takes to be a Genius Tech, but it seems to me they shine most costumers on with this same rhetoric.
i had a problem connecting to apple store doing a purchase one day and the apple technician told me to RESTORE. OMG, stupid ass.
Appl3FTW is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 10:59 AM   #18
sdilley14
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
How long have you had it? I know with Verizon you have 30 days after you purchase a new phone to return/exchange it if it isn't working correctly...
sdilley14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:04 AM   #19
Appl3FTW
macrumors 68020
 
Appl3FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdilley14 View Post
How long have you had it? I know with Verizon you have 30 days after you purchase a new phone to return/exchange it if it isn't working correctly...
Quote:
Originally Posted by SezR View Post
I must have a rogue model iphone5! I have had it about 2 mths now & HATE it! It will not stay connected to my wifi, & when it is connected it wont work. its not my wifi as my husband (who also has a iphone 5) is sat next to me & his wifi works.

It's updated with version 6.0.2. The touch screen is temperamental. Now it is resetting my Facebook settings to custom, so I can't connect to friends either. I've uninstalled & reinstalled the app too. On my laptop it's showing as the correct settings, but is changing it on my iPhone!!

What can I do plz?!?

Thanks in advance
this...
Appl3FTW is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 11:59 AM   #20
sdilley14
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Dang it! :/
sdilley14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:20 PM   #21
powerwagon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLT13 View Post
This is my experience, and what resolved my issue. I have read of this problem countless times, and it seems that the iPhone 5 does not like some older routers. Many posts in other forums were people updated the router and all was fine. Sometimes not. Its a suggestion, not an end all solution.
As for Genius Bar, These people amaze me with the standard " did you restore your phone? You backup may be corrupt" blah blah blah. Im not sure what it takes to be a Genius Tech, but it seems to me they shine most costumers on with this same rhetoric.
Did you guys not read her original post? She very clearly stated that her husband also has an iPhone 5 and has 0 issues connecting and staying connected to their router. Doesn't appear to be a router issue. Sounds hardware related and Apple should be able to take care of you just fine. Good luck
powerwagon is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:21 PM   #22
adam044
macrumors 65816
 
adam044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by SezR View Post
I must have a rogue model iphone5! I have had it about 2 mths now & HATE it! It will not stay connected to my wifi, & when it is connected it wont work. its not my wifi as my husband (who also has a iphone 5) is sat next to me & his wifi works.

It's updated with version 6.0.2. The touch screen is temperamental. Now it is resetting my Facebook settings to custom, so I can't connect to friends either. I've uninstalled & reinstalled the app too. On my laptop it's showing as the correct settings, but is changing it on my iPhone!!

What can I do plz?!?

Thanks in advance
Go get a new one!
adam044 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:29 PM   #23
Bahroo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SezR View Post
I must have a rogue model iphone5! I have had it about 2 mths now & HATE it! It will not stay connected to my wifi, & when it is connected it wont work. its not my wifi as my husband (who also has a iphone 5) is sat next to me & his wifi works.

It's updated with version 6.0.2. The touch screen is temperamental. Now it is resetting my Facebook settings to custom, so I can't connect to friends either. I've uninstalled & reinstalled the app too. On my laptop it's showing as the correct settings, but is changing it on my iPhone!!

What can I do plz?!?

Thanks in advance
Do a hard reset, hold top button and home button until your phone turns off

If that doesnt work go to settings and go to general. Then go to reset and reset all network settings...that should fix your wifi

If THESE dont work, then you should do a restore . I have a iphone 5 and i have no problems with my phone at all.
Bahroo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:34 PM   #24
corvus32
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnLT13 View Post
This is my experience, and what resolved my issue. I have read of this problem countless times, and it seems that the iPhone 5 does not like some older routers. Many posts in other forums were people updated the router and all was fine. Sometimes not. Its a suggestion, not an end all solution.
This.

Sometimes, as in not always, my iP5 and Netgear DGN2200 would not play nice together - internet would become unresponsive.

I replaced the wireless router portion of it with an Airport Express and have been problem free.
__________________
iPhone 5S 16GB (Silver) | iPad Air 128GB (Space Grey)
0_o
corvus32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 12:52 PM   #25
Bahroo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I have a verizon fios router it works just fine
Bahroo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frustrated with iPhone 5 Replacement Process zachnelson iPhone 14 Dec 10, 2012 07:00 PM
Switched from iPhone to Android. Imessage still activated (frustrated) WhiteIphone5 iPhone 6 Nov 23, 2012 06:53 PM
Frustrated... WoodrowCall iPhone 14 Oct 2, 2012 02:59 PM
So frustrated! Need help with Verizon iPhone 5 upgrade issue It'sMyPrecious iPhone 7 Sep 23, 2012 10:59 PM
iPhone: SO Frustrated!!! newbie79 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Aug 20, 2012 01:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC