Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 1, 2013, 10:32 AM   #1
paddy-black
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
which 3TB harddrive model is inside 27" iMac late 2012

i'm just wondering which kind of 3TB harddrive is inside the 27" late 2012 iMac? please model:
paddy-black is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 11:23 AM   #2
WizardHunt
macrumors Demi-God
 
WizardHunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddy-black View Post
i'm just wondering which kind of 3TB harddrive is inside the 27" late 2012 iMac? please model:
Are you asking about the model that has the Fusion and 3 TB Hard Drive or just the plain 3TB Hard Drive with no Fusion Drive? Not that it would matter most likely they are the same Drive. I hope it is WD and not Seagate. I have had bad luck with Seagate.
__________________
Once you go Mac - You will Never go Back!
WizardHunt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:02 PM   #3
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddy-black View Post
i'm just wondering which kind of 3TB harddrive is inside the 27" late 2012 iMac? please model:
Apple doesn't use a single model for all of the machines they build. Currently iMacs all seem to be shipping with Seagate or WD drives, so the one you buy will have either of those.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 12:45 PM   #4
paddy-black
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
just the plain 3TB drive! serious, they build in both? seagate and wd?
paddy-black is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:12 PM   #5
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddy-black View Post
just the plain 3TB drive! serious, they build in both? seagate and wd?
Yes, they source either one and put it in, just like every other computer maker does.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 01:49 PM   #6
Mike in Kansas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Metro Kansas City
My 2008 iMac actually used a 320GB Hitachi Deskstar as the OEM HDD.
__________________
13" 2012 MBA/i7/8GB/256GB
24" 2008 iMac/2.8GHz/6GB/240GB SSD & 2TB FW800 HDD "Fused"
2GB TC; ATV 3; 32GB iPad 4; iPhone 5
Left Nikon for Fuji X-E1, Fujinon 18-55mm OIS, 55-200mm OIS, 27mm f/2.8
Mike in Kansas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 02:40 PM   #7
rkaufmann87
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Folsom, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddy-black View Post
i'm just wondering which kind of 3TB harddrive is inside the 27" late 2012 iMac? please model:
Very simple to find out, in System Information look in the specs and it will tell you the drive manufacturer. The easiest method I know of open System Information is open Spotlight and type System Information and the app will open.
__________________
27" iMac i5, 24 GB RAM; MBA 11.6" 1.4GHz 4GB RAM 128GB SSD; Multiple HP Printers; OWC & Lacie EHDs; iPhone 5S; Nikon DLSR
rkaufmann87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 05:11 PM   #8
jmpage2
macrumors 68030
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in Kansas View Post
My 2008 iMac actually used a 320GB Hitachi Deskstar as the OEM HDD.
I believe it's been awhile since they've used Hitachi drives.
jmpage2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:19 PM   #9
KrasHr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by paddy-black View Post
i'm just wondering which kind of 3TB harddrive is inside the 27" late 2012 iMac? please model:
The HDD in my late 2012 27" iMac is a 3TB Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001.
KrasHr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:31 PM   #10
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WizardHunt View Post
Are you asking about the model that has the Fusion and 3 TB Hard Drive or just the plain 3TB Hard Drive with no Fusion Drive? Not that it would matter most likely they are the same Drive. I hope it is WD and not Seagate. I have had bad luck with Seagate.
I'm IT for various companies and WD drives are the least reliable. Personally, my oldest Seagate drive which is over 5 years old still works wonderfully. I also notice that Seagate drives are usually more expensive than WD and it shows.
__________________
YouTube | @beautifulcode
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:38 PM   #11
mushroomtip
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I thought the high end 27 has the SG and the lower end has the WD
__________________
Once You Go Mac, You Never Go Back !
mushroomtip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:50 PM   #12
crows
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
The only possible way with current technology to make the whole computer 5 mm thin, would be with water cooling, eliminate HDD's, and spread out the components over the whole area and even then it would probably end up being thicker than 5 mm, and be prepared for a very high price on such a computer especially from apple.
crows is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:56 PM   #13
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
ALL the 3TB 2012 iMacs use the seagate. The 1TB drives are split between the Seagate and WD drives.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 2013, 06:57 PM   #14
Nismo73
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
I was wondering if another reason to use fusion is to extend the potential life and/or provide less wear-and-tear on traditional spinning disks in a computer system - that's something Apple or any other company would tell you though...

I understand the obvious reasons for going to fusion, I personally would like an all SSD system, but that will have to wait until my next purchase 4-5 years from now when 1TB SSDs will be reasonably priced.
Nismo73 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2013, 10:58 AM   #15
WizardHunt
macrumors Demi-God
 
WizardHunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I believe it's been awhile since they've used Hitachi drives.
yeah this may be true, my March 2009 iMac 3.06 Ghz had a Black WD Drive in it. I removed it and put in a 2TB Hard Drive to tide me over until I get another iMac. Now I am ready for my iMac if they ever ship it.
__________________
Once you go Mac - You will Never go Back!
WizardHunt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
27-inch, Late 2012 iMac 3TB Fusion Drive Problem doftin iMac 3 Feb 2, 2014 01:24 PM
iMac late 2009 model problems cant start up "startup manager" more info inside Kingl33 iMac 0 Jul 10, 2013 05:30 AM
iMac late 2012 3TB HDD accidentally fused with 128GB SSD xrs74 iMac 6 Apr 5, 2013 06:37 PM
Use xbox 360 on iMac 27"(late 2012 model) BatmanIsABoss iMac 5 Mar 18, 2013 02:27 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC