Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:12 PM   #1
joeholl1979
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
OSX won't boot after using Gparted

I have Windows 7 on a Bootcamp partition, and ended up running out of space; so I figured I'd us Gparted to resize the partitions.
When I booted GParted off of my disk drive, it wouldn't even let me resize my OSX partition because it didn't recognize the file format...so I shut down and attempted to log into OSX, only to get the prohibitory sign.
I had to use the disk repair utility when I booted into Windows.
I attempted to start OSX in safe mode, but it didn't work.
This is my first Mac computer, and I just bought it a couple weeks ago (new 27")

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359663149.015371.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	24.7 KB
ID:	393816
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:15 PM   #2
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
I have Windows 7 on a Bootcamp partition, and ended up running out of space; so I figured I'd us Gparted to resize the partitions.
When I booted GParted off of my disk drive, it wouldn't even let me resize my OSX partition because it didn't recognize the file format...so I shut down and attempted to log into OSX, only to get the prohibitory sign.
I had to use the disk repair utility when I booted into Windows.
I attempted to start OSX in safe mode, but it didn't work.
This is my first Mac computer, and I just bought it a couple weeks ago (new 27")

SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!Attachment 393816
Oh, and I also reset the PRAM
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:16 PM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Sounds like a hot mess.

Try the recovery partition (command-r) on reboot.

Reformat, restore from backup and reinstall Windows.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:39 PM   #4
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong...I didn't think I did anything at all in GParted. I'll never use that software again.
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 03:23 PM   #5
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Have you looked at the FAQ?

Quote:
Intel-based Mac OS X uses a combination of GPT and MBR for partition tables. When editing partitions with GParted, the GUID partition table will be updated, and the MSDOS partition table will be set to a single protective entry.

You can re-sync the GPT partition entries to the MSDOS partition table with the following command:

sudo gptsync /path-to-disk-device

Where /path-to-disk-device is something like /dev/sdb

This problem can also be repaired with the rEFIt application.
I've never used GParted myself, but it looks like that command or rEFIt app may be able to fix it. Of course, it would help if the FAQ actually listed the symptoms so that we'd know whether that's the problem or not!
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:18 PM   #6
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
Have you looked at the FAQ?



I've never used GParted myself, but it looks like that command or rEFIt app may be able to fix it. Of course, it would help if the FAQ actually listed the symptoms so that we'd know whether that's the problem or not!
Ugggh. If I would have known it was going to be that technical, I would have passed. I've already re-installed OSX and will be downloading my backed up files from CrashPlan.com over the next few days. I definitely regret using GParted.

----------

Now here is my next question. I re-installed OSX and recovered my Windows Bootcamp partition; but now it says that my OSX partition is 1TB and my Windows partition is 100GB.

Last time I checked, I started out with only a 1TB hard drive.

Why is it doing this?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
Ugggh. If I would have known it was going to be that technical, I would have passed. I've already re-installed OSX and will be downloading my backed up files from CrashPlan.com over the next few days. I definitely regret using GParted.

----------

Now here is my next question. I re-installed OSX and recovered my Windows Bootcamp partition; but now it says that my OSX partition is 1TB and my Windows partition is 100GB.

Last time I checked, I started out with only a 1TB hard drive.

Why is it doing this?
I may not have articulated the problem well. What I mean is that my OSX partition says there is like 975GB of space available, and I am using 98GB on my Bootcamp partition...so it equals out to over 1TB of space.
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:22 PM   #7
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
Ugggh. If I would have known it was going to be that technical, I would have passed. I've already re-installed OSX and will be downloading my backed up files from CrashPlan.com over the next few days. I definitely regret using GParted.

----------

Now here is my next question. I re-installed OSX and recovered my Windows Bootcamp partition; but now it says that my OSX partition is 1TB and my Windows partition is 100GB.

Last time I checked, I started out with only a 1TB hard drive.

Why is it doing this?

----------



I may not have articulated the problem well. What I mean is that my OSX partition says there is like 975GB of space available, and I am using 98GB on my Bootcamp partition...so it equals out to over 1TB of space.
do you have the fusion drive?
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:23 PM   #8
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanm9 View Post
do you have the fusion drive?
Yes, but it's only supposed to total 1TB of space, right?
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:27 PM   #9
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
Yes, but it's only supposed to total 1TB of space, right?
no



































it is a 128GB SSD added to a 1TB HDD... or 1.128 TB... the space on the SSD is in addition to the spinner...
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:44 PM   #10
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-02-01 at 12.37.29 AM.png
Views:	27
Size:	115.7 KB
ID:	393876

Okay, all I know is that I have the following partitions now:

Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.02TB, 115KB Available

Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.01TB, 975GB Available

BOOTCAMP: Capacity 102GB, 4.25GB Available

I'm very confused at this point, and I just wish I could figure out how to get my hard drive back to the way it was. It used to say that my OSX partition had like over 800GB available, and that made sense because I allocated 100GB to the Bootcamp partition.
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:03 AM   #11
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Don't have a clue, I'm afraid. GParted probably has no idea how to handle a fusion drive which would explain a lot, but not having one myself I couldn't say how to fix this
Nermal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:42 AM   #12
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeholl1979 View Post
Attachment 393876

Okay, all I know is that I have the following partitions now:

Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.02TB, 115KB Available

Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.01TB, 975GB Available

BOOTCAMP: Capacity 102GB, 4.25GB Available

I'm very confused at this point, and I just wish I could figure out how to get my hard drive back to the way it was. It used to say that my OSX partition had like over 800GB available, and that made sense because I allocated 100GB to the Bootcamp partition.
Don't confuse the disk Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.02TB, 115KB Available

With the partition Macintosh HD: Capacity 1.01TB, 975GB Available

also the hidden recovery partition takes some space...

it could mean the partition tables are borked

have you tried verify disk?
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:04 AM   #13
joeholl1979
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I just bought Camptunes X and it would only recognize a very small OSX partition and the Bootcamp partition. It looks like I'm having a stroke of bad luck.
__________________
27' iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion HD
joeholl1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC